We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean & well maintained motel -some road noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very clean & well maintained motel -some road noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

An excellent queen N/S room with sm fridge, 2 burner elements & microwave. Firm but comfortable bed. Very clean and well maintained with very helpful staff. Some noise from road with hill outside rm 20 so would stay again but request a room further back. Light take out special from restaurant was very good although beans overcooked.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of motel to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenMcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
46
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This is a great hotel, especially if you take a room overlooking the river. Really enjoyed the balcony. Has everything that you could want, including microwave & fridge. We enjoyed dinner & breakfast at their restaurant. Very good, reasonably priced food. Wished that we could have stayed longer but we were enroute to the Maritimes. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinlady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were on a road trip back to Nova Scotia and decided to stop here instead of Edmunston as we normally do. We were thankful that it was an easy quick route from the highway because were were driving through a huge rainstorm at the time.

We asked for a balcony and view of the Falls and ended up in room 30 (on top) on the Falls side for around $130CDN incl tax. I suspect that it was their best room based on it's size and location in relation to the Falls. There were huge trees grown up in front of the balcony but you could still see the top of the Falls and the backside of the dam pretty good, I'm not sure the view would have been very good in the lower level rooms. My husband wasn't impressed at all with the Falls themselves; we had just revisited Niagara Falls the week before.

The room was very large, enough so that my 2 year old felt the need to gallop around like a horse for a while before settling down....sorry people downstairs! The room was very clean, had a little fridge, microwave, tv, free wifi and a nice sized bathroom. I had read a previous comment about hard beds, this is probably somewhat true, but I didn't notice much because a firmer mattress doesn't bother me. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast, the food was fine, had decent prices and high chairs for my toddler.

Overall, I was very happy with our overnight stay. It seemed to be as reasonably priced as nearby chain places, the Falls were a walk away and the room was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guests_in_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed here on a tip from the friendly folks at the New Brunswick Information Center. The motel overlooks the amazing waterfall and gorge that runs through downtown Grand Falls. Our unit, number 36, was at the end, with a nice balcony and peekaboo view of the waterfall. We were pleasantly surprised at all the amenities: fridge, coffee maker and spacious room, given the very reasonable price. Our wifi connection was spotty in this distant room, so the staff set us up in a room of our own at the restaurant so we could post our trip pictures. Check out the town if you are traveling through - it's fun and pretty.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olympia_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

We selected Grand Falls as a halfway point between Ontario and the Maritimes, and we couldn't have been more pleased with what we found. We checked in late at night (1am) and were please to find:
-clean, spacious rooms,
-nice bathrooms,
-a mini-fridge,
-a nice-sized TV,
-free wi-fi.
Beds were clean and comfortable. Remember, this is a motel and not the Four Seasons so adjust your expectations accordingly, but for a motel the beds were great. The staff was very friendly and accommodating; in fact, someone backed into our car in the parking lot but one of the maids saw it, wrote down the license plate number and called our room immediately so we could catch the lady before she drove off.
The location is great; though it was late at night we easily found the place.
There is a restaurant in the motel that serves food from 6am-10pm. Didn't go, but it looks good.

Best of all, the rates here are a fraction of what you'd find in a Best Western but with all the amenities.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling through Grand Falls.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keili88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Edward Island
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I selected this motel as a midway point of a 10-hour road trip based on the positive reviews. I could not have been more disappointed - the decor of the room was out of 1950s, but that could be overlooked if the beds were comfortable - I felt as if I were sleeping on a wooden floor. The size of the room could accommodate a single bed but not two doubles. Linens and pillows were well past their prime, with lumps. The value was not good as we paid over $100 for the night, especially when comparing with a 4 -star hotel we stayed at the next night for $150. The management would do well by upgrading the key features, like beds and linens.
The restaurant however was quite nice - breakfast was well prepared and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ema2010050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

We were on our way to Montreal and booked the room from home, ahead of time. If you get off the highway at Madawaska Road and drive into Grand Falls, you will see it on the right hand side. We stayed there the Thursday night before Thanksgiving. When we got there, my husband checked in and said that the girl at the front desk was very nice. He came back to the car with a local newspaper.

We could park in front of our room, and pass the luggage in from the trunk, which is convenient. The room was small, but very clean. I noticed a small white fridge and a microwave so we were able to heat up some food, and store our milk overnight. Also there is a large Superstore, about 2 minutes up the road, for people who are staying longer.

The bathroom was very clean, had a great shower and eco-friendly shampoo and shower gel dispensers. In the morning I was happy to find a good hair dryer in the drawer, along with two extra pillows. The thermostat worked fine, we were able to turn on the heat as it was around 3 C outside. The internet also worked fine, and was much appreciated along with cable TV.

The double bed was a little small, and a little hard, but overall, it is a well managed property. The room cost $78 before taxes, and was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoJo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Falls
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
21.0 mi away
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Perth-Andover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Grand Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Motel Leo
Motel Leo
#4 of 4 in Grand Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
11.5 mi away
Daigle's Motel & Restaurant
Daigle's Motel & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Saint Leonard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Top Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Motel & Restaurant

Property: Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
Address: 131 Ch Madawaska, Grand Falls, New Brunswick E3Y 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill Top Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the majestic Grand Falls, this New Brunswick motel offers on-site dining. Overlooking the waterfalls and the gorge this motel features comfortably furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi. Digital cable TV is provided in all rooms at Hilltop Motel & Restaurant. Simply furnished, each spacious room is equipped with tea and coffee Maker-Keurig. A mini fridge and microwave are provided. Free wifi in all rooms and restaurant. Full hot breakfast included with rooms. Showcasing water views, Hilltop Motel & Restaurant Grand Falls restaurant serves a variety of Canadian and Acadian dishes. Seafood and pizza are included. An extensive wine list is available. Grand Falls city centre is 15 minutes' walk from this motel. Offering a closer look at the Grand Falls gorge, Zip Zag zip line tours are offered 5 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hill Top Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Hotel Grand Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing