We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs alot of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“needs alot of updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

just back from a one night stay at the royal this hotel looks great online but my daughter and I were very disappointed, hotel needs a facelift, the pool not good or the leisure facilities. The reception staff at the hotel excellent. The lady who was serving and cooking the breakfast was brilliant, had no help, but had to also pay 5euro for parking.

Room Tip: The room we had was on the 2nd floor looking into wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    201
    208
    211
    246
See reviews for
273
339
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We ended up staying in this hotel as on the way home from Wexford one of us was sick and couldn't drive the rest of the way home. We were overcharged for this basic outdated hotel at €140 for one night without breakfast. Considering there was a wedding on in the hotel we were put in a room on the second floor which getting to was near impossible, like a maze causing difficulty for the ill member of the party. However, even in this room none of us could sleep as there was people stumbling up and down the corridor shouting for the majority of the night. The next morning the service in the breakfast room was terrible. One member of staff was particularly rude and her attitude alone would put me off staying there again. We left the hotel promptly with no intention of staying there and certainly no intention of recommending it to friends. A terrible hotel for the money we were charged.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymousmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bray hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We went down to the royal hotel thinking it was lovely unstill they give us our keys I and my husband couldnt believe our eyes black walls flys all over the windows. When i went down to tell them they at 1st told me there was no other rooms. We had our 6 mouth old daughter with us and couldnt have left as she wasnt well. They give us a other room the carpet wasnt clean the walls had marks on them and pits out of the bath. The bed went inn at the middle when you got into it. The tv only had irish channel for children. And the kettle was black inside the iron was burned. And when i said about everything before i left they told me they where getting it done up. I will be seeing about this as i will want my money back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakina12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a very enjoyable stay at the Royal Hotel. We stayed here as a family for 3 nights. On arrival the reception area was clean and welcoming. However when we were allocated our room we were very disappointed. My husband went back down to reception and spoke to the duty manager called Ashraf. He was courteous and very apologetic and quickly allocated us another room without any fuss. The new room was much nicer and located beside the lift which was ideal for us as we had children and we were happy to stay. He reassured us that if we needed anything to just let him know.

The hotel itself is dated but i must say the staff especially the duty manager were very friendly, helpful and provide excellent customer care. The duty manager (ashraf) was happy to keep the bar open as long as the guests needed at night which made my husband happy and is a privilege that is not provided in every hotel. The children really enjoyed the swimming pool too. All in all we found it a nice relaxing stay and would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kellie5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel must have been Royal once in the 30's,decor not changed since, bedding unclean and dust all around.As this booking was short notice we paid over the odds which we should have paid nothing as this has been the most terrible hotel we have ever stayed, staff in restaurant threw the food at you, this was the only thing that was OK. Remember you can also help with putting out the bins at the bottom of the stairs as nobody else seemed to care.With alot of investment and some staff who care this hotel should be brought back to it's former glory days.

Room Tip: none from the other visitors reports
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotrish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked into this hotel for two nights but had to leave after one night. The room was disgusting with the wallpaper peeling off the wall, the shower curtain was badly moulded and the spring was actually sticking out of the mattress. When we complained the reception staff were sympathetic but needed the managers permission to refund us, the manager was totally unhelpful and very arrogant. ( we were the third couple waiting to speak to him). Eventually we were told that we would be refunded for our second night. If you are considering staying in this hotel make sure you view your room before handing over any payment, even ask the local business owners who just shake their heads at the mention of the royal hotel.

Room Tip: Dirty faulty towers, Don't go !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel definitely needs to be refurbished. The rooms where clean but very old fashioned. The hotel staff where great. Anything we asked them for they provided. We also had a meal here which was tasty but there was not much choice on the menu (this could be because we booked as part of a package)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
6.1 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Property: The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing