We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drumhalla House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rathmullan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drumhalla House
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We had our wedding at Drumhalla House in June, in a marquee in the beautiful garden, and got to stay in the lovely house with our families for the weekend of the wedding. It was exactly what we were looking for in a wedding venue; a place where many guests can stay (in the formal but comfortable house), where you can have everything on site (we also had our ceremony in the garden), and get some truly beautiful photos both in the gorgeous house and in the stunning surroundings. It's located in a beautiful part of Donegal and is just a stunning place. We had so many comments from guests about how lovely the whole place was. Just perfect! I want to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank GemmaSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aidanfarrell, Owner at Drumhalla House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Gemma,
Many thanks for your positive review of Drumhalla House. It is very much appreciated.
Regards,
Aidan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for 1 week in July. The house is ideally located with stunning views. The perfect location for exploring North east Donegal. The house had lovely high ceilings and was tastefully decorated. It had a very high standard of cleanliness. Would recommend to anyone looking for a nice place to stay in Donegal.

Waterford

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Had the privilege of staying in this stunning location for 5 days in June 2013. The Location and surrounding areas are 'breathtaking', The House has the benefit of being secluded yet within walking distance of Rathmullen. Drumhalla House has been sympathetically restored to an excellent standard and was perfect for the large wedding party of which we were lucky to be part of. Lough Swilly provides a stunning backdrop to this glorious location which has an impressive beach within a 2 minute walk. In all, totally awesome!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Spend a week over Christmas in the main house. Brilliant place and the family loved every minute of it.

Great walk from the beach into the main town (wait until the tide is out so the rocks are climbable)

Open fires in both lounge and sitting room areas made it feel so homely.

Go into Rathmullan village. Very nice pubs and made to feel very welcome by the locals

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I had the pleasure of spending several days on this estate which is set beside sandy beaches and on the shores of Lough Swilly.
This serene and seculded location is matched by the superb accomodation and spacious grounds which, with their seductive charm, provided the perfect stress free zone.
I've visited many estates around the country but this one trumps the lot.
I'll be back.
Nigel H.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

A group of us stayed at Drumhalla House and we had an amazing time. A truly hidden gem in a beautiful setting over looking Lough Swilly in Donegal. The hospitality shown to us was second to none. There are 3 separate houses in one with connecting rooms (if required) finished to a very hig spec. The Houses are finished to a very hig standard. It is a wonderful get away and stress free zone. Port Salon is a wonderful golf links course within 10 miles of the house and it has a quirky 9 hole golf course within a few minutes drive of the house. The house itself is within its own grounds , you can enjoy walks amongst its 40 acres through a forest or a just cross the road to enjoy a nearly secluded beach. The owner kindly offered to bring our group out on his large boat at no cost for a trio of Lough Swilly. An unforgettable experience. I could no recommend this place highly enough - Definately will make a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Anne11111_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

I was part of a large Sports group on a weekend get away from Dublin, Drumhalla House was perfect for what we needed, beautifully located near the beach in Rathmullan with spectacular views of the lough. The house with its history and beautiful gardens renovated to the highest specs is one of the best self catering facilities anywhere in Ireland. I couldn't recommend Drumhalla House highly enough.
Con D
Dublin

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Con J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathmullan
0.0 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 2 in Rathmullan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumhalla House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumhalla House

Property: Drumhalla House
Address: Drumhalla House Drumhalla House Drumhalla House Killygarvan Bridge, Rathmullan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Rathmullan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Drumhalla House was originally built in 1789 by Dr Knox of Lifford. The house and grounds have now been beautifully restored by the present owners and offer luxury self catering holiday accommodation. The House offers superior holiday accommodation and is available for hire as a complete entity or as individual properties and holiday homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drumhalla House Rathmullan, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing