We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way”
Review of Rathmullan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathmullan House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for four days in April 2014 with a friend who was going to a wedding nearby. As two ladies travelling together we were given beautiful large rooms with four poster beds next to each other. These were on the ground floor which meant that we could meet on the terrace outside our rooms for drinks etc. which was very pleasant. We had some meals in the main dining room and the food was excellent and the portions huge and the food very hot and well cooked. One evening we ate in the Cellar Bar which just does pizzas and we enjoyed its informality and also tasting the local beers which are a speciality here. The young men serving there were friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were again excellent - cooked fresh to order - not having been stood on a hot plate buffet style going cold as is so common in hotels these days. The portions were huge. In addition there was a plentiful supply of fruit, yoghurt, bread, jams, cheese etc. on a side table.
The surrounding scenery is exquisite and the gardens and beech very pleasant. We particularly liked sitting by the open fires in the evening with a pre or post prandial.
A very enjoyable stay and we would gladly return there.

Room Tip: Did not see the upstairs rooms but the ground floor ones are very pleasant especially with access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 627EileenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Travelled from Northern Ireland for day trip as weather good. Stopping here for lunch - had booked but probably wasn't necessary although we were told the Easter weekend had been busy. Couldn't have had better attention and service for an excellent lunch in the dining room. Had walk around beautiful grounds down to beach which is close by. We had medley of fish selection fresh and perfectly cooked. Good wine list and reasonably priced by glass, carafe or bottle. Did not stay so cannot comment on rooms but definitely worth a visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SurgMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went to rathmullan house for bar food recently. We had heard many good reports of rathmull an house and the food. We arrived in a near empty bar and were told we would have to wait while the waiter checked to see if it was ok for us to eat as we weren't residents. We were told we could stay, but could only order from the lunch menu. This was at 6.30 pm. I found this very strange, and though the food we had was good, it would not encourage me to visit again in any capacity.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kath97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed April 4-11 and I have to say it was one of the best travel experiences I have experienced. The Inn and the grounds are beautiful with many places to cozy up to a fire or sit in the garden depending on the weather. The friendly staff are consistently taking care of every detail to make you comfortable, yet are not intrusive. The rooms are large, but also cozy and nicely furnished with comfortable beds and pillows. The bay wraps around the Inn so every room has Views of the gardens and water, with balconies or patios. The food was excellent and beyond expectations. We had breakfast every day, several lunches and dinners. Through the week I ordered beef (very tasty, tender and perfectly done), seafood and fish with wonderful sauces, tender flavorful chicken, and tasty lamb. The soups were delicious. Also there were always very tasty gluten-free and dairy-free options available. During the week there was only one thing I was served that did not live up to excellence. I had a "mini" creme brulee that was soupy, but other desserts were very good. I am so very impressed with every aspect of this lovely Inn.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely and all are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

A few weeks ago we booked a Table for 4 Adults for dinner for the 16th March 2014.We arrived about 6.45pm and the House looked amazing and beautiful with lovely open fires. Dinner very disappointing Starters were ok, Steaks were tough vegetables very poor. It is the first Place we have visited that there was a 10% Service Charge. No Dress Code. My husband and I travel all over Ireland on breaks but for food this would not be top of the list. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 461Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Having heard great reviews about Rathmullen I was a little disappointed. I felt that the chorizo salad was a little costly for what I got. The fillet was warm but not hot. The cappuccino dessert was lovely. But it's the little things that I was more disappointed with. No back ground music in the restaurant, nearly drove past it as the sign was not lit up at the entrance, a bit dark outside, no uniform for the staff, chips were over cooked. All in all it was ok and my party felt the same.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank LovinService1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have been back to this hotel on many occasions and I can honestly say it gets better every time we go.
From the moment you go through the door it's like going home. The staff make you feel so welcome and special no matter how busy they are or nothing is ever a bother.
The rooms are spacious with plenty of character. Both standard rooms and superior rooms have plenty of comfort.
As for the food, delicious, simple as that. The Cellar Bar has simple but tasty dishes at reasonable prices. The main restaurant serves locally sourced produce all year round, some so locally that they take it from their own walled garden. Breakfast is my favourite time, and I can say very happily that I don't think I have every had better.
Anyone considering this hotel, don't bother just book it, I don't think you would be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 23 or 25 gives a nice Veiw across the gardens and over Lough Swilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pbjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stayed with us. It is lovely to see our efforts to source food locally has not gone unnoticed. We hope to see you back again soon

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathmullan
9.2 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
3.4 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,922 reviews
15.6 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
861 reviews
13.8 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathmullan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmullan House

Address: Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rathmullan
Price Range: £141 - £892 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathmullan House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmullan House is situated on the shores of Lough Swilly in Co. Donegal. With a 2 mile sandy beach at the bottom of the gardens it is a perfect spot to enjoy the outdoors. All 32 bedrooms are individually styled from romantic garden rooms to adjoining family rooms. The Weeping Elm Restaurant provides a fine setting for Kelan McMichaels modern cooking as well as the award winning breakfast for which Rathmullan is justly famous. Menus are based on using the freshest ingredients in season from local artisan producers and from the hotels walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Rathmullan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathmullan House Hotel Rathmullan
House Rathmullan
Rathmullan Hotel
Rathmullan House County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing