We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mashed potato ad infinitum but a fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here with a Leger coach tour of Ireland. It is a lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Everything was clean and the room large and comfortable with tea and coffee and bath lotions etc. The curtains were light which was a good idea as much of the furniture was dark. The pool was a good size for a country hotel but this whole area does need refreshing. Wi fi is only available in the lobby. Old fashioned TV but we didn't need it anyway. Food was very good but their only way of serving potatoes was mashed; tasty but it palled by the 5th day. The staff were helpful and friendly. There was a room by the bar to sit and read. There was supposed to be live music but it wasn't well advertised and we missed it which was a shame. The golf course looked to be very good quality.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I played golf here while on a visit to the area. It was open to non-members (green fees €10 to play 9 holes & €15 to play 18, club & buggy hire also avail at reasonable prices). It is a very well kept and picturesque golf course with a number of good par 4s and par 5s, water hazards, bunkers, etc to make it interesting. Staff were friendly and welcoming as were other players in the course.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Dundrum house is a period house set in beautiful grounds, our room 128 was comfortable and spotless, however the bathroom was disabled equipped, I commend all facilities for disabled people, but we found it difficult to use the wash basin as it was set very low, I found it impossible to have a shave without kneeling.
Much more of a problem was the fire doors, I realise the importance of fire doors being closed, but the mechanism is faulty and the one outside our door closed with a large bang everytime it was used, this is a real problem if you want a good night's sleep.
Over all the hotel could do with a facelift, the food in the hotel's Lady Clemtines Restaurant was lovely, the set menu we thought was good value, the staff were very pleasant and attentive, the leisure facilities were great, it must be a golfers heaven ( we are not)

Room Tip: Rooms do not have WiFi in room but do in public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVIDMCKEOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed on their 3 nights dinner bed & breakfast package. What a bargain! If you want a techie break - WIFI, TV - then this isn't the place for you. But if you want great food, relaxing atmosphere, great service then come on down.

The leisure centre is great. The golf course is in superb nick and way better than a lot of other courses in Ireland at the moment.

In terms of value it is impossible to beat. Check their Golden Years page for cost. The dinner the first night was nearly a mistake there was so much. Wine starts at €18.50 a bottle and is good.

Dundrum is not the centre of the universe but has culture and heritage close by and a city just a short drive away. We went as a couple looking for a break and we got it.

Hope to be back in the near future and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to relax. A special word for the staff who were great.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Fintan_Mac_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

First of all, we had a great break away with my two little people.

The entrance on the main gate, first impression-beautiful surroundings. Could see straight away - very well maintained grounds.

Reception/breakfast staff very friendly. Only last morning one of the girls was very rude and seemed very annoyed. Other then that-superb service. Good choice of hot/cold food. Also one of the mornings apple juice was out of date, told to staff, changed immediately and apologised.

Ate just once in Venue bar. Very tasty food. Seemed very busy with golfers/residents. Once again one waitress seemed very unhappy and impolite-put us off to come back.

Leisure centre-awesome. No complains. Pool good quality, changing room warm. Very enjoyable time.

Play room-OMG. What a spot. My two little people was in the heaven. One of them took a part on summer camp, and hand a blast!! Big thanks to the two lovely ladies-Ciara and Laura(hope I got the names right). Gustas said Hello both of you!!!

Room-the only one one thing we have complain to. Door very heavy and closes so noisy and harsh-unsafe for kids. Shower far away too strong, could not take a proper shower either my kids or me. Washed my hair in leisure centre. No wifi, no even signal on telephone. Only 4 channels. In other words go to bed at 9pm;)) it might be the reason as we stayed on basement/ground floor. Everybody who was passing our room could see us. And please clean the spiders in the bathroom!!! That doesn't take much time.

All in all we had a good time. Kids were happy and relaxed.

Also thanks to Dolores for the professional communication and quick respond. Nice job!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mylima26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed in the lodges for 2 nights for a family wedding. Accommodation was clean, spacious and relaxing. Great facilities such has golf course, gym and pool. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute midweek family break. It seemed to be just right. A hotel with a leisure centre, golf course and apartments/houses on site.
However, if they would like more family business they will need to invest in some on site facilities. A pool table in the bar or a games room would be good. A tennis court, playground, mini golf even. Just something that might fill a few hours for the kids.
We stayed in a two bedroom house. Beautiful accommodation and well finished and equipped with all mid cons. Though no internet/wifi. This was a little disappointing for our teenager!!!! :(
The Venue bar was very pleasant, if a little subdued, very nice staff and a really good menu, plenty of choices and good value.
Everything we ordered was delicious.
The golf course is well maintained and the staff in the pro shop were very enthusiastic to help.
Reception staff on arrival and departure were very pleasant, efficient and friendly.
Highly recommended if you want to get away from everything.
Cashel is a 15 minute drive and 25 minutes drive to the stunning Glen of Aherlow.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ColandTer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dundrum
6.3 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
618 reviews
8.2 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
22.8 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
13.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Thurles
393 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort

Address: | Cashel, Dundrum, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Dundrum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Dundrum
Price Range: £81 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Georgian Manor House was built in 1730 for the bride of Lord Hawarden, the Earl of Montalt where ancient Irish chieftains, the O'Dwyers of Kilnamanagh once held the land. At the beginning of the century a religious order bought the property and in 1978, the Crowe family bought the house and adjoining lands that lay along the Multeen River.Located in the 'Golden Vale' this resort is located in the heart of Co Tipperary, 8 miles (13K) from Cashel Town, steeped in heritage, in one of the most picturesque settings. As you can imagine, this luxury country house hotel Tipperary is a wonderful country retreat, with old world charm and atmosphere. The Manor House was restored to it's former glory and the resort's ongoing property development provide, modern day comforts in a setting that retains the finest of the old. Absorb the history and beautiful antiques that adorn the manor bedrooms, drawing room, lounge and restaurant. This hotel seamlessly blends modern day living with modern bedrooms, health and leisure centre, wedding venue and spacious holiday homes, with old world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dundrum House Hotel, Golf and Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundrum House Hotel, Golf And Leisure Hotel Dundrum
Dundrum House Hotel, Golf And Leisure Resort County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing