We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring your own towels” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bring your own towels”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel the week-end 6th & 7th June 2014.
The room was a double. We were supplied with 2 towels. I contacted reception and was told that was the number issued for that day. We were told if we wanted more towels they would be taken from the next days issue. We never received the extra towels. The curtains in our room were broken and hanging by one hook. I once again contacted reception. The curtains were never repaired while we were there. The light in the bathroom didn't work. It was reported but never repaired.
We ordered 2 burgers and 1 pint of beer in the bar. Total cost in £Stg...£26.00. She didn't even wear a mask when demanding the money. Even though the car park is within the hotel grounds we had to pay 10euro's.

Room Tip: Book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suntraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    198
    205
    208
    246
See reviews for
270
337
32
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I visited the hotel on the 14th of June for a one night stay. The hotel is seriously outdated and in need of being renovated. Our room was small and cramped with stains on the walls. The bed was also lob-sided. The corridors around the hotel are far from clean. The staff were ok. We asked for a refund straight away to which they offered to show us other rooms. We declined, just didnt like the look of the place. There is NO Free breakfast and you have to pay for parking. Would not recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeeeaaahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bray hotels

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

From our arrival at the hotel things were realy great. The girl at reception was so friendly and helpfull. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The staff in the bar were friendly, especially Vincent ( I hope I got the his name right). Car parking is at the back of the hotel for a small charge. Would stay again at this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundrum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We chose this hotel as it gave us the option for staying close to the annual Wicklow 200 cycle sportive in which myself and a number of friends were participating. We were interested in a hotel stay at a relatively reasonable price. The hotel decor inside and out,is tired,dated and in need of modernising. Entering via main reception and taking in the general surroundings you would think that the rest of the hotel might be ok, but once you go upstairs its faulty towers in a bad way!! In terms of customer service,two staff were friendly, but the rest were ignorant, bullying, grumpy, disinterested and lazy/innefficient.
Rooms are small, grubby and noisey. Cost was 130 approx for the two nights, room only. Breakfast was 10 euro
I stay in Belfasthotels often and most would leave this place in its wake
Wont be back

Room Tip: If you have any interest in comfort and customer care, dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel on 12th July. I stayed there a good 10years ago & nothing had really changed, decor etc could be updated. Our room faced to the rear with the vents etc running continuously through the night which wasn't ideal. I would say the staff from the car park attendant, reception, leisure centre & the bar were all great, very helpful & pleasant. All in all its not a bad place to stay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We chose this hotel as it gave us the option for three beds in one room at a relatively reasonable price. The hotel is tired, with the bathrooms barely operational. (Our toilet stopped working in the middle of the night on the first night and we had to move rooms) Our window looked into another hotel room and it was a long, convoluted walk to get to our room. (Not accessible for the physically limited - many stairs) a disappointment.
We enjoyed being so close to Dublin(30 min from airport) and loved the hiking in the area, especially the cliff walk to Greystone. The town of Bray is a perfect launch point to see the sights of Wicklow. I don't think I would return yo this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony11_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having stayed in the Royal on three previous occasions I was looking froward to the break with my wife. Unfortunately the first room we were allocated had a wet carpet from a leak in the radiator and a damp smell. I fail to see why this wasn't picked up by cleaning staff earlier. The staff kindly moved us to another room which was unfortunately smaller and again in need of a bit of a spruce up. We decided just to put up with it but doubt we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
7.8 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Property: The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing