We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Martello Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We had a family meal at the Martello and the food, service and staff were all lovely. Everyone enjoyed their meal, the location was fantastic and the kids were well looked after, they were given colouring and the staff were all very friendly towards them.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niamh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Niamh42,

Thank you for your review. It's great that you and your family enjoyed your meal with us. I will pass on your kind words to the staff. We hope to see you back again!

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    168
    64
    21
    34
See reviews for
101
160
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel was a jewel to find, needs a makeover no doubt but excellent every other way. The staff at the Martello are the friendliest I've ever met and the service is 100%. Our room was small but clean and as we were out all day that didn't bother us at all. Our window was frosted over therefore making the room appear a little gloomy but fine really. The front of house staff are efficient and helpful and nothing it too much trouble, restaurant and bar staff the same, this really is a great Hotel. The music at the Martello is a bit on the loud side for outside dining, but that's just a small fault. Music in the bar goes on until at least 2.45am so be prepared to party here. Honestly this is a great value hotel for all and close to the dart so your in Dublin before you know it. No rip off here just plain good value and excellent staff. Loved it and will be back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't get a room close to the nightclub if you want sleep....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear AP,

Thank you for that wonderful review and recommendation. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. The staff will be delighted to hear your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed apartment for 2 nights having booked through the hotel on a deal which included breakfast and voucher for food. We could not fault the hotel. The staff were all so helpful, the apartment was spotless and well kitted out. We weren't expecting much from hotel food and were so impressed - the food was superb. Great breakfast menu, fantastic evening meal had, great wine list and to top it all the childrens menu was good and varied. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel it was by far the best hotel we have stayed in for a family break. Great to holiday in ireland and not get ripped off, to get the best of food and drink, fantastic service. Well done to all hotel management and staff - keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Clare A,

Thank you for the glowing review and great recommendation! We're thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay and our food offering. I will pass on your lovely comments to all of the staff. we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location right opposite the beach and just five minutes from the Railway Station was perfect for us. Staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and tastefully furnished. We'd requested a quiet room so were on the second floor at the back; no lift so the legs got a work out on the stairs. Breakfast served up to midday for those who like a lie in. Only nit picking but there was a lack of spare sockets in room - for charging phones etc. - but only a minor thing really. Will definitely return if we are passing that way again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malvernish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Malvernish,

Thank you for that lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your nice comments to the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you're in the area.

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I had an overnight stay with several friends at the Martello on August 9th. The food, atmosphere and especially all the staff, were excellent and the rooms were warm, clean and comfortable. Many thanks to the friendly staff and I hope to return in the near future.

Kevin

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Kevin Q,

Thanks for that great review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll pass you comments on to all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would like to start with Reception staff how lovely and friendly there are especially Angela.
Bar staff and waiters and waitresses fantastic and very friendly.
I would like to say how warm and great crack shamus is when you where on your days off place was quiet without you so you where missed.You are very on the ball.

Jodi is fantastic person another lovely warm personality.
John the owner is lovely to.
Finally food is lovely very nice and piping hot.Martello Eton Mess is delicious.

I will return again thank you.Xx

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Lisa M.

Thanks for that great review. We're thrilled that you had a great time with us. I'll pass on your lovely words to all the staff members you mentioned! They'll be delighted to hear. We look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel is in a great locaton right across the road from the strand. The rooms were bright, well kept and the bed was very comfortable.
The staff here are brillant. Angie on the front desk was a delight very helpful and bubbly. Staff from the minute we entered until we left could not do enough for us. The impression i got was that they all love to be working there.
We spend most of our night outside the front area of the hotel as they had gas heaters there. The weather wasn't the best but the heaters meant that we didn't have to go indoors for the night which was a great idea.
We had food in the bar that evening very tasty and again service was fast and with a smile. Breakfast was great again we were able to eat this outside and look across at the strand.
Can't wait to return to this hotel hopefully next time the weather might be a bit better

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Miniblue,

Thank you for that lovely review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll make sure Angie and the rest of the staff hear about your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back and fingers crossed the weather will be better!

Kind regards,
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
1.1 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,016 reviews
4.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,013 reviews
2.9 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Property: The Martello Hotel
Address: Heather House Hotel 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing