We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Weekend October 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathmullan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rathmullan House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathmullan
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend October 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Rathmullan's quirky decor, cosy atmostphere, open fires and excellent food and drink cannot be matched. After many pre-wedding visits and stays at Rathmullan, my now-husband and I got married in the Ceremony Room at Rathmullan then held the 120 person reception in the Weeping Elm. To say we had a fantastic day is an understatement. It rained cats and dogs but Mark and his team kept our guests in perfect cosy comfort from start to finish. We have been inundated with compliments on behalf of Rathmullan's food. It was important to us that food (and beer) was locally sourced and of the highest standard which Rathmullan pulled off with aplomb. No one can quite work out how 100 beef fillet steaks were cooked and delivered to order but as if by magic they did.

The day after the wedding we arranged what turned out to be a fabulous master class with Kelan the head chef who should a group of us how to prepare and cook several delicious and sustainable fish. Later on we had a completely delicious BBQ - the food was as tasty and satisfying as the wedding breakfast had been.

Of course our guests were spoilt for choice of outdoor activities. The tourists amongst them really enjoyed touring the local area and the beach lovers all got a (cold!) swim and beautiful walks. Our guests all enjoyed their stays and again I have heard nothing but compliments regarding their bedrooms.

Further evidence of Rathmullan going above and beyond the call of duty. I managed to leave my passport in the room before travelling back to Glasgow and would not have been able to travel on honeymoon if one of the members of staff had not brought the passport to a meeting point in the middle of nowhere to meet my father-in-law after the end of her shift.

Thank you, Rathmullan House for a fabulous weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review. First and foremost congratulations again on your wedding and we hope you enjoyed your honeymoon. We passed on your kind words to the kitchen and are delighted that we could help make your day special.

Hope to see you both back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    81
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
117
198
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holywood
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights between Christmas and new year in family room. Fabulous place , open fires in all rooms downstairs with newspapers etc.. Food fabulous - especially the breakfasts !! Staff were so welcoming - especially Kathleen - true Donegal hospitality .
That's our fourth visit and will definitely return !

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mojocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I passed on your comments to Kathleen who was very appreciative of your kind words.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a business event. It's just too remote for this kind of thing. Good if you've a family get together. Wifi irratic. Bedrooms ok, warm. Bathroom nice but hot water an odd big water yellow hue.
Bar food nice but pricy. Breakfast good. Stunning scenery and walks

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrewv45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

With regards to the water, it comes from a peat bog. Upon arriving to the hotel the water is filtered, It does still hold a slight yellow colour but it is perfectly safe to use.

Hope to see you back again.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My family stayed in this hotel in August 2013 for 4 nights. We live in Dubai, and the other families we were meeting at RHH live in Malaysia and the US respectively. From the second I began the booking process, Michael could not have been more helpful - trying to co-ordinate the best rooms for our visit, knowing we were part of a large group . We were not disappointed. And neither were our friends. The adjoining family rooms were superb - and spotlessly clean. The staff were all wonderful, the setting is majestic and the food was out of this world. The kids (all 10 of them) played football in the grounds, climbed trees, played on the beach, went fishing, and were NEVER made to feel like they were bothering the staff (which I am sure on occasion they may have been!) Upon returning from the fishing trip, the kids (and dads!) were delighted to have caught a fair amount of mackerel. You can imagine how proud 5 little boys were when the head chef told them their catch could be served in the restaurant that night with their permission. Literally fresh off the boat, the chef's delight truly illustrated that serving exceptional, fresh, local produce is the heart and soul of this hotel. Breakfast was also a treat. Our lovely waitress asked if my 8 month old liked 'Ready Brek' and I told her he had never tried it. Next morning at my table a box of it was there which she had taken from her house for me "my grandson loves it - try some.." I could type for hours about this spectacular, family orientated gem of a hotel. Having travelled around Asia and residing in the Middle East, we have been lucky enough to experience many amazing, picture perfect hotels, but Rathmullan House is my top spot. Why? Setting is of course important and the boxes are ticked there, but for me it was the famous Irish hospitality that Rathmullan House hotel delivers in abundance that makes this hotel my number 1 choice. Ps A word also for Babysitter Barbara (the staff at the hotel provide her number). She is fantastic and the kids adored her.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have passed on your kind words to staff and Barbara and we hope to see you back again soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have stayed quite a few times here and i just love the place. My favourite time to go is in the Winter when all the fires are lit and the place is so cosy and warm.
The rooms are stunning,,each one different and comfortable....and include the popular Molton Brown products,,a big plus to many ladies.
No matter what you eat the food is delicious,,with an amazing selection.
Staff are always friendly and eager to please.
I just love my time at Rathmullan and hope to return soon. xx

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are blessed with our location of peace and tranquility. Hope to see you back again soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Visited Rathmullan house for dinner in Sep 13. Beautiful old house, situated beside beach in Rathmullan - relaxing surroundings. My husband and I visited due to a reccomendation from a relative...Oh Dear!...All seemed well when our order was taken in the bar area as it was lovely, but the resturant was in it's own time zone! Upon entering the resturant you pass 2 large circular tables laden with bottles of spirits...weird...perhaps an appropiate bar could be built? The food was old fashioned hotel food...not resturant standard by any means..my husband said his steak was a tough, cheap cut of beef. We had 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 1/2 bottle of house red and 1 pint - £105.00 sterling!!!! I've had 3 courses and drinks in Deans Resturant, Belfast for similar cost and the food in Rathmullan House is so, so poor in comparison. Won't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ECinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us.

We hope to see you in the near future should you change you feel like returning.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had a fantastic 80th birthday party here with family and had our private drawing room for cocktails then a fantatsic meal afterwards...everything from the wine to the marigold leaves in the butter was delicious and i that's not your scene there was a live band playing in an intimarte wine cellar. The walk across the beach 2 minutes away and the boat ride was a fantastic start to the evening

Room Tip: We did not stay but all are apparently fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ells1090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your time here. We always try to make the lounges very relaxing and are glad you enjoyed the food.

We hope next time you decide to stay and get a taste of one of our unique bedrooms.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathmullan
15.6 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
3.3 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
23.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
13.8 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathmullan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmullan House

Property: Rathmullan House
Address: Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rathmullan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathmullan House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmullan House is situated on the shores of Lough Swilly in Co. Donegal. With a 2 mile sandy beach at the bottom of the gardens it is a perfect spot to enjoy the outdoors. All 32 bedrooms are individually styled from romantic garden rooms to adjoining family rooms. The Weeping Elm Restaurant provides a fine setting for Kelan McMichaels modern cooking as well as the award winning breakfast for which Rathmullan is justly famous. Menus are based on using the freshest ingredients in season from local artisan producers and from the hotels walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rathmullan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathmullan House Hotel Rathmullan
House Rathmullan
Rathmullan Hotel
Rathmullan House County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing