We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with a €3 charge to park”

Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Ardara
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Disappointed with a €3 charge to park”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I have been at this beach many times but when I arrived on a cold wet afternoon in June I was asked to pay €3 to park the car. There was no-one else about and the road to get to the beach - via the waterfall is 'scary'. I was not impressed that the 'locals' are looking money to park a vehicle. I was only intending to visit the caves and back again. I declined the fee and drove away again.

At least you can park at the waterfall for free.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Andy-Cabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    18
    5
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely long beach of white sand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a gorgeous beach of long white sand and undulating dunes leading up to it. The caves are also very atmospheric. Great for building sand castles and letting kids run free. Only issue is that as tempting as it might be its a really bad idea to swim here. According to locals there is a really strong rip tide and there have been several fatalities over the last few years. There is only one sign to indicate this and we were not warned by the elderly man who took our money, despite us having a body board for our little girl. We were warned by another family visiting the beach. Enjoy- but don't swim! Go to Portnoo for this- also a fabulous beach with blue flag rating and safe for swimming and water sports.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank SJT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning beach and a great waterfall on the way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

What a fantastic beach, if the weather had been more tropical we could have pretended we were in the Carribean!
We had the place to ourselves and walked for miles across the brilliant white sands and dunes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballindalloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

beautiful clean beach with caves stay the whole day and the car parking is only £3 euro there are toilet facilities

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing pure white sandy beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We parked up and paid our €3 in the kiosk (we were provided with a leaflet and advised on how to get to the beach/caves and told to keep an eye on the tide) and used the facilities (50C) before heading along the path and boardwalk. Beach was stunning. Kids loved clambering up and down the sand dunes and rocks. We only got to see one cave as the tide was in but we totally loved our visit. You could spend all day here and, if feeling adventurous, there were some good waves for body boarding. The waterfall in my profile picture was in Ardada on the way to the caves. We had to stop off and see it. Kids were very impressed. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maghera Beach and Caves also viewed

Ardara, County Donegal
Ardara, County Donegal
 
Carrick, County Donegal
Malin Beg, County Donegal
 

Been to Maghera Beach and Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing