We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab friendly hotel great location and staff all brill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab friendly hotel great location and staff all brill”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Love fitzpatrick castle home from home relaxing friendly atmosphere with brill staff from point of booking until you are leaving hotel we are regular visitor and have no hestitation in recommending it to anyone

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Averil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Averil,

Thank you for staying with us again in the Castle.
It was great to see yourself and Tony again over the weekend.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    453
    239
    104
    72
See reviews for
379
563
25
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

On entering the Grill Restaurant we were greeted by Mark Scott- Lennon. He checked to where we were being seated and showed us to our table. He offered us drinks but we had some so brought Water for the table. We had a look at the menu and shortly afterwards a waitress came and took our order. We had wings to die for for our starters, Fillet steak medium to perfection for our main and several drinks too. We had beautiful desserts mine was Hot Apple Pie and my husband had ice cream. The service was very prompt and efficient and on a few occasions we were asked if everything was ok.
Ben is a great barman and we had a great chat with him. He is very good at his job.

Room Tip: The Grill Restaurant is Lovely Service is very good The rooms are lovely and beds are so comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joralikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Josephine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to get to meet you on arrival for dinner.

Thank you for your kind comments about Ben who is a great asset to the Castle.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Grill again and congratulations on your wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Been in the hotel business since 1938,retired of coarse, still cannot get over how modern times have really put the word hospitality into these places.just to say my previous comments on this hotel are well founded its a great hotel and the staff give great service, thanks again.

Room Tip: Look over the bay .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenton027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear kenton027,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to return to the Castle.

It is a pleasure to read of your positive experiences in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The reviews on TripAdvisor are a mixed bag, which I think adequately describes this very interesting hotel. It may not be a hotel for everyone as it is a little dated and a little worn, but others will love these "wrinkles" and consider it charming.

We purchased our room off a discount site so we probably had the "no thrills" room but it was super large, beds were very comfortable and the room was exceptionally clean. The size of the room made it great for two kids, plenty of room to play and spread out. This was perfect. We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel which was very lovely. The pool requires swim caps (bring your own or purchase on site for 2.50), the pool is beautiful and the family swim times seemed appropriate (family swim is equipped with a lifeguard). All the staff we encountered were very helpful and friendly.

One thing we found really unique about this hotel is it is clearly a focal point of the local community and it is very well loved. Its a rare thing to find such local flavor in a large hotel. The grounds around the hotel are stunning and there are many wonderful walking options.

If you are of the adventurous sort, enjoy mixing with locals and find inspiration in truly unique, interesting but not perfect accommodations, then you will enjoy the Fitzpatrick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Miki G,

Thank you for reviewing us following your recent stay.

I was delighted to read of your enjoyable experience during your stay with us.
Thank you for your warm words about the staff at the Castle. I will be sure to pass on your review to all the team here.

In the coming year we are investing heavily in refurbishing the bedroom, bathroom and public areas of the Castle which hopefully you will have the chance to see on a future return visit.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here recently for 3 nights and paid extra for a room with a sea view. Whilst this is strictly true it is stretching it a bit as you have to go out on the balcony and look right to see the sea. But having said that the room was okay - a bit worn and could do with updating and as one previous reviewer said it is a bit tricky getting in and out of the bath to have a shower.

The breakfast was very good with an excellent choice and we had dinner as well which was also very good.

What makes this hotel worth going back to is the staff - they were excellent - top marks to the management for their choice of staff and their training! They set a wonderful example of Irish hospitality and I am sure the visitors from across the pond, of which there were many, really appreciated the warmth and welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatildaBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear MatildaBelfast,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Castle.

Thank you for your kind comments about the team here at the Castle. We take great pride in our customer care and our team here are a massive asset to the Castle.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I'll let the photos speak for themselves. What a disappointment for 2 nights = $579.18. It was a terrible way to end our wonderful Ireland vacation. The lobby and dining areas were nice, but the 'magic' of the castle stopped there and led us to one of the grungiest rooms I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KS12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear KS12342014,

Thank you for your review.

I have thankfully had the chance to speak to you directly since your stay and I am glad that we were able to remedy the issues you experienced.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back for a more enjoyable visit.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was our second time at the hotel. We did not prebook and were lucky enough to get room 103 which is a fantastic room: a generous size, triple aspect and very well furnished and decorated. The en suite was very big with a lovely roll top bath and separate shower. We were tucked away and the room was very quiet and private which made for a relaxing stay. It would be worth paying a supplement to bag this room especially if it was a special occasion. Breakfast was very good. The staff are friendly and the hotel feels like a well run establishment. My husband enjoyed an evening and morning swim. I joined him for the pre-breakfast dip and the pool is a good size. The ability to have a swim was the icing on the cake of our stay. We walked into Dalkey and had a good dinner in the Italian. There is plenty of choice in the village in terms of restaurants and pubs. Hope to return again to the Fitzpatrick.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OptimisticLarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear OptimisticLarne,

Thank you for your review and your repeat business which we very much appreciate.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you would return to us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the future.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killiney
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,077 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,972 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
1.7 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
366 reviews
12.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Address: Killiney Hill Road, Killiney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Killiney, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing