We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Nearby Hotels
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa(Dun Laoghaire)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Marine Hotel(Dun Laoghaire)
US$198
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Beacon(Sandyford)
US$131
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Haddington House(Dun Laoghaire)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,475)
Filter reviews
1,475 results
Traveller rating
552
486
251
110
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
552
486
251
110
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskilliney hilldublin baylibrary bardalkey villagedart stationsea viewirish seatwo double bedsleisure facilitiesfamily roomlobby areabit dateddun laoghairedungeon restaurantdublin airportirelandwicklow
Filter
Updating list...
755 - 760 of 1,475 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good value for our family (2a, 3c) sharing a large family room for 3 nights midweek. The swimming pool is good although not ideal for very young children eventhough there is a lifeguard on duty during family sessions. Very friendly, effecient staff. Onsite restaurant food is tasty though portions are small. We chose to eat our meal in the adjacent Dungeon Bar as our boys thought it a novelty to dine there. Breakfasts are buffet style and the quality and variety of food is impressive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okeeffek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear okeeffek,

It was a pleasure to read that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit and we look forward to welcoming you all back.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a 3 night break in Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel. We checked Tripadvisor, booked direct and requested 'a room with a view'. We were given a room with seaview and a balcony! Wonderful.
The service was excellent, Irish Coffees as good as we have tasted and the local area stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelSurge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear RachelSurge,

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much with us.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fitzpatricks is situated in a really pretty town which is a delight to walk through and explore. The grounds are immaculate and extensive.The welcome at the hotel was lovely and the foyer and lounge really luxurious yet relaxing. However our expectations of a truly beautiful room as seen on the website was shattered. It was just average to look at and uncomfortable to sleep in. Sadly the furnishings were very worn and even stained. I have read that these rooms are being refurbished, in which case it will be a beautiful place to stay. The restaurant food was excellent and we couldn't praise the staff enough. Yes we would stay there again....but would check the room out first! I would think this would be classed as a standard room. We would maybe upgrade.

Room Tip: Looks amazing on website but CHECK ROOM FIRST.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank banksias374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear banksias374,

Thank you for your review.

I apologise for your dissapointed with the room you were allocated. As you mentioned we are coming to the final stages of our latest refurbishment and will be undertaking more during the next year on all public areas bathrooms and bedrooms.

Thank you for your comments about the staff here who are indeed a credit to the hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Only stayed 2 nights. Nice place. A little run down. Could use some updating in guest rooms and hallways. Main floor is very nice with a friendly attentive staff. The food was quite good with generous portions. A shuttle down to the town and back would be a great addition. It is quite an uphill hike from Dalkey back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Linda W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Castle.

With regards to the shuttle service we have a bus called the Aircoach which comes up and down from Dalkey every hours with a special rate of €2 for hotel guests. I apologise you were not made aware of this.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here on a two night visit and found the situation and surrounding area pleasant. The entrance to the hotel and general areas are of a standard one would expect from a 4 star hotel
and the breakfast room and food good. The bar staff in the library were excellent but the bar staff in the dungeon poor as we stood for a long time waiting to be served when the bar man seemed to play with the till and ignored us so went back to the library.
The food in the lower restaurant was o k well presented but lacking in flavour. We had hoped to dine in PJ's but found that this is only open at weekends
We had a room we paid extra for with a sea view but this we could only see from the balcony looking over the next balcony along and not from the room. The balcony definitely needed renovation with sad paintwork and pieces falling from the ceiling.
Generally I would say it struggles to be 4 star.

Room Tip: Not sure as we upgraded to sea view room but only average but it did have a nice bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Leonard V,

I apologise for the issues which occurred on your visit to the Dungeon Bar I will be discussing this with our Bars Manager and I can assure you this is not the norm in the Dungeon.

Our Seaview rooms all have balconies from which you can see the sea I am very sorry if this was not made clear to you.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews