We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dining”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Regular diner at this establishment but not anymore customer service left a lot to be desired except for one young waiter whom must have been a new recruit as he was the only one that seemed to have had manners on the day!!!!! We were rushed from start to finish because we had not reserved a table- (even though there was plenty of tables free this particular afternoon from what we could see and there was no reserved signs on the tables that were booked!!!!!) the food was overcooked and tastless - it was obvious they cooked the food in a hurry to get us out, my friends and I would have socialised regularly here but from my experience today I wont be going back anytime soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    83
    31
    12
    17
See reviews for
29
106
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westmeath
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at this hotelon a Friday and Saturday night in April . We had 4 rooms booked in the hotel . We were so disappointed with our stay.
It was in an ideal location for us and we do visit quite regularly but I am afraid in the future we will have to look for alternative.

The first impression I got was a non smoking hotel with a stinking smell of stale smoke in the halls and especially in our room 109. Every where looked dirty.

The bar area also was dirty with stains on the chairs. I am sure a wee bit of elbow grease, bleach and a cloth, they could be removed.

Breakfast on sat morning was ok. I was waiting a while for it. Chairs, floors etc still dirty.

We decided to eat in the bar sat evening. Again it wasn’t great.

My brother’s room was straight across from deck and smoke was coming into the room from there and also from the window. I guess there was another smoking area outside their window. As for the other couple arriving in on top of them saying that this was their room was straight out of Fawlty Towers.

It all ended Sunday morning when we just wanted to leave. My brother’s children drink cranberry juice for breakfast and they were charged an additional €10.00 for the luxury of cranberry juice.

After breakfast we were going up in the lift, a woman got out of it and said, Threes a smell and it wasn’t me.

Again cleaning does not seem to be a priority in this establishment.

Room Tip: Don't stay there ot at view before you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LornaMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Fab spot. Really fantastic staff. Room was just gorgeous. V clean. V handy if need to be close to Galway city. Bed was so comfy. V spacious room and bathroom. Got parking along main street outside and was safe.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nilaimm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed at short notice on Friday night in the Coach House Hotel. The owner was so accommodating and helpful. We had travelled from Cork with our dog and he even accommodated him! The next day the owners sister even looked up accommodation for us that was pet friendly for our onward journey as we were having difficulties getting pet friendly accommodation. Our room was lovely and the hotel is beautiful and right in the middle of Oranmore. We were on the first floor and it was very quiet. Extremely impressed and would highly recommend this hotel. 10/10

Room Tip: we stayed on first floor looking over the carpark but it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillers30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

A lovely find in Oranmore. Have stayed a few times this past month as visiting in hospital in Galway. The bar food is the best we have ever eaten! The chicken in mushroom sauce is so good. Tried the burger special one evening but it was not so good. Service excellent and the staff are so friendly especially the girl on reception and the lady on breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionita1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband was playing in a golf competition at Athenry Golf Club earlier this week and we stayed at the Coach House Hotel for two nights. My first visit to County Galway and I will certainly be back. This is a lovely hotel and very tastefully decorated - I really liked the way each room was given a name. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and we ate in the hotel both nights - the food was very tasty and good value. There is on-site parking but the car park does fill up very quickly in the evening, so we didn't take our car out after our evening meal in case we lost our parking space.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived after long journey made to feel very welcome,the rooms are clean and have most of what
I needed
Dined in the restaurant and had some really Italian food and again good service
Breakfast was perfect I got down way before breakfast was served but had such a warm welcome and fresh coffee from guy on duty it really made for a good start to the business day

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,094 reviews
3.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
347 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,597 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Property: The Coach House Hotel
Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing