We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but disapointed no food after 19.45”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wilton Hotel Bray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilton Hotel Bray
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bray
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but disapointed no food after 19.45”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I have stayed in this hotel inclusive 16th-19th of Dec2013 room 507. On my arrival the first night, I was informed food stopped servicing at 19.45 which was fine and I would know for duration of my stay. On second night had food at 19.20 after finishing work. Arrived back third night(tonight) at 19.30 and I was informed kitchen was closed. I spoke with a blonde girl and said it was 19.45 I understood. Eventually she made me a sandwich. While sitting down then eating, a few others came in and were checking in and I could also hear them asking for food. They were informed that they had stopped serving. Most hotels I stay in which is average two nights a week(business related) are open till 21.00-21.30. After I had finished I went upto reception to offer advice and to note this on there website so people are not let down on arrival and left hungary. There alternative iwas four star or dominos Pizza. People don't normally stay in hotels to then have to order pizza. The lady behind reception then informed me that they stopped serving food in the winter at 19.45. I informed her(lady with grey hair) that I had arrived at 19.30 and she was sitting in the lounge area with a younger lady eating at my time of me asking for dinner and she ws nearly beside me also. She then apologised and in my view didn't mean it because I caught her out about the time of dinner finishing. I was here at 19.30. Not very impressed. I also brought a work colleague for lunch both days which was in my view extra business. The food is very good and reasonable except for the sandwich I got which was 8e for ham and cheese and a cup of tea. Just wished they were more understading and appreciated of the business I gave them because I will think twice next time.

Room Tip: check before you book for meal times so you don't end up disapointed on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalky2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mon_Jessica, Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hello,

I am sorry to hear that about this incident during your stay with us. I would like to apologise for this as food should have been available till 19.45(winter hours). Please contact us info@wiltonhotelbray.com to discuss this matter in more detail.

Kind Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    138
    92
    41
    26
See reviews for
157
150
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed here for 1 night for a work party... I was greeted by a very nice receptionist and given a nice room. they room was warm and large.. with a huge bed... really nice and relaxing.

The breakfast room was very nice, a good choice of hot and cold food.. and everything was fresh.

Would stay here again !!

Room Tip: check their early bird room rate - I got a Superior room for the same price as a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_at, Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hello Seanky,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review on our hotel. I am happy to here you enjoyed your stay and will return. We pride ourselves on our breakfast buffet and am happy you enjoyed this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

With a family of 6 it is not always easy to find somewhere that we can all stay without having to take several rooms. We took one of the family rooms that slept all 6 of us. The room was plenty big enough with a sitting area in front of the TV for us all to relax in. It was clean and the beds were very comfortable. It was obvious that the hotel has been well used (in places the decor was tired and the fixtures fraying around the edges) but this would not put us off from coming back. It was very cheap for what we got so in that sense you do get what you pay for. Staff were very friendly and food great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorVini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_at, Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Hello PapaVincent,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Wilton Hotel. I am very happy to hear you and you family enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such large family rooms to cater for families over 4 . We are constantly trying to upgrade the hotel and are making small changes continuously to update the décor.
Thank you for your lovely comments on the staff and food. We look forward to welcoming your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Nice room and good food. However the noise of traffic is considerable. I had earplugs but the security man on a walkie talkie at 5 am woke me . In the shower I switched from hot to cold and couldn't get any hot water again. Reception not available to ask at 7 am. Cold shower and lack of sleep did not make for a relaxing night.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate38000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_at, Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Kate,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review as we appreciate all feedback which can help the hotel to keep improving our services.
I am sorry to hear your stay was disappointing due to Noise and cold water. I'm surprised to hear on your review about the security man as he does not carry a walkie talkie and our reception desk opening at 7am as it is a 24 hour reception desk.
Again I would like to thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I took my husband back to Ireland as a surprise for his 40th Birthday along with our 5 year old daughter for 5 nights, after searching through the various hotels in Bray I decided on staying at the Bray Wilton Hotel and also to hold the dinner party for 33 members of family, I am so glad I did, the best decision I could have made. This hotel is AMAZING!!!. Our room was very large, clean and comfortable , I requested a fridge at the time of booking and this was also in our room on arrival. Booking in was very fast and easy, also a great welcome on arrival. Our room was on the first floor and the lift was very handy especially with all of our suitcases and bags. We had 2 single beds and a double bed, along with a settee and chair and a coffee table, also a very large wardrobe with plenty of drawers. There was a nice little dressing table with mirror and hairdryer for putting makeup on/getting ready etc. The bathroom was very clean and had a bath and a very powerful shower, also plenty of mirrors for getting ready. The TV reception was great and we had free Wi-Fi the whole time.
The breakfast here was brilliant, a huge choice from pastry's, fresh fruit (water melon, grapes, pineapple, grapefruit etc) , fruit juices, yogurt, cereals, porridge, more varieties of bread than I can mention, the main one being fresh baguette every morning and the very tasty FULL Irish breakfast (3 different sorts of eggs) - I am sure I have missed lots of things because there was such a large variety. We also ate dinner at the hotel a few nights and were very pleased (the pepper sauce is too die for!!!)
The dinner party - I was able to create my own menu from a list given to me by the hotel and also to add a few extras, which was no problem at all to them. I supplied the hotel with the decorations and they very kindly arranged these in the room for me without even asking. Everybody who came also agreed the food and restaurant was lovely.
The staff at the Bray Wilton Hotel are so very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, they go the extra step to make your stay with them exceptional.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone and I have very high expectations. We will definitely be staying here again.
Just to note - A family member stayed at a hotel close by and wished they had stayed at this hotel instead.

Room Tip: Any large family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraK9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleOReilly, Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hi Tara,

Many thanks for your glowing review on your stay at the Wilton Hotel. I am delighted to hear that your months of planning paid off in the end, It was an absolute pleasure to look after you and your family and that the surprise for your husband was kept till the very end.

I happy to hear that you found the accommodation suitable for your needs and we are so looking forward to welcoming you back in May next year and have made sure you will be given the same room :)

If there is anything else we can do in the meantime please let us know and hope fully we will have a few more spicy options on the menu for your little girl.

Looking forward to seeing you and the family again.

Kind Regards
Karen and All the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed in the Wilton in oct 13 for a 5 night stay and this was our second visit here . I would highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay .The Hotel is in a great location and is very comfortable , have all is needed in them and very clean. the food is excellent from breakfast to lunch to dinner and great value for money.. And for us the staff are only brilliant and did everything possible to make out stay a real pleasure and are a credit to the hospitality industry .to sum up a really 5 star stay and we look forward to our next stay .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleOReilly, Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Hello Tom,

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am happy to hear you will highly recommend the hotel and found it a great place to stay.
Many thanks for you kind words on our staff :) Its great to hear you had a 5 star stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and in the future.

Kind Regards
Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights with hubby. Was really looking forward to it as the website looked good. There is no atmosphere in this hotel. The bar is tiny and boring. We had intended to spend the whole weekend in hotel but on arrival thought differently. We only slept in it. The bed was really comfortable and shower great. But bathroom needs some attention. Very dated. We had dinner in hotel one night but had to eat on our own in restaurant as no one else booked. Speaks volumes. Don't think it was the worse hotel ever but it does need attention in many ways. Staff not efficient enough. The staff tend not to notice you standing there!!!!! If you just want somewhere to put your head, ok. Fun, no!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeleOReilly, Manager at Wilton Hotel Bray, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hi Breezer69,

Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us.

I am disappointed to here that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I wish you had of brought your issues to the attention of the manager on duty or reception team and they would had done their up most efforts to rectify any problems.

As you can understand we are now into the winter season and the majority of our guests are sole travellers who prefer to either eat in the bar or have room service hence the reason you found yourselves alone in the dining room, we give all guests the option to have their meal in the bar or dining area and most go for the bar.

We are a very small team here at the Wilton and work extremely hard to make sure all our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and I apologies that you felt the staff were not efficient enough.

I will bring your feedback up on the next management meeting.

Kind regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bray
1.1 mi away
The Martello Hotel
0.9 mi away
Esplanade Hotel
Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bray
3.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
6.6 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
2.7 mi away
Summerhill House Hotel
Summerhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Enniskerry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilton Hotel Bray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilton Hotel Bray

Property: Wilton Hotel Bray
Address: Southern Cross Road, Bray, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilton Hotel Bray 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilton Hotel Bray has comfortable spacious bedrooms, offers excellent dining and a warm welcome. Located just off the N11 and 2km from Bray seafront and Bray town centre. Dublin city centre is just 30 minute train ride away. Free car parking and free wi fi. Food served daily until 21.00hr. Large family bedrooms. Host of local activities and attractions including Cliff Walk, Kilruddery, Sealife, Walking Trails and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilton Hotel Bray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Woodland Court Hotel Bray
Ramada Hotel Bray
Ramada Hotel Woodland Court
Ramada Bray
Bray Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing