We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dated, cold mess.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here as a couple celebrating our anniversary and we were not impressed. The hotel feels old and dated, the decor in the rooms is dark and felt oppressive and not of a high quality. Our room had a locked door in it to another room which did not give any sound protection from the noisy family next door. The rooms were not cleaned to an acceptable standard, stained sheets, dirt around the floor, behind the bed furniture etc, but what really turned our stomach was small traces of blood in the bathroom from a previous guest. We felt the bar facilities were lacking in terms of cleanliness and the staff there were cold and unhelpful. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

518 - 524 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Although the staff were kind enough to move us from one room where the bath had enamel missing and the paint was bubbling, the second room was not much better. The paper was peeling off the walls and the windows hadn't been cleaned for years. Our friends were also moved with a similar experience.
Definitely won't be returning in the near future. Needs a major cash injection to bring it up to modern day standards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 559SanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here weekend of fri June 27th .Second time ive stayed here .Was very disappointed That the shower in room didnt work room 233 deffo needs a facelift. Also the service at Breakfast was slow .waited ages for staff to clear tables so we could sit down . A good value break but hotel deffo needs work.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadiej68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed with your hotel for the May Bank Holiday weekend and am completely disgusted that your Hotel Manager never contacted regarding my numerous complaints. We bought a deal and in the deal we were offered early check in and late check out. Upon arrival we were told that the rooms would not be ready and that's what we should expect from a deal by your Receptionist on the desk. When we finally got our rooms there was no towels. We rang down and asked for towels and was told to go to the Leisure to get some, went to the Leisure and there was none there too. We had to ring again and only got towels at 5.45pm which was completely unacceptable. We went out for dinner and returned to your bar and one of your staff was getting people seats, we asked for 2 and was told to sit at the bar. We told him that it's not possible as we have a pregnant lady and he begrudgingly did so. We checked out early because of the constant issues and we left our comment's with Receptionist on the Monday morning and not one person from your hotel has contacted me regarding this. I'm extremely dissapointed with the service that was provided with your hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lola1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I confirm that bad reviews I had seen were true. The hotel is run down in a run down area. The manager promised that the new management has started on an extensive improvement programme but I would not recommend this hotel at all in the immediate future.
The plumbing for example was so bad that it was laughable. The heating was on although it was 20C plus outside and some people could not turn the radiators off. One day we had hot water coming out of both the hot and cold taps. Sometimes we had to shower quickly before the water went too cool and another time it was too hot to stand under.
Hazel A

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back, they are coooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a night recently. No complaints at all. HUGE room, power shower, friendly and attentive staff and comfortable bed. The leisure centre is lovely and we had great fun in the games room. The hotel could do with some updating and the lift was out of order but these are minor issues. And for the price I was very impressed. Would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Me and my family stayed here for one night at the cost of 109 euro - average price for a really nice hotel in Eire, it was far from value for money!

Let me list the issues with this hotel;

Not clean at all.
Run down in every aspect.
tiles broken in the bathroom.
Small in space throughout .
Cold water actually hot therefore no cold water at all.
Heating on throughout night, no controls for heating.
Windows filthy - bird droppings all over the outside of the windows!
Bathroom old and cruddy.
Stains on the bedroom walls.

This is just a few of the issues! If you are looking to book a hotel in Bray, don't book this one. There are loads of other hotels that look a lot better and I've even heard better reports from the B&Bs on the promenade.

Beautiful place with the promenade being fantasic for food and kids - I would go back but not to the 'faulty towers' Royal hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billymorrison8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,063 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,111 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range: £67 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing