We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Bray” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Martello Bar

The Martello Bar
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Bray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$36
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar food , breakfast, lunch and dinner
Ballybrack, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Bray”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Eat here regularly throughout the week and have to say I just keep going back. Food is always excellent, Service top notch and anything there is ever a problem all is sorted straight away without any fuss.

Diverse menu, great drinks variety just a great place. I keep going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeanOC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Bar, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Hi SeanOC10,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review about The Martello Bar. We are delighted to hear that you regularly enjoy meals with us throughout the week & find the service & menus to be great!

See you again in the near future

Rachel
The Martello Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    175
    45
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“great food and really nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Went with my family to the Martello.. was genuinely suprised with the level of food and service..just a great place to relax and enjoy food...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony0036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Bar, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Hi Anthony0036,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to The Martello Bar!

We are delighted to hear that you found the levels of service and the standard of your food to surpass your expectations :-)

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
1 review
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Had a family meal for my husbands 40th here, was great value and food was fab, all 7 of us thoroughly enjoyed it. Food and service were great, could not fimd anything to complain about. I also have gone here with my job, it is always the preferred option for our staff. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Bar, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Elaine D,

Thank you for posting about your recent party in The Martello for your husband's 40th! I am very pleased to hear you all had a great night & the food and service were all great :-)

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great calamari with sea view.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

While living in amazing Bray, my friends and I used to go to Martello which is located just on the sea front.
It is a modern place, where you can sit outside and enjoy the Irish Sea view, eating great calamari with chips ( fries), drinking your favourite wine and feeling the real freedom.

Martello is a great place for a night out. You can talk there, listen to the live music, you can dance and sing.

I will keep the Martello in my memories forever and the people who were my companion too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sylwije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Bar, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear sylwije,

Thank you for your great review of the Martello Bar & the times you spent sitting enjoying the view, food and the atmosphere!

Hopefully we will see you again in the future back in Bray.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reheated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

just had dinner the other night me and my partner on the outside decking the staff were excellent and the place was spotless but sorry to say the food was not to good i went for burger and my partner had chicken ceasar salad Th buger was over cook look asif it was rehated and the chips were cold and sent them back and got back rock hard chips : the chicken was hard as if left out to long in the heat , the price was very expensive €13.50 for the burger €11.95 for the chicken:Ribeye
€21.95(8oz) a bit dear for bar food i think i had been here lots of timebefore and the food was 2nd to none will now try other places instade

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ckdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_Bray, General Manager at The Martello Bar, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear ckdub,

Thank you for posting a review in relation to your recent meal with us in The Martello.

I am pleased to hear that you found the place to be spotless and the staff excellent.

However, it is disappointing to hear that your food was unsatisfactory. We will look into why this happened and work to ensure it will not happen again in the future.

Please get in contact If you would like to discuss the issues further.

Kindest Regards,
John Duggan
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Martello Bar also viewed

Bray, County Wicklow
 
Bray, County Wicklow
Bray, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Martello Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing