We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited the hotel on the 14th of June for a one night stay. The hotel is seriously outdated and in need of being renovated. Our room was small and cramped with stains on the walls. The bed was also lob-sided. The corridors around the hotel are far from clean. The staff were ok. We asked for a refund straight away to which they offered to show us other rooms. We declined, just didnt like the look of the place. There is NO Free breakfast and you have to pay for parking. Would not recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yeeeaaahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

From our arrival at the hotel things were realy great. The girl at reception was so friendly and helpfull. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff in the bar were friendly, especially Vincent ( I hope I got the his name right). Car parking is at the back of the hotel for a small charge. Would stay again at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this hotel as it gave us the option for staying close to the annual Wicklow 200 cycle sportive in which myself and a number of friends were participating. We were interested in a hotel stay at a relatively reasonable price. The hotel decor inside and out,is tired,dated and in need of modernising. Entering via main reception and taking in the general surroundings you would think that the rest of the hotel might be ok, but once you go upstairs its faulty towers in a bad way!! In terms of customer service,two staff were friendly, but the rest were ignorant, bullying, grumpy, disinterested and lazy/innefficient.
Rooms are small, grubby and noisey. Cost was 130 approx for the two nights, room only. Breakfast was 10 euro
I stay in Belfasthotels often and most would leave this place in its wake
Wont be back

Room Tip: If you have any interest in comfort and customer care, dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel on 12th July. I stayed there a good 10years ago & nothing had really changed, decor etc could be updated. Our room faced to the rear with the vents etc running continuously through the night which wasn't ideal. I would say the staff from the car park attendant, reception, leisure centre & the bar were all great, very helpful & pleasant. All in all its not a bad place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose this hotel as it gave us the option for three beds in one room at a relatively reasonable price. The hotel is tired, with the bathrooms barely operational. (Our toilet stopped working in the middle of the night on the first night and we had to move rooms) Our window looked into another hotel room and it was a long, convoluted walk to get to our room. (Not accessible for the physically limited - many stairs) a disappointment.
We enjoyed being so close to Dublin(30 min from airport) and loved the hiking in the area, especially the cliff walk to Greystone. The town of Bray is a perfect launch point to see the sights of Wicklow. I don't think I would return yo this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having stayed in the Royal on three previous occasions I was looking froward to the break with my wife. Unfortunately the first room we were allocated had a wet carpet from a leak in the radiator and a damp smell. I fail to see why this wasn't picked up by cleaning staff earlier. The staff kindly moved us to another room which was unfortunately smaller and again in need of a bit of a spruce up. We decided just to put up with it but doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Another nice stay at the Royal, we always use this hotel when visiting family and are very happy to continue to do so. The hotel is in a great location with lots of handy cafes for breakfast (we always go room only) and minutes walk from the seafront and the wonderful Ocean Bar and Grill for evening meals. The room we had was spacious with great views of the town and surrounding country side. The lovely room also had a smashing modern bathroom and great power shower. You get more than what you pay for at The Royal - if you use the right sites - comfortable hotel, leisure facilities, lounge bar and entertainment and courteous, friendly staff, we won't stay anywhere else - Thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarlGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,070 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,129 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: £64 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing