We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the Martello with a party of 24, some of whom have the audacity to call themselves golfers, and we had a cracking time, if you want a quiet weekend away then this is probably not the place for you.
If you want a lively golf weekend away in Ireland, then look no further than staying at The Martello!!
The staff are all very helpful and friendly, food is good, and the rooms are clean, and the music plays until late.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marley40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Marley24,

Thanks for the great review! We're thrilled you had such a fun time with us. We hope to see you back soon for another golf weekend!

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    167
    63
    21
    34
See reviews for
101
158
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We spent a night in the martello for a recent wedding. It was.definitely the busiest hotel on bray prom. Our appartment was fantastic. The food was just amazing, as for the staff, well what can I say, from the greeting we received at reception on arrival to the bar staff and waiting staff at the wedding, I have never met a more pleasant and helpful crew. especially Seamus Greene who could not do enough for us , he was exceptionally helpful, pleasant and alway made the time 2 stop 4 a chat and enquire if there was anything we needed we were to let him know. and while sitting in the beautiful beer garden I noticed he took the same amount of time with all the customer. He certainly made our stay very enjoyable. So well.done 2 the martello and staff and Seamus, I will def b back. A 5star stay for us. thanks

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kbrauner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

24 golfers from the UK stayed for 4 nights at The Martello - the place is amazing, atmosphere, service, food, and the entertainment is non-stop. It is a very lively place so if that is what you are after you will not be disappointed . :)

The staff could not be more helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovegreatfood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear lovegreatfood2014,

Thanks for your great review! We're thrilled that you and your golf buddies enjoyed your stay and the live entertainment. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at the Martello as it seemed the best option of the hotels in Bray despite the number of terrible reviews. In reality I think the Martello is more of a very large pub restaurant with accomodation than a hotel. The bedrooms themselves are very clean. The Martello sits on The Strand, Bray, Co. Wicklow, Ireland. The view is great, the food is fantastic, and the porch facing the sea is a great place to eat and enjoy the atmosphere. Loved this hotel and venue.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANTHONY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Anthony D.

Thank you for you review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the great views! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We chose to stay at the Martello as it seemed the best option of the hotels in Bray despite the number of terrible reviews. In reality I think the Martello is more of a very large pub restaurant with accomodation than a hotel. The bedrooms themselves are very clean ( apart from the carpets) and tidy with very good ensuite shower rooms, but were so noisey that we just couldn't get any sleep. The rest of the "hotel ", the bars and restaurants are in need of major renovation, as they are very dark and dingy. The carpets on the staircase leading upto the accomodation were absolutely disgusting. The outside drinking area was great during the recent wonderful weather, but the fact is you get surrounded by smoke.

So that is all the negatives. On the plus side, the staff were fantastic, very friendly and efficient waiters and waitresses, and the reception and management staff were so genuinely apologetic and responsive for the various issues affecting our loss of sleep. The fact that I increased the rating to average is down to the quality of the staff.

We ate in the Tower Room restaurant one night, which is lot brighter than the downstairs, the food was very good, way better than pub grub, and was extremely good value for money. Although I would never stay in the hotel again , I would certainly be very happy to eat again in the Tower Room restaurant.

So in summary I think this would be a very good choice for youngsters wanting a lively few days with plenty of eating and drinking, who can fall asleep anywhere and with any noise.
For more middle aged folk though, who are on a driving tour around Ireland and wanting a relaxing time , it just doesnt fit the bill.

The one bit of advice I would offer for anyone wanting to stay would be to book direct with the hotel , well in advance, and ask specifically for a room at the front of the hotel on the other side away from the nightclub, especially if you want to stay on a weekend.

Room Tip: See above, choose a room away from the kitchens, the night club and the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer12Bedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear golfer12bedfordshire,

Thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor! I am disappointed to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience in our bedrooms.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the tower bistro and the friendliness and helpfulness of staff. The bistro does have a very good value set menu which is extremely tasty :-)

We are quite a lively venue and do back onto the Dart line, sometimes noise is unavoidable.

I will make sure to pass on your lovely compliments to the staff, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future for a meal.


Thank you,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The Martello sits on The Strand, Bray, Co. Wicklow, Ireland. The view is great, the food is fantastic, and the porch facing the sea is a great place to eat and enjoy the atmosphere. Loved this hotel and venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayj4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Grayj4789,

Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and the beautiful view! We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with friends after a local race recently.

On arrival the staff were very welcoming and even though we were a couple of hours early, they went out of their way to try get us into a room so we could change for the race.

Arranged for transportation and paid from petty cash allowing is to repay them back later that evening.

Hotel rooms were clean, bathrooms were clean and tea/coffee facilities present with ample amount of towels for the bathroom!

We are in the hotel that evening and I cannot think of one thing wrong with the meal. Some of us had chargrilled chicken and some had the steak and both were absolutely devine!

We were blessed with a sunny day so the outside beer garden went down a treat with the live band providing an excellent back drop.

Breakfast the following morning was relaxing and you could alter your breakfast to suit. It was yum!

The only drawback, and I say this as it wasn't a big deal for us but it may put some people off is that there is no off street car parking. We parked out on the sea front which is free Saturday and Sunday but you would have to pay and display Monday-Friday I believe.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear KeithCarney,

Thank you for leaving such a nice review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. You we're very lucky with the weather! I'll let the staff know your lovely compliments. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
1,987 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
994 reviews
7.6 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Property: The Martello Hotel
Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing