We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the right spot.”
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Once again we enjoyed our stay at The Martello.

The staff are always pleasant and welcoming, the rooms kept spotlessly clean.

The management are forever thinking of new ideas and work very hard and this rubs off on their staff too.

The food served has always been delicious and piping hot, and the views overlooking the Irish Sea add an extra point too.

Looking forward to returning shortly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Ccrystal,

Thank you for choosing the Martello again and your lovely review. We’re delighted that your enjoyed your stay. We are always trying to think of new ideas to improve our guests experience and are thrilled that you noticed.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Robyn
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for The Martello Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here with ten friends and family celebrating my 40th birthday. All the staff were so accommodating and could not do enough for you. There was a live band in the bar that night and the atmosphere was great. I would definitely stay here again. It's clean, affordable and we got a really good deal to include our evening meal and breakfast. If you want a good night out outside Dublin then book into The Martello!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Helen,

Thank you for choosing the Martello to celebrate your recent birthday and your lovely review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay and liked the live music and atmosphere.

We can’t wait to welcome you back.

Kind regards,
Robyn
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Being a hotelier myself am very particular about the place to stay.
We stayed one night. It couldn't have been much better: easy to find on the satnav; welcoming and helpful staff, friendly throughout our stay. Our room was spotless clean, the bed very comfortable. The room was small but the receptionist told us the hotel is full and this is one of the last rooms available, she even let us see the room before check in. We would definitely stay here again if we were visiting Bray.

Room Tip: Room 209 is very small,
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Front Office Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Remus C,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff helpful and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Martello soon.

Kind Regards
Laura
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Thankfully we stopped off at The Martello Hotel for lunch, the menu is varied and a kids menu is available, the staff are friendly and the food arrived hot and looked very appetising and we enjoyed our meal, we ordered a large bowl of hot and spicy chicken wings, pulled pork bap with chips and a kids meal of chicken strips and chips, my son particularly loved his meal as his chicken strips came out on skewers and a tomato ketchup pot, he found it very interesting to eat and finished everything which is a first, kids also get crayons and a colouring page to keep them entertained. We sat outside as it was a beautiful day and enjoyed the whole atmosphere of the restaurant/bar, we would recommend this restaurant and would return again which we did the following day for an afternoon's hot chocolate

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger1NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Front Office Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Tigger1NIreland,

Thank you for choosing to stop off at The Martello for lunch and leave us your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere here with us.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Laura
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked into Martello for four nights over Easter 2014. Having never visited Bray we took advice from relatives who said hotel had undergone a refurbishment and new management. Our room had a lovely sea view of which I was very pleased with and couldn't fault.
However for three nights we didn't get any sleep til 3.30am as the noise of music from the nightclub kept us awake .My husband got ear plugs and could still hear the thud of the music also there was general noise from the outside of the hotel , taxi's , people shouting etc,
I think it would be fair to warn potential customers of this fact, at least say you may experience noise disturbance, we were shattered by the fourth night, but thank goodness we had a quiet night.

Room Tip: ask which rooms are quieter , ask is nightclub open !
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Front Office Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Sarah H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and leaving a review.

We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your experience. The Martello Hotel is a busy, lively hotel with a late bar on the weekends and we do experience a high level of noise at night time. We try to warn all of our bookings as much as we can prior to arrival and would like to apologise that this information did not make it to you.
Our apologies for any inconvenience caused and we hope to welcome you again to The Martello someday.

Kind Regards
Laura
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

well what can we say ! we're just home from a fab few days stay at this hotel n we had a ball . Cant say it enough , the staff were fantastic , not 1 grumpy staff member to be seen , everyone willing to be helpful and courtious , food was second to none , cooked to perfection every time ! room was a wee bit small but was ab spotless , we have stayed here a few times and have always been lucky enough to have had a seafront room , this time we missed out but it didnt stop us having a fab time, thank u all for a wonderful time n we'l see u all again soon x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patm242014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Front Office Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Hi Patm242014,

Thank you for your review of The Martello Hotel! I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Great to hear such lovely feedback on our team, I will be sure to pass this on.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Martello the next time you're in Bray.

Regards,
Ciara
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

stay here on good Friday and hotel was great as there was no music on that night but come Saturday the fun starts .at 11.o clock Saturday night it turns into a rave music venue music till 4.o clock on sunday then bar staff start throwing empty bottles in skip with no consideration for people trying to sleep wood never stay in that place again but if you want a rave night that's the place for you.also breakfast is 9euros not worth it go up to.cafe beside dart station get same breakfast for 4 95 euros

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leedsno14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Front Office Manager at The Martello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Leedsno14,

Thank you for your recent review.

We are disappointed that your experience did not meet your expectations. The Martello Hotel is a busy, lively hotel with Bars, Restaurants, Nightclub and function room. Weekends are particularly busy at the hotel and we apologise if our Receptionist did not communicate this adequately.

Thank you again for your comments. We try hard at the Martello to achieve a high level of customer satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you again at The Martello for a more positive experience.

Regards,
Ciara
The Martello

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,048 reviews
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,072 reviews
19.5 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: £78 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing