We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falls not so grand!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hill Top Motel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Falls not so grand!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Our room was lovely! As mentioned in other reviews, they even have Kurig machines in the room. Our bathroom was huge and the room was very clean. The only downside for us, the people in the room above us might as well have been in our room. You can easily hear the footsteps above you and it caused us to have a poor nights sleep. It is unfortunate because everything else about this place is lovely. Perhaps ask for an upstairs room.

Room Tip: You do not have a view of the falls, no matter which room you are in! But they are right there, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    37
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
46
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
175 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Had a great room with balcony and clear view of the falls. Very comfortable. Unfortunately the chck-in was unwelcoming and close to rude - no greeting upon arrival, no information about hotel services (dining etc). The phone was more important than the guests. I almost walked out while waiting. All the nice aspects of the hotel are forgotten because of the poor treatment at arrival.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sauble Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

We were quite pleased with the motel and our room. Check in was fast and friendly. Parking is free and safe at night. The room was spotless and had all the amenities you would need. There was even a Kuerig computerized coffee machine. We had room number 23 on the second floor. It had a reasonable view of the gorge, looking between the restaurant and one of the other wings. You can sit outside on the covered balcony and enjoy a wee dram. The room cost $95 + tax. We would suggest you walk/bike to the other side of the gorge and enjoy the nearby trails. The attached restaurant had a great view but, unfortunately, the food was not prepared well.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor near #23 for a reasonable view of the gorge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
272 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst in Grand Falls on Business. This Motel is standard 2 storey, outside access design but he rooms are large and well equipped. Fridge, microwave, single cup cartridge coffee machine and soap/shampoo dispensers. I had a room with a view of the river (not the actual falls - they are the other side of the dam and no hotel overlooks them) Frozen at this tome of the year, and a nice private deck.
There was a little noise from late arrivals and the bed was a little firm for me but otherwise everything was fine.
I was surprised at the quality of the food in the resteraunt (2 dinners, 1 lunch as it was too cold to bother going elsewhere). It is not gourmet but good homestyle food that is prepared on the premises, nicely cooked and reasonably priced. The dining room is obviously a favorite with the locals and does a brisk trade.
I will return here when next in grand Falls.
The staff were all friendly and efficient making this a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floor with a view of the river (in the newer block).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keenvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morinville, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had an unplanned stay at the Hilltop last night. We chose this hotel by luck as it was the first one that came up on our Yellow Page's App.

The room was quite small and the bathroom was even smaller (I felt like I was in an RV). We appreciated the microwave and fridge as we travelled with our infant and those were very convenient.

The room only had a small wood rocking chair to sit on or a hard restaurant-style chair at the desk.

One dissapointment was the heat setting limitations. We were restricted at setting temperatures less than 74 degrees (F) on the only working heat source. A thermometer on the wall didn't budge from 20 deg (C). While this was fine with us, our little one was a little chilly. Although we're not normally picky, both my wife and I found the bed (a double bed) uncomfortable.

I would have been ok with this room had it been a little cheaper, but for CAD$87 (close to $100 after taxes) during their "down season", I think I'd try somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canadianquebecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

All-around rest, comfort, and, if you are into that, this motel puts you at the heart of this small community, where little has changed in recent decades.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloudminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastern
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed one night at this motel on way home from Cape Breton in August 2011, we had stopped several times in past at the restuarant for breakfast, but never stayed at motel. I booked a second floor large unit overlooking the water, it had a huge bathroom, a small balcony overlooking the water and two very large queen beds with a small fridge in room. For a family of 4 at only 140.00 with tax I think it was a really good stay. The hotel is at the top of the falls, very short walk to get down to check our the views. Clean rooms, had a good sleep and couldn't hear any neighbours-would suggest for any travellers going through Grand Falls.

Room Tip: Second Floor to get view of water if available, and no traffic noise facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EasternOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Falls
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
21.0 mi away
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
Perth-Andover Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Perth-Andover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Grand Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.6 mi away
Motel Leo
Motel Leo
#4 of 4 in Grand Falls
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Top Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Motel & Restaurant

Property: Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
Address: 131 Ch Madawaska, Grand Falls, New Brunswick E3Y 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill Top Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the majestic Grand Falls, this New Brunswick motel offers on-site dining. Overlooking the waterfalls and the gorge this motel features comfortably furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi. Digital cable TV is provided in all rooms at Hilltop Motel & Restaurant. Simply furnished, each spacious room is equipped with tea and coffee Maker-Keurig. A mini fridge and microwave are provided. Free wifi in all rooms and restaurant. Full hot breakfast included with rooms. Showcasing water views, Hilltop Motel & Restaurant Grand Falls restaurant serves a variety of Canadian and Acadian dishes. Seafood and pizza are included. An extensive wine list is available. Grand Falls city centre is 15 minutes' walk from this motel. Offering a closer look at the Grand Falls gorge, Zip Zag zip line tours are offered 5 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hill Top Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Hotel Grand Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing