We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No recession here”
Review of Avoca

Avoca
Ranked #6 of 95 Restaurants in Bray
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No recession here”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Avoca food shall never disappoint, rich, lavish displays of wholesome hearty dinners and deserts, the only question is whether to go the monstrous Rathcoole or the more traditional Bray with the towering old oak trees and chandeliers , I would choose the latter as it is a little bit more majical. On a Saturday , prepare for having to park in a tree , literally and to face disheartening queues however they will move quickly an efficiently. My advice is to stay for a while, catch up with friends and enjoy an hour or two discussing the best moments of the previous month. Eating delicious food with dear friends while realizing the little joys of your trivial lives is a great way to spend a Saturday. It is slightly pricey , but worth every penny. Last but not least , there will be many a well dressed baby to swoon over.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DdeB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    128
    37
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Honestly disappointed”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Was expecting more of an Irish, all hand knit or local production.(There were a few very nice blankets, and a couple of sweaters). What I saw was a lot of imported product, many of which I could purchase in the States with little research and a third of the price. Would not recommend this location for friends traveling. Nothing unique about it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service, attitude to GF could be improved”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I am a long term customer of the Avoca Cafe in all of its guises. I have watched their evolution, and their contribution to the Irish food scene is without question "great". However as someone who needs to eat gluten free, I have to say their efforts to provide wholesome GF food is abysmal. The GF bread has to be one of the worst I have tasted. I understand how difficult it must be to produce Coeliac suitable food in an environment like the Avoca kitchen, well then source a good quality artisan bread that would be palatable. Even one of the brands available in the supermarket, e.g., "Pure Bred" would be better than what is on offer. This would really open up the variation of dishes that could be consumed by those who choose GF. What Avoca loses with regard to their attitude to GF, I have to say is gained by their capacity to employ some of the best staff I have ever come across. I speak in particular about the Fernhouse team. While we have seen many team members come and go, their core staff are always exceptional.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, MT
Level 6 Contributor
975 reviews
623 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Maybe our best meal”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were driving from Dublin to Glendalough and saw the sign for Avoca's store. Their normal weaving stuff was sort of lost in all the other great stuff. We stocked up on really fun stuff for our upcoming stay at the Hermitage, don't want to rough it too much!

The café looked good but the FernHouse Café beckoned more. No reservation but we got in. And the service and talk with the waiter was worth the price of admission. Oh, and the food was amazing. Jane got mutton, she does not love mutton, she loved this. A place to sit back and enjoy oneself but most of the time you'd need a reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love love love this place! ”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I absolutely love the food and atmosphere in Avoca, we visit as often as possible and have never had a bad meal... The deserts are to die for too!!! ;-) looking forward to our next visit!

Helpful?
Thank Trixieire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avoca also viewed

Bray, County Wicklow
Bray, County Wicklow
 
Bray, County Wicklow
 

Been to Avoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing