We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in better, stayed in worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stayed in better, stayed in worse”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel on 12th July. I stayed there a good 10years ago & nothing had really changed, decor etc could be updated. Our room faced to the rear with the vents etc running continuously through the night which wasn't ideal. I would say the staff from the car park attendant, reception, leisure centre & the bar were all great, very helpful & pleasant. All in all its not a bad place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    202
    208
    211
    246
See reviews for
273
340
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose this hotel as it gave us the option for three beds in one room at a relatively reasonable price. The hotel is tired, with the bathrooms barely operational. (Our toilet stopped working in the middle of the night on the first night and we had to move rooms) Our window looked into another hotel room and it was a long, convoluted walk to get to our room. (Not accessible for the physically limited - many stairs) a disappointment.
We enjoyed being so close to Dublin(30 min from airport) and loved the hiking in the area, especially the cliff walk to Greystone. The town of Bray is a perfect launch point to see the sights of Wicklow. I don't think I would return yo this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bray hotels

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having stayed in the Royal on three previous occasions I was looking froward to the break with my wife. Unfortunately the first room we were allocated had a wet carpet from a leak in the radiator and a damp smell. I fail to see why this wasn't picked up by cleaning staff earlier. The staff kindly moved us to another room which was unfortunately smaller and again in need of a bit of a spruce up. We decided just to put up with it but doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Another nice stay at the Royal, we always use this hotel when visiting family and are very happy to continue to do so. The hotel is in a great location with lots of handy cafes for breakfast (we always go room only) and minutes walk from the seafront and the wonderful Ocean Bar and Grill for evening meals. The room we had was spacious with great views of the town and surrounding country side. The lovely room also had a smashing modern bathroom and great power shower. You get more than what you pay for at The Royal - if you use the right sites - comfortable hotel, leisure facilities, lounge bar and entertainment and courteous, friendly staff, we won't stay anywhere else - Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very disappointing! Room was very old fashioned the bathroom was tiny! No wifi, €5 per night for parking! €2 for towel hire for pool for a towel that was no bigger than a hand towel and had seen much better days! Staff were friendly but would not go back to hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrueReviewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Late booking but had a lovely one night at the Royal. Has asked to stay in the refurbished section, and were able to comply. Clean room and great shower. Not a great view from the room, but was not an issue. Very comfortable bed and slept well. Breakfast was busy after trying the pool and sauna for starters. Good selection of food and drinks for breakfast. Staff at all times were helpful and efficient at check out. Good value and would return to Bray as this was our first visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here friday 16th may with my boyfriend for a quiet night away got the deal on deal rush. Sockets didnt work, no hot water only took 20 mins for luke warm water. Was entitled a bottle wine with my meal but didnt drink it as we were a quiet break and charged me for my 1 glass 7up. Should of took the bottle of wine was free. The room was in the old part the hotel and outside the window was all the generators so constant noise got no sleep and didnt even use my late check out left by half 10 home for a nap. Wouldnt recommend again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
6.1 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Property: The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing