We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull marvelous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crofton Bray Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Bray B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Einer der schönsten und bezauberndsten Orte!
The landlady is marvelous, the hotel is an old jewel from a fairy tale and the outlook over the bay is absolutly amazing. To find this place, it was like a treasure of gold from a leprechaun! That hotel seems from an other time and it has its own special spirit. And I hope that there are no changes in the upcoming years. It is perfect, like it is with some little, charming imperfections!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank verokate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Best hotel i ever stayed in........Really recommend it for any trip to bray.................

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mickaLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Mrs. Cummings, the owner, is a real jewel. We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite," which was lovely with a view of the sea. The hotel is simply charming, but not for the Schickeria. Good walking a hiking possibilties and plenty of restaurants in the area. The train takes you to Dublin. The bar was also very nice. One sees why movies have been made in this location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank christopherlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

I had the pleasure of staying in the Bray Head Inn last month, It was a truly memorable stay. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and polite. The hotel itself is georgous, modern, contemporary and has a beautiful view of Bray Head. Don't be fooled by the old, shabby look and feel outside the hotel, inside is a real treat!

The rooms were immaculate, lovely and spacious and the standard was above anything I have ever experienced.

There was live entertainment which was just superb, the hotel was packed out on the Saturday night, literally out the door and nearly up to Jim Doyles pub up the road.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bray, or anyone coming to Ireland in general. Don't bother with any other hotels. This fits the bill for everything.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank clairelwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

It is a very nice place to stay, near Dublin and the Wicklow mountains in front of the beach. The connection to Dublin by the Dart is only minutes from the Hotel and the Cliff walk to Graystones begins in front of the entrance.
The Hotel is very charming and the rooms are old-fashioned, but beautiful. It has the character of a glamoured grand Hotel from the last century.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LucyPolyBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Loved it. Stayed with my 10 year old daughter, we had a blast. Inexpensive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank horsewithnoname69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I live in Bray and feel sorry for tourists who check out the positive reviews of this place and book it, only resulting in having to change their plans when they actually step foot into the place. If you visit Bray and tell any of the locals you're staying at the Bray Head, they'll cringe and probably offer you a spare room in their own house. It's a big old damp dingy building that smells like mildew. The rooms feel damp and drafty and the neglect in upkeep has stripped the hotel from all its character and charm. The hotel used to have a nightclub on the bottom floor. Teenagers would binge drink and get sick on the floor...in the same room where they served breakfast to guests the very next morning! It's a monster of a building with so much potential, but that's where the positive reviews end. You'll experience cracks in the walls, dirty cigarette-burned bedding, musty odors throughout, and very cold, eerie dim lighting throughout the hallways at night. During the day you'll have to resist the urge to walk around with a dust cloth and some Pledge and actually be the first person who cares about the place. My friend stayed there recently (he stupidly didn't ask me for recommendations before he booked). I honestly couldn't believe my eyes (or nose). For 60 euro a night you'd expect a clean accommodation, a nice warm clean bed and friendly service, all of which The Bray Head lacks. If it's the views they're charging you for, you'd be better off bringing a tent and a sleeping bag. Anybody you ask who lives in Bray will say the exact same thing and I am not being harsh or snobby. I have traveled quite a bit, staying in hostels and some real dumps in my day and this is right up there with them. Everybody is just waiting for the day they either level this place , or some investor steps in to bring life back into this forgotten beast.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
33  Thank Bostonbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bray hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
631 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.4 mi away
Old Rectory
Old Rectory
#1 of 4 in Bray
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#2 of 4 in Bray
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crofton Bray Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crofton Bray Head Inn

Address: Crofton Bray Head Inn Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bray
Hotel Class:2 star — Crofton Bray Head Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Crofton Bray Head Hotel Bray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing