We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely! Already Looking Forward To Returning”
other travellers have booked this property
Our beautiful cottage on the Wild Atlantic Way
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our beautiful cottage on the Wild Atlantic Way
Outside the cottage - there is parking for several cars
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Our beautiful cottage on the Wild Atlantic Way
Outside the cottage - there is parking for several cars
Traditional Donegal style fireplace
The mantle shelf
This is the double sofa bed
A selection of vintage artwork
The cottage is full of paintings and prints and family pieces
The second bedroom has a double bed and sofa and flat screen TV for watching DVDs
Antique dresser
The main bedroom has an en-suite shower room with power shower
The main bedroom is furnished with antique and vintage pieces
The smallest bedroom is very cosy and still manages to accommodate a double bed
Sink into this sofa after a day's sightseeing in beautiful south Donegal
There's plenty of room to spread out and enjoy a drink in the living room
The main bathroom has a full sized tub
There is a separate shower cubicle
The large eat in kitchen - the antique Victorian table can be extended to seat eight people
The kitchen is fully equipped with modern conveniences
Glengesh Pass four minutes drive from the cottage
Tramore Beach about 15 minutes drive from the cottage
Slieve League cliffs 30 minute drive away
Rainbow over Glengesh
Slieve League from the cottage
View from the front door
Uninterrupted views of the rugged Donegal landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ardara, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
coolabool...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely! Already Looking Forward To Returning”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A pretty, cosy, comfortable cottage in the wilds of Donegal. We were there for three nights in March 2016 and we really enjoyed our stay. Though we had good weather during our stay and took the opportunity to explore the beautiful local scenery and walks, we spent most of our holiday cosied up at the cottage reading in front of the fire.

Booking was straightforward and the host was friendly and responsive.

The cottage is really well-equipped. I especially appreciated the electric blanket. The bed in the room with the en suite is very comfortable. There are two other bedrooms, both with double beds. The bathrooms were clean and well-appointed with a bath and separate shower cubicle in the main bathroom and a shower cubicle in the en suite. Everything is on the one floor though there is one step up to both the front door and back door.

The kitchen is big and fully equipped for preparing and cooking meals. There are even some store cupboard essentials such as sugar, salt, pepper, oil, tea and coffee.

The living room is very pretty and cosy. There are well-stocked bookshelves and two comfortable 2-seater couches. It might be a tight squeeze if there were six people but it was perfect for the two of us (Penny the Dog travels with her own bed). We flopped out on a couch each in front of the fire.

The wifi is under the bed in the blue room - it took us a while to find that! The connection is fine for emailing and regular surfing but don't plan on any data-heavy surfing like streaming Netflix. But if you want to watch films there's DVD player and TV set along with a library of DVDS to choose from.

Note that the cottage is indeed in a remote location. I think it would be tricky to manage without a car (or you'd want to be a very fit cyclist or hiker to make it from the cottage to the nearest village, Ardara, with the steep, winding roads and wild, windy weather) There's a Centra (grocery shop) in Ardara that's pretty well stocked so you'll be able to pick up food and fuel for the fire there (turf was €3 for a big bag, coal was €7.99 for a 20kg bag).

The remote location also means that there is no phone signal. Which is great if you want to switch off properly! (Even if you're taking a sneak peak at Facebook via the wifi)

I highly recommend this cottage and I'm already looking forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynneirel...
Millisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Said we would go back and saying the same again after a second stay!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The best cottage to enjoy a weekend in Donegal with family (including dogs).

A great base to explore from and a lovely cosy living room with a fire to relax in the evenings.

We hope to go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Evenings by the fire
Liked least: having to leave to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g0rd0nire...
Portaferry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing - can't wait to go back again”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The cottage was perfect. My daughter and husband took my wife and I away for a 3 night stay, with our 2 cocker spaniels. The cottage had everything we needed - a well equipped kitchen, comfortable bedrooms, bathroom and en-suite, and a cozy living room with a roaring log and coal fire to sit, chat and play games in front of. The weather was perfect, but even if it hadn't been we would still have had a great time. The weather did allow us to explore everywhere from Donegal town, Slieve League, Glencolmcille, Ardara, Maghera Beach, Portnoo and Genveagh National Park - all within easy reach. A great cottage for relaxing and doing everything involved in a holiday in Donegal

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom O
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage was incredibly well equipped, extremely homely and in a beautiful setting. We cannot fault it at all. We were sad to leave but will definitely be back! A perfect escape for a few days

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was incredibly homely
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy B
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

What a gorgeous little cottage. Exactly what we needed to explore Donegal. After walking all day we sat and enjoyed drinks by the fire. Perfect!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParysVale...
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband and I stayed in the cottage at the end of September with our friend as part of a trip along the Wild Atlantic Way. As other reviewers have said it was lovely to be away from the electronic age for a few days and enjoy the peace and quiet. The night sky was wonderful too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeannot e...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Here is a cottage in a peaceful spot with fabulous views., very close to stunning beaches and village life.
From the moment we stepped through the door we felt extremely happy and impressed. The cottage opens into a rustic welcoming family kitchen which is indeed the hub of the cottage. Colette has furnished the cottage beautifully and it is quite simply charming!
The kitchen is so well equipped, everything is spotless and new, she has exceeded all expectations.
We felt priveledged to have been invited to stay, in such beautiful surroundings, so cosy and warm, lighting the fire and candles in the evening, reading her many books, if you are looking for romance here it is!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Colette's Limoges
Liked least: The Midges outside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing