We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed stay wish it was longer. Dinner last night was excellent. Desk has been very helpful several times. Location is handy for DART to city center. Live music both days. Breakfast was excellent. Wished we could have more time to just relax here. Needs some updating and replacements. Our room was small, but we liked it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear JohnF1949,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to read of your experience and that the team here looked after you so well.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    431
    228
    96
    68
See reviews for
356
540
25
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Visited fitzpatricks again last weekend and had another wonderful & relaxing break. We had a lovely room overlooking the sea. The service as usual was second to none. If you want to relax in a hotel that has the garden of Ireland on its doorstep this is the place for you. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 215deirdre1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear 215deirdre1215,

Thank you for returning to us and posting a review.

I am delighted to read that your return visit lived up to your expectations.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Out of all of the hotels on our 10 day trip to Ireland, this one was the one we were most excited about staying in - that is, until our arrival. The staff is the saving grace of this badly worn hotel and if it wasn't for them, this review would be poorer. Upon arrival, we were greated by a very friendly young lady who went out of her way to do everything she could to get us situated after a long night of traveling. The room itself is where it went downhill. It appears we were given one of the much older rooms which faced the back parking lot. I don't even care about the lack of view, what I was disappointed with was the damp, musty smell in the room and the very badly worn carpet with a giant stain next to the bed that I wouldn't dare walk on without shoes. The beds were lumpy and if I wasn't exhausted, I likely would not have slept well. The room looked like it hadn't been updated in 25 years and the musty smell was just awful. It is a shame that the hotel let the rooms get this bad because the hotel itself is beautiful and the grounds were lovely. I hope the renovations they now have going on will help save this hotel from its fall from grace although sadly, I'm not too sure I would give it a second try.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room if you are staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Freebird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Freebird29,

Thank you for taking to review us.

I apologise for your disappointment with the room you were allocated as you mentioned we are currently refurbishing our bedrooms and bathrooms which is nearing completion.

I would like to discuss this further with you and get more information about the room you stayed in and your experience if you could please email me on mark.sl@fitzpatricks.com.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I found the hotel very dated and jaded. Paid over €220 for a double room for 2 b&b and felt it was way overpriced given the poor standard of decor and service. Staff at breakfast were not pleasant rushing us to eat. Location is good and a short stroll to dalkey village with its nice pubs and Restuarants.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear John G,

I firstly must apologise for your experience whilst staying with us here at the Castle.

As you may have read in other reviews we are currently undergoing a large refurbishment project on bedrooms, public areas & bathrooms.

I was disappointed to read of your negative experience with some of the staff here as this is most unusual. I will be investigating this with our restaurant manager.

If you would like to contact me directly about the issues you had please email me on mark.sl@fitzpatricks.com

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co Armagh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had 2 night stay end of May14 and was accomodated in the Royal suite which had wonderful views over the sea. Room was luxury the only thing missing was a fridge but everything else was superb. Staff were all very helpful and friendly and a special mention for Kate in the resturant who looked after us so well on both nights when we dined with them. Food was very good in the evening and breakfasts also hard to beat. Good leasure facilities and pool and entertainment in lounge and Dungeon bar made the stay special. Hotel only 5 min walk to park which had wonerful views and again 15min walk into Dalkey which has many good bars and resturants. Will definitely return and recommend to others

Room Tip: rooms to front of hotel have balconies and some have views towards Dublin bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florence057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear florence057,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team here and I was delighted that they looked after you so well during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Recently had pleasure of traveling to Ireland trip was gift from my Grandaughter, this was an Aer. Lingus tour we were notified that our return flight had been cancelled with no cell phone we were unable to contact Aer Lingus to arrange for a way back home. Shauna a front deck clerk to the rescue she contacted airline and made sure we had our trip home okay. She was a lovely young woman so professional and pleasant, she made the rest of the trip free from worry for us. Found everything else about hotel lovely clean rooms comfortable beds great breakfast, pool was great, all in all a great experience. For first time visit to Ireland. Again thanks Shauna

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Kay L,

Thank you for your kind words about Shauna on reception and I will make sure your comments are passed on. She is indeed a great asset to the Hotel.

I am delighted to read of you pleasant stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Castle again in the future.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Room was quite comfortable, if small, well-kept and clean. Very new bathroom with all the amenities. But the hotel's layout is a bit wonky if you have issues with stairs -- not surprising for an old facility. They do provide ramps in places, but one is much too steep. There is a ground floor entrance into the building right from the parking lot (you buzz an intercom at the door, which is locked from the outside). That gets you to an elevator in what I'd call the basement, up one level to the main floor, then three steps up through a (very elegant) sitting room before you reach main reception (a comfortable seat with a concierge). Nevertheless, the staff was bright and helpful always. This hotel is actually in Dalkey, by our reckoning, about 20 min drive south of Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank symbiont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear symbiont,

Thank you for you comments about the team here.

I apologise about any difficulty you had with accessibility as we do en devour to assist in any way we can with this but as mentioned it can be very difficult with the age of the building.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay despite of these issues.

Thank you again for reviewing.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killiney
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Address: Killiney Hill Road, Killiney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Killiney, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing