We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay during galway races”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
emyvale
1 review
“one night stay during galway races”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

stayed one night at this hotel - good rates during galway races. Staff friendly especially Karen the receptionist.who was exceptional. Rooms very clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was of a very good standard. Would stay here again. There is a italian restaurant on site, did not eat here but other guests told me this was good quality food at good rates.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    83
    31
    12
    17
See reviews for
29
105
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Was in Galway City for the weekend at a wedding, so decided to stay in Oranmore for a change. We were looking for something basic and of good value and this hotel ticks both boxes. The rooms are functional with all the conveniences you would expect and very clean too. The only thing that needed fixing (I didn't ask as it was minor) was the TV. Loads of sport channels (good), but no news channel, just for something on in the background.

The bar is perfect for a nice quiet pint and a newspaper, or if you're looking for other choices, walk out onto the main street (the hotel is right on it) and you've several other choices of bars and restaurants.

We didn't get to eat in the restaurant so cannot comment, but they must be doing something right, as it was extremely busy on the Saturday night. We did have breakfast on both days, which was included in the rate and that was tasty and plentiful. One great thing about breakfast, it's serviced until 11:30 on Saturday! Most hotels are finished breakfast while you're still asleep!

Not sure how much a taxi is from Oranmore to Galway as we were driving, but can't imagine it's that much, as it's only about 10 minutes in the car and it's only 2 hours from Dublin thanks to the M6.

If you're spending a few days in the west, this is a great hotel to use as your base.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry_Ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escalon, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I won't stay here again. The room was so small I couldn't even walk around the bed to close the window. Tv didn't work. When I inquired about fixing it the receptionist said jiggle the cables or she could go up there and do it for me. I didn't care that much so I let it go. No wifi. Free parking. I called down to reception for clean towels because there was hair on the ones in my room and no one answered. I called about 5 times within a couple hours. I went down to reception and no one was down there. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, MAY 2012. It was easy to find, and the proximity to Galway is excellent, a very simple drive into Galway itself (well worth a visit). The Hotel is very nice, the room was modern, very clean and because there are only 16 rooms it is not too noisy. We were able to use the hotel carpark. The breakfast was excellent, we also ate in the Bare one evening, SUPERB food! Wifi worked well in the bar area.
The biggest plus point would be the staff, lovely! especially Karen, very friendly and helpful.
negative - our shower was very noisy, worst still so was next doors! The town can look a little "rough", and not many facilities in the town, but Galway so close.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julietink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed one night here and found that the staff were lovely and the food was excellent. The room (108) was clean, modern and comfortable, however the small window overlooked the bins and had a noisy air conditioning unit which came on early in the morning.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were warm and welcoming. I would gladly stay here again and the meal in the hotel restaurant Basilico was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayNools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we went for the weekend of easter, ansd what a joyful experience .. excellent bedroom,food , and the hand on approach of the staff made us feel very welcome.. highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a relaxed ,peaceful time away ..and the entertainment in local pubs was fantastic,,,while the bar ppl in the coach house were very friendly, and pulled an excellent pint of guinness ... we will be back .. and the family room that i looked at for further booking is roomy,and done out to cater for an enjoyable time away .. oh and the food ... excellant ...

Room Tip: we had a fab room .airy,clean ,and smelling fresh ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz315879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Coach House is one of those "finds" that even the frequently traveler relishes. It's a small hotel in the heart of Oranmore, Co. Galway, Ireland. Oranmore is one of those special Irish villages that I was fortunate to discover some 15 years ago. (It's 12 to 15 minutes by car to Galway City) The Coach House's rooms are modern and spacious for starters. The staff, (ask for Karen) are fantastic and treat guests like family. There's a four star Italian restaurant that also serves a variety of local fare, and a spacious bar (ask for Simon) for watching a match, or just relaxing with friends. If you're still unsure--it's great value for money. Location, within walking distance of all shops and 5 minutes walk from Galway Bay. Facilities, modern and comfortable. Food is excellent as is the bar. People are fantastic and it's great value for money. I'm there twice a year and have never had but great experiences. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,059 reviews
3.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 45 in Galway
1,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,523 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
297 reviews
2.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Property: The Coach House Hotel
Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing