We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth staying in but bring the car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth staying in but bring the car”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from 5 night stay and it turned out to be very pleasant. Its a bit tired around the edges and perhaps hygiene could be improved but there is a special feel to the place that creeps up on you and chills you out. Breakfasts were great and facilities were top notch but perhaps the grestest assets of the Hotel were the staff. None could be faulted.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eamonn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Eamonn W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff here who are a credit to themselves and the hotel.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    429
    227
    96
    68
See reviews for
354
538
24
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
481 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our first stay in a real castle! This was a very nice stop on our journey across southern Ireland and near the end of our trip, only regret is that we wished we stayed here 2 more nights instead of moving on to downtown Dublin before heading home!! A very refined hotel/castle. Clean, spacious rooms with a sense of grandeur. Just wished we had a better view as we faced the back and can see the service road below our windows. We had drinks on the lawn in the sun right after check in and took a nice hot-tub after dinner one night (bring your own swim cap or buy one if you want to go in the pool, not needed for hot-tub). We made a reservation at the hotel restaurant and had a very nice meal with excellent service. Only negative was that they over cooked my wife's medium rare steak but they quickly re-made it to her liking once we brought it to our waiter's attention.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, not the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHLee7ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear PHLee7ca,

Thank you for your review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Castle.
Thank you for your kind comments about the team here and the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We arrived at Fitzpatrick Castle on the last day of our trip to Ireland. It was a trip that included staying in Castle hotels all over Ireland. Although this was not the best castle by far, it was one of our favorite ones.Everything was great, the bar, the restaurant, the pool - all perfect. We had drinks and dinner there. We met a local couple there and had fun chatting with them for a while.
I mentioned that it was my birthday, not sure if this is why but they gave us the Honeymoon Suite!
It was so beautiful with a large private bath, and a large gorgeous clean and comfortable room.
The people there went above and beyond making us happy and comfortable.
We agreed to stay there again next time we go back to Ireland, one night was not enough time to get a true feel for the area, but it seemed like a very nice location that probably had some great shops and restaurants around. We stayed in, as we had to leave early for the airport the next day. The Restaurant staff were friendly, and the Barkeeper was as well. It would be fun to stay on a weekend night I'm sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridermp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Ridermp,

Thank you for your review.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would choose to return to the Castle on your next visit to Ireland.

I am delighted that the team here were able to make your experience such an enjoyable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had heard that this was an experience that was rated highly. We phoned ahead but no booking was possible, but as it was sort of mid week, we arrived 3:30 ish, as it runs from 2 sharp till 6. It was amazingly busy, and we got the last available table. It was a very generous serving (it is for 2 and there were 4 of us). We were not staying as this was just an end of summer treat. We might have preferred a quieter location in the general area, but were glad to find seats for 4 people, in the height of the season.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear M L,

I am glad to read that you enjoyed our afternoon Tea and I will be passing you kind comments on to the Kitchen team.

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed in the Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin on the night of the 20th of August 2014. My kudos to a beautiful hotel. Our room was delightful with a door to the balcony which overlooked the water. It was both beautiful during the daylight and at night. The beds were comfortable and very clean as well as the bathroom. While there was no air-conditioning, the room was very comfortable with the door or window open.

The decor of this hotel is beautiful. There are comfortable chairs and sofas throughout the lobby which makes it inviting to sit and readl or talk. The lounge are is large and inviting as well.

The dinner on our last night in Ireland was superb. I had the salmon and it was cooked to perfection and the caesar salad was delicious. The staff was expedient and very accommodating. My roommate and I were ready 35 minutes early on our day of departure. We went to the dining area to see if we could get a cup of coffee 35 minutes before breakfast was to be served. The person on duty gave us coffee and pastries, juice and cereal. He was so pleasant and chatted to us about the USA and Ireland. I had a lovely experience in this hotel and will definitely return if I get the opportunity to return to Ireland. I give your this out of 5 for a rating.

Room Tip: Attempt to get a balcony on the front of the hotel with a view of the water. There are french doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Margaret322,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Castle and to hear of our breakfast team looking after you so well on your departure.

Hopefully we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very good food although the banana caramel sundae should have had ice cream not just cream and banana . The staff were very friendly and attentive, the supervisor on the night , Kata, was excellent she couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Stephen M,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your meal and I will pass on your kind words to Kata who is a great asset to us here.

Hopefully you will visit the Grill again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and I had lunch in the lounge of Fitzpatricks yesterday. After about 15 minutes we eventually caught the waiters eye and ordered Smoked salmon for him and Cajun chicken salad for me. We also ordered a glass of wine for him and sparkling water with a dash of lime for me. My drink came with a piece of lime, no cordial, so I had to ask again for that. My husband's smoked salmon arrived, no sign of my chicken. After 5 minutes we asked the same waiter about my meal, he said it was on the way, no apology for the delay. Eventually after 8 minutes my meal arrived, I timed it! I would have thought that the waiter/kitchen staff would have made sure that both meals were served together. While the food was good, the ambience was good, management should look at the number of pieces of paper which have fallen between the till desk and the wall, not a pretty sight for us from our seats at the fireplace. There was a lollipop stick, a chip and scrap paper under the grate in the fireplace. The ladies cloakroom was clean and well maintained, but what a pity that the frame of the inspection notice is so badly broken. Alex Polizzi would not be impressed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Margaret M,

Thank you for your review.

I apologise for the sub standard experience you had during your lunch. This is not the service we aim to deliver to our guests and I will be addressing all the issues you raised with our Food & Beverage manager as well as our bars manager.

Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
I do hope you return for lunch again for a better experience.

Kind Regards
Mark Scott-Lennon
General Manager & Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killiney
1.8 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Property: Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Address: Killiney Hill Road, Killiney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Killiney, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing