We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent accommodation, outstanding food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathmullan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathmullan House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathmullan
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent accommodation, outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed at Rathmullan House for three nights last week, my first visit and, I hope, not my last. The accommodation is excellent, bedrooms are spacious, well furnished and with extremely comfortable beds. Very welcoming sitting rooms with open fires contribute to the relaxing environment of the House. The staff, all of them, are exceptionally pleasant and friendly, competent and well-informed. The breakfast menu is extensive and everything is top quality. The evening meals are also superb, drawing on an abundance of organic, local produce.

The long, sandy beach is within sight of the front door and the picturesque village of Rathmullan just a short stroll away.

Everything about Rathmullan House evokes a sense of wellbeing, peacefulness, quality and a real home-from-home atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186470Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    81
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
117
198
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Since sampling Rathmullan's tasty food at Electric Picnic a few times I had been keen to stay in Rathmullan House. And the stay lived up to all expectation. A comfortable house with old world charm and a nice array of sitting rooms for residents to lounge in, each with its own individual style. Dinner was good and service excellent. The bedroom was nice with four poster bed and old furniture. The curtains in the bedroom did not close fully but once mentioned at reception the problem was sorted out. Breakfast was excellent- the highlight- with homemade granola, jams, bread, banana bread, locally sourced items of all sorts. The cooked Irish breakfast was a little smaller than expected but generally portions were generous and it was all very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Rathmullen House is the perfect place to unwind and relax. The various sitting rooms have welcoming fires, board games and privacy. We spent a lovely afternoon playing games having drinks and ordering a faultless lunch without having to leave our fireside nook. (it was Christmas and outside wasn't very inviting!). We were given the amazing suite at the top of the hotel which was a lovely touch as it was a special weekend. The staff were very helpful and we both had vigourous massages, very well done. My only gripe was at dinner and it has coloured what was otherwise a perfect weekend. I had a john dory as my main and delicious as it was I couldn't eat it because there were so many tiny and treacherous bones, which I had to discover by dislodging one from my throat. I was upset and told the waitress who took it away. This is the part that annoyed me most....it wasn't mentioned again. No apology or explanation or feedback from the kitchen. I wasn't offered anything else to eat, not that I wanted that but the gesture was important.
Now the bill for our one night stay was more than I've spent on some holidays. I could put something like this behind me if it was inferior service to be expected elsewhere but I think what brings people back to Rathmullen is the standards of its service. I felt let down and after an otherwise faultless stay, dissappointed.
I'm not sure I'd go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veela666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We had a wonderfully relaxed weekend at Rathmullan House recently. We had booked a superior room which was very large, with lovely table & chairs at the floor to ceiling window. This meant we could sit and enjoy the view while we ate the homemade cookies provided along and were also able to watch with interest some of the kitchen staff cutting what turned out to be wild garlic from the hotel grounds. We saw it featured on the evening menu - very fresh.

The bathroom is also huge, with a free standing bath & good, strong shower.

We ate in the restaurant the first night, but first an amuse bouche was served in one of the sitting rooms, and that's where you also order from. You only go to your table when the food is ready to be served which was such a nice relaxed way to do it. We did the full 3 courses and enjoyed them all - pork belly was delicious. Your coffee & a lovely piece of fudge are served back in the lounge.
We also ate in the bar on another night. Paul, the barman, is kept very busy but remains professional and friendly throughout...he was the stand out staff member.

Breakfast was excellent, a great selection of cereals & fruits, ham, cheese and then hot food to order. We did take the briefest of swims in the pool because we found it on the cold side.

The location on the beach is hard to beat...great for a walk after all that food. It's an easy walk to Rathmullan village as well.

I would love to be back there right now, enjoying the beautiful Donegal scenery, eating all that wonderful food, having a glass of wine by the fire and walking on the beach. Go there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Spent three nights recently at Rathmullan House exploring Co. Donegal and enjoyed every minute of it. The customer service was outstanding, the food delicious and the scenery stunning (although the hotel cannot take credit for this!) A huge thank you to the Wheeler familiy for looking after us so well. A bit on the downside is that it s a little on the expensive side but we were looked after so well that it was worth it - we look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vittorio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh , Scotland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from a fab weekend in Rathmullan House Hotel in sunny Donegal.
We stayed 3 nights bed & breakfast over the St Patricks holiday weekend in Room 4 on the 1st floor looking out to the beach & Loch Swilly.
On arriving Friday night after the long drive from Scotland via the Cairnryan to Larne ferry. Well pooped we were shown to our massive room with a massive bed.
The room had enough room for a couch at the end of the bed another sitting area with a small coffee table & more chairs. All this without feeling overcrowded.
A Kettle with a cookie jar & a couple of freshly made chocolate chip cookies. ( Smashing )
The bathroom had a full size roll top bath & a big shower with great pressure.
Be careful in the bathroom as the full length widow next to the toilet could catch you out!!
It looks out over the gardens where guests like to roam about in good weather.
We had a lovley meal in the cellar bar. I had the steak which was cooked perfectly & my better half had a massive lamb shank that was melt in your mouth.
The only let down was the Pannacotta was not set i.e. wattery & had to be returned.
We also had a beautiful meal in Resturant on the Sunday night that was perfect up till a rubbery pannacotta was served up.
Pannacotta disaster twice in a weekend, what is the chances??
If you ignore this it was a smashing weekend with very attentive staff in a smashing hotel of historical interest.
They were very understanding & polite & never charged for any deserts over the weekend. All the sitting rooms had real fires that were burning on arrival & were even lite every morning during our stay.
The breakfast choise was megga. They even brought out a full honey roast ham & had loads of freshly baked breads.
We will stay in Rathmullan House if & when we return to Donegal & would recommend it to anybody that can afford it. We never got a chance to try the pool out but it looked fab.

Room Tip: Room 4 is a Superior room on the 1st floor ( top left when looking at the hotel from the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleggy Broon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

You will love it...no other words needed! The town of Rathmullan is gorgeous as well as the surronding areas with plenty to do!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathmullan
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
3.3 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
23.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
13.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathmullan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmullan House

Property: Rathmullan House
Address: Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathmullan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathmullan House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmullan House is situated on the shores of Lough Swilly in Co. Donegal. With a 2 mile sandy beach at the bottom of the gardens it is a perfect spot to enjoy the outdoors. All 32 bedrooms are individually styled from romantic garden rooms to adjoining family rooms. The Weeping Elm Restaurant provides a fine setting for Kelan McMichaels modern cooking as well as the award winning breakfast for which Rathmullan is justly famous. Menus are based on using the freshest ingredients in season from local artisan producers and from the hotels walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathmullan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathmullan House Hotel Rathmullan
House Rathmullan
Rathmullan Hotel
Rathmullan House County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing