We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel - Very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The rooms in this motel are very clean and big, they are equipped with a Keurig coffe maquer super coffee. The air conditionner was wlcomed as it was 40 c with the humidity. The resataurant is excellent, alll kind of food, a MUST try the PLOYE a local favorite like a pancake, you can have one for a sampler at a cost of $1,00. The emplyees are very friendly and always smiling.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs to climb if you are on the second level.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b0b2145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

You will live the unique town of grand falls , the people , the falls , the enchanting atmosphere . Hill top rooms are big , bright , clean , staff friendly .Try and book a room overlooking the falls. Well worth the extra 20.00 .i was not to crazy about the food here.poor coffee , caned gravey, lousy Caesar salad .but hotel is wonderful .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelillywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked this motel on the basis of its great reviews on trip advisor. It lived up to the reviews. Arrived and check in was easy and service friendly, the room was large, clean and well equipped, including free wifi (larger hotel chains take note). The room had a view over the falls and was just a nice place to relax and rest after a day not e road. A good place to start exploring the river and gorge.

We ate at the restaurant - dinner and breakfast It provided good old fashioned food and service. Don't expect the latest trends but can't beat pork chops and apple sauce or ham steak and pineapple. A trip down memory lane.

Overall, great value for money.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms have a view over the falls
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loud1Canberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As a business traveler, I usually get fairly spoiled with accommodation, particularly when working in larger cities. When I am in a smaller community and I have to start looking at motels, I’m not often comfortable with the idea. However, there are always exceptions to the undesirable stereotype, and the Hill Top Motel is certainly one of them. The room was very clean, and well furnished (well enough), with no dated linens or icky comforter that’s a hallmark of typical motels. I was very comfortable with my surroundings. Some of the rooms even have a view of the impressive falls and gorge, but if this isn’t your luck, the view is even better from the restaurant. The restaurant is very nice as well; a wonderful charming interior, with old-style bar seating, and a pleasant sunny dining room. The food and service were great. The only negative aspect of the stay was that the internet was down the day I was there. I really like the place, and I’d recommend it over other accommodations in the area. 8/10

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed here while on business in the area. Very central, the motel is located literally on top of the falls. The back rooms must have quite a view.
My room was very modern, newly renovated, and had a kitchenette that did not cost extra. Bed was comfortable and the washroom well appointed.
The only drawback here is the traffic outside, it didn't bother me but may annoy others.
Locals say that their restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: Take a back room, away from the street.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATidalBore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Not your typical motel!! Super Clean and nicely appointed! We had a room with two double beds and to our surprise a small kitchenette. The staff are super friendly. Easy check in and we just had to leave our keys in the room for check out. There was a microwave, stove and sink. Waking up and being able to make a coffee using a Keurig coffee maker was a bonus. Shampoo, soap, and hair dryer is provided. There is three windows in the room, so you have fresh air. There is a restaurant attached with GREAT food! The Hilltop exceeded our expectations, and it was wonderful to stay here before making the long drive back home. A great way to finish our vacation. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazeliz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Hill-top both going and returning from Cape Breton and PEI . It has been around since the 60's and it along with and the little town of Grand Falls has not changed much since that time. Friendly staff, great restaurant attached for breakfast, and a short 2 min walk to see the beautiful Grand Falls Gorge located behind the motel. Rooms were tidy and clean. I'm sure we will be back.
Gunner's Hot Tip - when passing through Quebec, remember to pull off the Trans-Canada highway after Montreal at the Costco. ( All brands of Beer cost $1.00/beer and Coors has a 60 case for $59.00).

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the Gorge have upper balconies with great views
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunner2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Falls
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Grand Falls
131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Motel Leo
Motel Leo
#3 of 4 in Grand Falls
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Grand Falls
41 reviews
11.5 mi away
Daigle's Motel & Restaurant
Daigle's Motel & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Saint Leonard
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maple Tourist Home Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Top Motel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Top Motel & Restaurant

Address: 131 Ch Madawaska | Nb, Grand Falls, New Brunswick E3Y 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
Price Range: £74 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hill Top Motel & Restaurant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from the majestic Grand Falls, this New Brunswick motel offers on-site dining. Overlooking the waterfalls and the gorge this motel features comfortably furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi. Digital cable TV is provided in all rooms at Hilltop Motel & Restaurant. Simply furnished, each spacious room is equipped with tea and coffee Maker-Keurig. A mini fridge and microwave are provided. Free wifi in all rooms and restaurant. Full hot breakfast included with rooms. Showcasing water views, Hilltop Motel & Restaurant Grand Falls restaurant serves a variety of Canadian and Acadian dishes. Seafood and pizza are included. An extensive wine list is available. Grand Falls city centre is 15 minutes' walk from this motel. Offering a closer look at the Grand Falls gorge, Zip Zag zip line tours are offered 5 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hill Top Motel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Top Hotel Grand Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing