We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenaire Lodge

Glenaire Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Killiney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenaire Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2006

Marguarite is fantastic. The traditional Irish breakfast in her lovely dining room each morning was great - I miss it! She was very good about letting us know the places to see - the little village of Dalkey is a must and also Johnny Foxes Pub (wonderful Irish coffee here!). Just be sure to have a car when staying here - it is a fair drive from the city center. Enjoy!

  • Liked — The breakfast!
  • Disliked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — Have a rental car if staying here.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingirlfrompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2006

A lovely guesthouse not far from Dalkey and Killiney, villages near to the port of Dun Laoghaire. Beautifully light and airy rooms - laminate floors and a lovely brand new bathroom. The breakfast was lovely with a choice of traditional Irish or fruit/ organic yoghurt etc. Marguerite is so friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay there again if I were in the area. Make sure you get directions via email from her - the b&b isn't signposted at all and doesn't even have a sign outsid to let you know it's a b&b!! €45/ person/ night in high season but well worth it.

  • Liked — The owner's friendliness
  • Disliked — Difficult to find it!
  • Tips/Secrets — Take Marguerite's directions with you :)
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We stayed for one night and then returned for two nights at the end of our holiday. It is not far from the ferry teminal at Dun Laoghaire (approx. 15 minutes drive) and we used it as a base to explore the Wicklow Mountains and then caught the DART in to Dublin from here (30 minutes to Dublin on the DART). Marguerite is just the loveilest lady and really cares about her guests. The rooms were very modern with big beds and great showers. The breakfast was excellent and Marguerite made sure you had everything you needed. You probably require a car to stay at this B&B really as it is in a residential area. The DART is approximately 20 to 30 minute walk as are the closest shops and pubs.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Oh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2006

Beautiful rooms but most of all, a fabulous hostess! Marguerite made our first glimpse of Ireland the best. Breakfast was fresh and wonderful! I can not recommend this place more highly!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormyone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2005

Marguerite goes out of her way to make you feel at home in her B&B in Kiliney. Breakfast each morning was wonderful and I was sad when my stay there ended. The rooms are also very clean and pretty and the shower has the best water pressure I have ever found in Ireland!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killiney
0.9 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.1 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
#1 of 1 in Leopardstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Martello Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenaire Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenaire Lodge

Property: Glenaire Lodge
Address: 3 Coundon Court Killiney Avenue, Killiney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Glenaire Hotel Killiney
Glenaire Lodge Killiney, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing