We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative, very good value”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good alternative, very good value”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This property is an older hotel that joined the 'Choice' brand after being in business for quite a few years. Still operated by the original family.

The location is convenient, though the 'Lake' is really a pond, so the original name (Près du lac) is a bit grand!

The breakfast was fine - nothing special, but better than some other 'included' breakfasts we've had (like a motel in Maine whose much advertised 'continental breakfast' turned out to be donuts, coffee, and powdered orange 'drink'!)

Highs:
- all staff were very nice to deal with
- reasonable price
- the spa and pool are large and pleasant
- the restaurant was very good - great service, good choices, and excellent food
- rooms are quite large, nicely equipped, and clean, with excellent beds

Lows:
- construction is a bit 'thin' so we heard quite a bit of noise from neighbours (though it quieted down before we slept)
- even though the hotel now says it is fully non-smoking, the hallways often reeked of smoke (fortunately not seeping into the room at all though)
- the hallway is very ugly - not very inviting
- bathroom in our room could use updating - everything worked well, and it was certainly very clean, but lighting was ugly, door sticky (summer humidity no doubt) and a very 'low fi' toilet.

Overall: would definitely stay (and eat) there again.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are probably quieter - no outside doors opening and closing, and nobody overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Sjn11,
My parents started the business 47 years ago and we are still going strong, thanks to loyal clients such as yourself. Thank you for your kind words, we try to offer a good value to our guest and our restaurant is second to none.
Glad to see that your stay was a pleasant one. We have all kinds of new items such as 40" TV that we just installed in our rooms to make the guest fell right at home.
Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Jean LaForge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    46
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
42
39
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Only stayed one night but really enjoyed hotel. I don't know how old this hotel is but the rooms, furniture, beds are like in new condition. Staff very friendy. Small but adequate fitness room. Plenty of parking. Easily located.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at ground level if you have lots of luggage. Makes for ease for unloading and load...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonaldE862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Ronald E862,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have been around a long time but try to update our property regularly. We do have a friendly staff who try to make your stay a pleasant one.
Hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely
Jean LaForge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

An older but well-kept hotel. Pleased with cleanliness of rooms and pool/hot tub. Very welcome after a very long day of travelling from Ontario. Two teenagers in tow and they were happy too. Breakfast good for all. Very helpful upon our arrival to provide local pizza delivery recommendations. Will stay again if ever travelling this way again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Jakeez,
I was pleased to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. A lot of families enjoy our property because of all the things that kids can do. Our cleaning staff do a great job with the rooms. Our front desk and restaurant staff make our clients feel right at home.
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely
Jean LaForge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Have been staying at this hotel for the past 20 years now on our way from Toronto to Cape Breton and back but this year will be the last. The bathroom in the room we were in this summer flooded everytime the people in the room above us flushed their toilet. No discount was offered for having to put up with toilet water pouring down on us all night, not even an apology.Then one of their staff almost side swipes me in the parking lot as he is cutting across parking spots, when I try and talk to him about it all I get is attitude from him, great way to deal with your customers. Then I get my Visa bill in the mail and they double charge me for the night we stayed there on the way down. The quality in this Quality Inn does not exsist anymore and even though they allow pets to stay there I would not even let my dog spend a night in this hotel.

Shame on you for letting this hotel get to this stage and shame on you for hiring crooks to run your hotel.

The Hill Top in Grand Falls will get all my business moving forward. I have advised all in our family about our bad experience and they will no longer be booking into this Quality Inn either.

Dave LeBlanc

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Dear Mr. LeBlanc,
I was sorry to hear that you had a subpar stay with us in July. Usually our staff registers any guest complaints and steps are taken to correct them, but I saw nothing marked in the book regarding your stay. Nevertheless I am sorry that it was not addressed while you were on site and I’m sure we can come to some sort of compromise.
I would also like to discuss with you what happened in the parking lot and get to the bottom of that incident.
I do however take exception to your comments about us being crooks. An honest mistake was made on your invoice and we corrected it the same day you called to inform us of this mistake. My parents started this business 47 years ago and worked very hard to build relationships with their clientele. As you mentioned you have stayed here for 20 years so we must have done a lot of things right to earn your trust. I would hate to see a loyal client leave us after one unfortunate stay.
I would like to have the opportunity to discuss this further with you and after our discussions if you still feel the same way then I’ll at least get the chance to thank you in person for your patronage during the last two decades. I can be reached at 1888-473-1300 during normal business hours.
Sincerely
Jean LaForge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had to stop and rest because of the storm and I must say the Bed and clean linens were a welcome sight . The room clean and inviting. One thing bothers me is the rugs in Hotel rooms
I always worry because of allergies. I cant say anything but nice things about this Hotel. The complimentary breakfast was very nice .Food that would satisfy most families .We were there for five hours only however could see how clean and nice the Hotel was You would make no mistake to stay at this Hotel

Room Tip: room28 had two beds ,seem to be quiet and nice ,it was just off the parking. We didn't mind, was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nannamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Nannamv,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. It is comments such as yours that keep us going and want to improve our product so other people can enjoy our property just like you did.
Hope you had a nice vacation and we are looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely
Jean LaForge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were there with another couple on the night of August 5, and had a totally different experience than the softball teams, our check in was pleasant and efficient, the clerk even walked us to the door to the parking area and pointed out the easiest way to our room. We had a great meal in the dining room that evening, best lobster roll ever!. The next morning it was evident that the hotel was busy and it seemed that everybody was getting an early start so the breakfast area was definitely overcrowded, however staff were doing their best to cope with the rush and making extra tables available in the bar area. We, and our friends understood the situation and long lines and were quite satisfied with our breakfast and with the service. This is not a 4 star hotel, but it was clean and a bit more than what we expected for the price. When travelling with a large group of young people, some inconveniences should be expected, some patience is required, and an understanding that other people may be inconvenienced!

Room Tip: Book ahead and specify non-smoking. Check ahead for policy on pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear 07goodtogo

First of all Thank you, yours are the kinds of comments we usually receive from our guests. I was working that particular weekend and we were extremely busy. It`s comforting to know that some people understand certain situations and can take an objective look at the big picture.

As hoteliers we are at the mercy of the of the social media craze. When I attended our last convention in Las Vegas I wanted to stay at New York New York because of it`s central location. Most people would have never stayed there after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Fortunately I understood most of those complaints and booked our stay there regardless of all the negativity. It was one of my best stays in Vegas.

Your review confirms that our entire staff works hard to accommodate guests. Our Gold Award places us in the top 10% of all choice hotels across Canada. We are proud of our accomplishments and will keep on giving our best service to our loyal guests.

Thank you again for your kind words and hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Jean LaForge
Manager
Quality Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Old but well-kept hotel with conference rooms and separate cottages. Comfortable beds but they are double, not queen. Breakfast was great with home-made baked beans and good muffins. However, fruit was canned bread was of mass production quality. It was very nice to eat with pottery & metal utensils instead of the ubiquitous plastic found in most hotels with breakfast included. Only downside was being misled by the description "Lake View" for which I paid an extra $10. The "lake" is actually a large pond between the motel and the separate cottages on the property. Don't bother paying extra unless you're staying for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebljc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean L, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Lebljc
Thank you for the nice comments. Most people enjoy our hot and cold deluxe breakfast. A lot of people ask for our lake view rooms especially with a balcony where they can sit at night and watch all activities around our pond. Hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jean LaForge
Manager
Quality Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Falls
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
Hill Top Motel & Restaurant
#2 of 4 in Grand Falls
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Leo
Motel Leo
#3 of 4 in Grand Falls
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Maple Tourist Home Bed & Breakfast
9.1 mi away
Daigle's Motel & Restaurant
Daigle's Motel & Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Saint Leonard
40 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
Cote's Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Grand Falls
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 10039 Route 144, Grand Falls, New Brunswick E3Y 3H5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Grand Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Grand Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn is a beautiful property located along the scenic Saint John River Valley. Ideally located close to downtown Grand Falls and its majestic falls and gorge. The property is only 5km from Grand Falls Golf Club and New Brunswick's hidden gem. Restaurant and lounge Pres du Lac is on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Grand Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing