We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cahir House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hearn's Hotel(Clonmel)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
195
148
66
37
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
148
66
37
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswiss cottagetown squarecentral locationnice atmospherestayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellentfunction roomtop classlast weekendlovely staffan evening meallovely walktraditional hotelsaturday nightfriendly hotelcooked breakfastwell worth a visit
Filter
Updating list...
244 - 249 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is excellent value.The breakfasts and evening meals were also excellent.Friendly helpful staff without exception.Lovely room overlooking the square.Oak panelled Library was haven of tranquility with great bar nearby .Cahir is a pleasant little town with some impressive sites.A lovely riverside walk to the incredible Swiss cottage and also the impressive Medieval castle( free admission if you are a hotel guest!) nearby.I got a fishing licence from the newsagent opposite 20 Euros good water with Brown Trout and Salmon. (don't forget to pack a rod)There were even some signage boards with information of the right flies!!Their is a great little farmers market on the car park opposite on Saturdays, Great coffee at the "Wild bean" opposite and a well stocked tourist centre with great staff to help you. I will certainly stay again.Nothing was too much trouble and you can even bring your dogI found out.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front can all pick up free WI-fi from the library One room has a 4 poster bed!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 784Bernie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This isn't the ritz but you get what you pay for. A single room in a hotel for €50 with breakfast. Suits me.
He rooms are a wee bit dated but you have what you need.
The beds are very comfy and the shower pressure is powerful.
There is no lift and some rooms can be a bit of a walk.
A thing I like here is that the chefs try.
I had a steak sandwich in the bar and it was mixed in a mustard type sauce which was lovely.
Buffet breakfast was very tired looking.
Full breakfast was lovely with what I imagine is authentic local meat.
One huge plus is that the staff are very nice and obliging.
This is an old hotel so you have to use what you have the best you can. And they do.
You are also at cahir castle in one minute.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank TheMongrel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Once again a group travelled down to Glengarra Wood and stayed in Cahir House Hotel. We were made very welcome and our rooms were spotless.
We had ordered dinner for ourselves and three guests. The menu was extensive and had many items we women would not have cooked at home which made choosing difficult! Every item was veery well cooked - congratulations to the chef. The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive.
All staff were obviously well trained, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ethel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We did not stay at the Hotel but it is worth a visit for some very good food and friendly service. Very centrally located in the town of Cahir. We checked some other restaurants, but found this hotel the best for quality and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Marger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The front desk staff were just lovely, particularly Karen! She recommended so many sights to see in Cahir and knew the historical significance of the places. Just a great help, even helped arrange some trips elsewhere in Ireland.
The breakfast that was included WAS amazing! A beautiful, hot full Irish breakfast, with nicely toasted toast. The only criticism I could think of was that there was no wifi in the room.
But a very clean, and comfortable accommadation with the most lovely staff. Thanks Karen!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renée L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews