We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
solihull
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We stayed at the Royal for 5 nights,we went B&B. The breakfasts where very good help yourself style.Have a nice pool and had a few swims,there is also a gym.Our room was fine and clean so was the bathroom.The only down side was the outside noise,do people not sleep in Bray?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    212
    213
    218
    258
See reviews for
287
351
33
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Bedroom not clean ...Bathroom not clean Evening food disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavenderCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bray hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2010

On arrival we were informed that the car parking was not part of the hotel, the car park was owned by another company and we had to pay 20 euros straight away for four nights, 5 euros a night. The entrance, bar, dining room looked fine which we observed on our way into the hotel to the reception area to book ourselves in but our opinion soon changed when we entered our double ensuite non smoking bedroom! The room was very tired and dated and was in a serious need of redocoration. The room was also dirty which needed a very good clean and the carpet needed a good vac! The bathroom smelt of damp, the floor was filthy and there was a soiled old toilet brush in the bathroom that should have been disposed of! Also we did not sleep very well due to the poor quality windows in the room which should have been double glazed or of a better quality due to the position of the room which was over looking the main street which was very noisy and was an awful view from the window of the scruffy street with boarded up take aways and an old church and grave yard! To finish it off when we proceeded to check out, the receptionist tried charging us again for our room which we had already paid for with an holiday company separate to the hotel at an unfortunately more expensive rate! Overall we had a awful experience and would never return to stay at the hotel again! The only positives was the tourist board, the staff there were very helpful, the Porterhouse on the seafront for their great stouts and ales which we visited once in Bray and in Dublin and for finally for being based near to some beautiful parts of County Wicklow!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouLou0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

my partner and i stayed in this hotel recently. Admittedely I had not asked for a smoking room on booking, but requested one when we got to reception to check in. This was not a problem for the staff to accommodate, and we were given one on the 3rd floor.

Unfortunately I personally thought that this seemed to be an inferior room to what I expected.
First thing i noticed was that there was a fan or generator somewhere outside that meant a continouos noise in the background.
The bin had not been emptied prior to our check in, the chair was stained, there were condon wrappers, a slipper and various items like leaflets etc under the bed, the decor was grubby ( ok this may have been due to smoke but even so ), the shower was very difficult to regulate, the safe not big enough to store a laptop, and the room itself was very cramped - if you took the luggage rack out of the wardrobe to put your suitcase on, you kept hitting off of it to get to the bathrooom or door.
I was disappointed with the room, however my partner did not want me to say anything so I stayed quiet. Luckily the weather was nice so we were able to spend a lot of time in outside.
I dont think I would go back to this hotel, it just does not compare to any of the newer built ones of the last 10 years.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Having read most of the reviews in relation to this hotel we were sceptical about booking it for our two night stay, however we were pleasantly surprised.
When we arrived the reception staff were efficient and friendly. Our room was large, clean and airy. Upon booking we were advised that the breakfast (continental) was included in the price. however, when we arrived for breakfast we were offered the full Irish at no additional charge.
The lounge was nice with friendly staff.
The only criticism we would have is that both the bar and the dining room (for breakfast) were very cold.
Other than that we had a most enjoyable stay at The Royal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiseEire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2010

3 nights for the price of 2 is a great deal.
Hotel and staff absolutely fine, no complaints at all. Free use of leisure centre was a bonus for us.
Didn't eat lunch or dinner there so can't comment on the food.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We had a 2 night stay. Very disappointing. We paid for an executive non- smoking room but were given a standard smoking room which was very grubby. Carpet needed a good shampoo and hoovering. Under the bed was filthy with dust , dirt, papers etc. The breakfast was poor and cold and table d'hote menu had a very poor choice. No A la Carte Menu. Bar menu not too bad. Drink very expensive. We were not aware we had to pay at a shed in the car park for parking. 5 Euros per night and when we paid our 10 Euros we were told there was no guarantee we would get parked as it was a first come first served basis. When we sent an email to report our findings we had to send another one 2 days later as they hadn't answered the first one. They replied to say that housekeeping staff were made aware of dirty room and this would not happen again, but now when I read other reviews this obviously isn't the case. We have been offered a discount on our next stay but we will never be back. This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we travel quite a lot.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Co_AntrimJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
0.5 mi away
The Martello Hotel
1.3 mi away
Wilton Hotel Bray
Wilton Hotel Bray
#2 of 7 in Bray
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,011 reviews
4.4 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,010 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Property: The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing