We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Article”

The Apple Camping & Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahir
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Apple Camping & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Genuine Article”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed just one night but it was great. Their own plums and strawberries were the sweetest I'd ever tasted. The kids fed the donkey. Their playground is fun. It's a campsite that's simple but has its customer at its heart. Definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhappy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    16
    2
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was an excellent experience from beginning to end, the location on an orchard full working farm is beautiful, the staff were exceptional, friendly informative and extremely helpful. We did arrive late in the evening, we were shown around the campsite by a very happy friendly member of staff. The rates were fantastic only 6.50euro pp. the showers were free, a place to eat and wash your clothes and dishes also a fridge and freezer to store your perishables. Would highly recommend it and look forward to going back again.

Room Tip: best of ireland and a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This was my first time camping in Ireland we loved it. its hard to get use to sleeping next to motor way but by the 3 rd night didn't hear it at all. We got a very warm welcome with a complimentary bottle of apple juice. This was followed by a tour of the grounds and then we could choose where to set up our tent. The price was super reasonable, I believe we paid 6.50 Euro per person. The kids enjoyed playing Tennis but bring your own rackets & make sure they don't touch the apples from the Tree or Else!! The camping itself is properly laid out, with enough space for washing, indoor eating, showering, toilets,.... We had a Great night singing & dancing in the barn & of course Guitar playing when it rained. you've got to make the most of it. The place was clean and well maintained, I would definitely recommend this for when camping in Ireland.

Room Tip: bring your own Tent !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abberleyhouse98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed here on our first camping trip in Ireland and loved it. We got a very warm welcome with a complimentary bottle of apple juice. This was followed by a tour of the grounds and then we could choose where to set up our tent. The price was super reasonable, I believe we paid 6 Euro per person. With the tree's positioned all over the farm, you can put your tent in as much shade as you want. The camping itself is properly laid out, with enough space for washing, indoor eating, showering, toilets,.... The place was clean and wel maintained, I would definitely recommend this for when camping in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bibabever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed on this site 20 years ago when kids where young. Returned this year with son and his kids. The Apple farming side of the business has certainly grown, but some things have remained the same, the camping and caravan site(the trees are more mature), the campers barn, the strawberries to pick, welcoming hosts. A lovely site 20 years ago and still a lovely site today. Would recommend !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bailey745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have stayed at the apple numerous times over the years. Our previous visit was not the best with a sense of the place being let run down a little, customer service being a little poor.
This year things have changed, upon arrival you are greeted with a customer service focus second to none. As usual you receive a lovely bottle of free apple juice, the shop also sells their other produce. You are invited to be toured around if you like to familiarise your group with the site layout. The actual site has not changed much much a serious clearing out and clean has occurred with the campers kitchen barn which is very welcome.
You can wander around the orchards if you like and you do get to see allot of wildlife and fauna, well worth a couple of hours.
The site is close to Cashel, Cahir, Clonmel and Tipperary making it a great location to visit from. Its also very good value for money as campsites go these days at 24.50 for two adult, two children, unit and electricity.
Play ground is small but the kids love it, it has the highest swing in the county we think :)
Well worth a trip, September is probably the very best time of year as its harvest.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnyd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Enjoyed one night here and enjoyed the complimentary apple juice. Site was spacious. Little bit far to playground and found the showers to be a bit weak pressure wise. Would recommend the experience though but one night and a day is probably enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThriftyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahir
3.4 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
413 reviews
8.1 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hollymount House B&B
Hollymount House B&B
#1 of 7 in Cahir
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
O'Briens Cashel Lodge
3.4 mi away
Tinsley House B&B
Tinsley House B&B
#3 of 7 in Cahir
44 reviews
19.5 mi away
Carrigeen Castle
Carrigeen Castle
#2 of 7 in Cahir
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Apple Camping & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apple Camping & Caravan Park

Property: The Apple Camping & Caravan Park
Address: Moorstown, Cahir, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Cahir
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our campsite is situated on our family farm near Cahir in County Tipperary. On the farm we grow summers fruits like strawberries, raspberries, plums, cherries as well as apples. The farm is open all year round and the campsite from May to September each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Apple Camping & Caravan Park Cahir, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing