We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a party weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a party weekend”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Came here for 6 Nations. We were checked in promptly. Lovely room clean and comfortable beds, very friendly staff who couldn't do enough, good food and vouchers for cheap beer. Live entertainment every night. Would definitely recommend for a lively weekend but possibly wouldn't take my children. Koo nightclub was very good. Can't wait to go back in 2 years time, if not sooner :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andy0068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Andy0068,
Thank you for your review of the weekend you recently spent with us at The Martello Hotel. Great to hear that you really enjoyed the entertainment in the bar every night.

Looking forward to welcoming you and yours back in 2 years time - if not sooner :-)

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    162
    62
    21
    29
See reviews for
100
153
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli south Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a rugby weekend away, and what a great place to stay.
Location, hotel, food, staff, rooms we all amazing...
Staff couldn't do enough for you..I will be definitely going back again..
Big mention to Laura on reception always making sure we were all ok, and if we needed anything it wernt no bother..thanks guys.. Hope this review does help!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Neilfish1,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at The Martello Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time in Bray during the Welsh 6 nations game. I will pass your thanks on to Laura and the rest of the team.

Looking forward to seeing you back with us again in 2 years time - if not sooner!

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmessan, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend. We were staying in room 103 and the bed was a big king sized bed but the room was too small.
We then turned on the heating but couldn't figure it out out to turn it off so our room was on 22 degrees Celsius all night so I opened the windows but there was some storm that night so I couldn't leave it open long. The next morning we figured out we could take the remote for the air con off the wall to turn it off. Too late then.
We had dinner here too and it was delicious with Dublin Bay Mussels for starters(which I only tried for the first time that night) and a fillet of steak. It was gorgeous. I'd recommend the restaurant more than the hotel itself.
The bar is lovely and cosy too with candles lit on every table. I just loved the atmosphere down there.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Gillian M,

Thank you for your review of The Martello Hotel. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant over all stay.

It is unfortunate that you could not work the heating system, if you are here with us again the reception desk would be more than willing to help you with any problems like that.

Looking forward to seeing you back with us again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I booked 4 rooms for a family occasion. Rooms were fine. Great shower! Rooms included TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities, ironing board. The package included breakfast (served in the bar) meals in the excellent Tower Bistro, as well as free entry to Koo NiteClub! Depending on your age you may wish to look for a room as far as possible from the Koo, as it can be quiet noisy until 3.30 a.m. or so. We really enjoyed the family meal in the Tower Bistro. The food was excellent, service was excellent, and the ambience was very convivial. A walk along the Bray seafront on the morning after the festivities was the ideal recovery programme. I didn't notice any lifts, so if you have mobility issues I suggest you enquire first. Overall, this was a very good value and relaxing occasion for our family and I would recommend the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: If you are not a Night Club customer choose the back of the hotel and the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RexMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear RexMax,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you had a lovely stay with us during your family occasion at The Martello. We started our new menu in the Tower Bistro last weekend so great to hear positive feedback about this.

We have a lift but this is located in the rear of the hotel in the apartment section.

Hopefully we will see you with us again in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a fabulous place to stay, the staff are so friendly, the food is superb and the entertainment is great fun, not the place to go if you're looking for a quiet weekend but if you want to let your hair down, look no further. The staff at The Martello make you feel so welcome, as do the locals, we had a marvellous time there visiting from Scotland for the Ireland v Scotland 6-Nations rugby, not even a poor performance from Scotland could ruin our time there.

Room Tip: You may prefer a sea-view room, or there are apartments which I heard were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi Keith B,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you really enjoyed your time at The Martello over the past weekend. It was a fantastic weekend over all with all the live music and sporting events taking place leading to the atmosphere being electric.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Martello again in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The room was basic but nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The bar was nice and breakfast was lovely. Nice staff and good location. Great value for €50 a night- close enough to Dublin to consider staying here instead of paying high rates closer to the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepybookthief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi sleepybooktheif,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you found your stay with us to be such a great experience. Our location is quite unique in that we have great access to both the city and to the countryside within a few minutes drive.

Hopefully we will see you back with us in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Lovely self catering apartments, ideal for a couple of friends.
Tasty bar food with even better deserts! (Knicker bocker glory :D)
Really good bar for a night out and koo niteclub next door!
Located on the sea front and close to bray head.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mairead2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Hi Mairead,

Thank you for your review. It's brilliant to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us in the self catering apartments. They are great for a group of friends to get away and enjoy a weekend with us in Bray.

Looking forward to seeing you back with us in The Martello in the near future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,930 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
976 reviews
7.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Property: The Martello Hotel
Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing