We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is why Trip Advisor is so good!! - Finding a real gem you would have never found before.”
Review of Old Rectory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Rectory
Ranked #2 of 4 Bray B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here with my wife and son for one night in May. Whilst Bray is a good place to visit it is full of your typical seaside resort B&Bs and run down hotels. Not this place. The Old Rectory is a real gem. As it’s a couple of miles away from the front you would have never found it without Trip Advisor. It’s when you are staying in places like Bray that you really appreciate Trip Advisor as after reading the previous excellent reviews we decided to stay here instead of taking our chances with the many B&Bs and hotels on the promenade.

Really glad we did as this B&B was perfect for us. Because it’s a couple of miles from the front it’s in a really quiet location, tucked away from the main road behind lots of trees in its own private gardens. However, it’s quite hard to spot when driving along the main road. If you’re coming from Bray its approx. 200 meters passed the film studios, both on your right, just before the road bends to the right. If you pass a small SPAR on the right hand side you have just gone passed it!

There is plenty of space to park in the grounds.

Kay is very friendly. The two rooms we had were very clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious and warm. The breakfast was fab. What more do you require from a Fab B&B?

If we ever return to Bray we would most definitely stay here again and would look forward to it.

Room Tip: They all looked good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here while visiting Ireland, great location to see the Wicklow county, a little far for Dublin. It will be about a 45-60 minute bus ride to the city. If you are fond of walking, you will find the 20 minute walk to Brey City Center fun. Otherwise take a bus.
This place is sweet and charming and the service is fantastic. They will go more than an extra mile for you. We loved staying here and would return any day.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marmishka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at The Old Rectory for 2 nights. The room was very spacious with windows looking in two directions. Loved seeing the trees! Especially with the wind blowing through them. The location is very convenient for getting to Dublin, driving into the countryside, or just walking along Bray beach. Thank you Kay for having us in your home.

Room Tip: Ample parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in The Old Rectory on our first night in Ireland. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to stay in a lovely place where you feel right at home. Just 45 minutes from Dublin, near Powerscourt House and Gardens, the location is perfect if you don't want to drive far right off the plane or want to stay out from Dublin for sightseeing. Very close to Wicklow Mountains and we left The Old Rectory and climbed Big Sugar Loaf the first morning in Ireland. Last, but definitely not least, the most wonderful part of our stay was Kay. She is delightful and went completely out of her way to meet every need we had. Her friendliness and willingness to help was definitely a highlight of the stay. Robin F.

Room Tip: We had a twin and a double room and both were lovely. Very quiet place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed in Kay's beautiful B&B for 3 nights, (along with my mum, 3 siblings, my brother-in-law and my 3 year old niece - we pretty much took over the place, and it was like a 2nd family home), We really can't fault the place, an absolutely stunning building, the most friendly, helpful and welcoming host, delicious home cooking every morning and AMAZING value. The locaton is perfect, walking distance to Bray/ dart station, and a short train journey into Dublin. We really didn't want to leave, thank you again to Kay for making us all feel so welcome - we'll see you soon as we will DEFINITELY visit again soon!

Room Tip: Wonderful selection of rooms for families so ask Kay which one would suit your needs best and I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ciara_Burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed at the Old Rectory for 3 nights recently with my husband and daughter (family wedding in the Ritz) I simply can not recommend this b&b enough. Not only is Kay a wonderful hosrt - but her home is full of character and is beautifully homely. I will definately return and can not recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 - double and a single with massive ensuite. Super comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank motherduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We stayed at the Old Rectory for 5 nights during October while visiting our son who was working in Enniskerry.
Kay welcomed us into her beautiful home. The Old Rectory became our home and we loved the comfortable bedroom and huge bath as well as the delicious breakfasts each morning.
We highly recommend this property and would certainly stay here again.
Thank-you Kay - you are a very special person !

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daltonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
471 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
630 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,064 reviews
1.5 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rectory

Address: The Old Rectory Cottage Herbert Road, Bray, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bray
Price Range: £67 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rectory is breathtaking Gothic Victorian guesthouse offering B&B accommodation located in a pleasant spot close to the coastal town of Bray in County Wicklow. It's a majestic old residence that was originally a rectory as its name points out, and the truly authentic design of the listed building really does ooze the character and charm of a bygone era. There's also a pleasant little garden area where you can enjoy the air and take in the scenery. The premises is fully heated and all of the rooms are non smoking, en-suite and equipped with TVs and tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi and there's private parking available for guest use. Nearby Bray offers you plenty of opportunities to enjoy yourself, you can play golf, go fishing in the River Dargle, swim at the beach or just relax with a drink and a bite to eat in one of the nearby restaurants or pubs - Bray is a great spot to spend the day as well as the evening, and you are only a short journey by train to Dublin and the wealth of options that Ireland's capital has to offer. The Old Rectory is a great location for visiting Powerscourt Gardens, Glendalough and the walkways of the Garden of Ireland. Directions: Old Rectory 0.5Km accessible from N11 at Herbert Road junction. Also 1.5Km from Bray main street out the Herbert Road beside Ardmore Film Studios. Rooms from €60 (€30.00 Per person) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Rectory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rectory Hotel Bray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing