We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart functional hotel, good if you are on a business trip or road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Coach House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed in Coach House hotel for one night at the start of our Ireland holiday. The receptionist was very friendly when we arrived in the evening and our room was a good size and clean. It was windy and rainy which lead to noise from the roof, besides this the hotel wasn't very full so no noise from neighbours.
The restaurant downstairs was excellent, very friendly and great food.
When checking out the receptionist tried to pursuade us to stay for the rest of our trip, which was advise that we didn't need and we continued on our journey.
The hotel seemed good to stay in if you are going to a wedding in the area, local functions and business trips.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2009

Myself and my sister travelled from Longford for weekend. Never in Oranmore before but will definetly return. If I ever have to go to Galway again I will stay in Coach House. as It is near the city (9 Km). The hotel is small and the staff are very friendly.I have stayed in much bigger hotels but was never treated as well as here. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food in restaurant is excellent. That explains why it was so busy. Special word of thanks to Marie who treated us like royalty. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrislake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2009

I visited Galway City for a two day conference. I decided to stay in Oranmore as I was getting there late at night. The hotel receptionist was most helpful and welcoming. They have the most wonderful Italian restaurant. You can generally tell when the locals visit a restaurant, it is good. I really enjoyed that. Maybe it was the surprise of find it.
The rooms were clean and well maintained.
Next morning I got a taxi into Galway City. They could use the bus lane, so it did not take very long. Overall, a great experience and I certainly would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wexford-Men
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Coach House Hotel in Oranmore, 4 miles from Galway City, an easy bus ride. An attractive and comfortable hotel. Marie, the accommodation manager, is an angel; nothing is too much trouble for her. Her warmth, generosity, kindness and all-round hospitality alone would take us back to this place. Good Guinness and a wide range of excellent Irish whiskeys in a bar which stays open to all hours. Breakfast is relaxed and serves until 11.30. A real find.

Thank Delcini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Since the Coach House Hotel opened in July 2007, we have made it one of our regular pitstops while taking in the sights of the glorious Clare & Connemara region. It is situated in the heart of Oranmore village. This hotel is truly amazing, the staff were so friendly right from reception, where we were met by this charming young lady, who made you feel at home right through to the bar and restaurant staff. We had an amazing two nights in this hotel, on the first we dined in the Italian restaurant "Basilico" which had superb service and the food was exquiste. I cannot wait to return to the West and stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelforlife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

I picked this hotel based on it's rank on this site (currently no. 2 of 7) and I think overall I was a little disappointed. The hotel is in the middle of Oranmore village and there is limited parking in around the back.

The room was small. We had a small desk, a flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities and two bed-side lockers. The double bed was good although too soft for my liking but if you had much luggage the room would seem very cluttered very quickly.

Another problem we had which could have been worse is that it seemed we could hear people in other rooms. It looks like the hotel has been renovated recently as a lot seemed to be quite new but the locks on the doors are old-fashioned key-locks - swipe cards would have eliminated this bit of noise anyway. My partner was awoken a couple of times during the night.

We actually requested a quiet room but were told this couldn't be guaranteed as the hotel was located in the centre of the village!

The bar was good and we had a decent brakfast there. The restaraunt was full so we ate at a place called Keane's just down the street which was very good. We had a couple of beers back at the bar which had a good atmosphere. There is no gym/pool onsite which you can get with other hotels for the same price.

All up I think you can do better especially if you don't need to stay in Oranmore. We paid 85 euro and I don't think we got value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergalfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

Needless to say that it was raining when we arrived in Oranmore after a longish drive up from Kilkenny, and not having been here before did not know what to expect.
The hotel is situated on the main street in the town and was easy to find and within a short while were settled in our room, which was clean, comfortable and, as it was at the back, relatively quiet.
The bar and restaurant were welcoming and a pleasant refuge from the world outside and the food was very good. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful and as the header says, I lost my heart to the smile!!!
Oranmore is only a 10 minute bus ride from Galway and everything that is on offer there. Loved the bars which were numerous and the general buzz in the place.
Hope to return in the not too distant future as the lifestyle will surely seduce you.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mendipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,742 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
844 reviews
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,148 reviews
3.6 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Hotel

Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: £41 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Hotel ideally located in the heart of Oranmore village, just outside Galway city, is renound for its excellent accommodation and fine dining experiences. The Hotel opened in July 2007, and consists of sixteen modern en-suite bedrooms, a Bridgestone Award winning Italian restaurant "Basilico” and a newly refurbished hotel bar. Limited on site parking.This Galway Hotel’s location is ideal for the tourist providing easy access to Connemara, The Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Aran Islands and Salthill. The Coach House Hotel Galway is within 2 miles of Galway Carnmore Airport, 37 miles of Shannon Airport and with the opening of the new M6 Motorway we are within 2 hours of Dublin Airport. Many of Galway’s major Industrial Technology and Business Parks such as Deerpark, Westlink Business Park and Oranmore Business Park are within a 5km radius of the Hotel. Hotels in Galway are among the best Hotels in Ireland when it comes to professional hospitality and quality accommodation and the Coach House Hotel is no exception. The Itaian themed Basilico Restaurant is amongst the finest restaurants in Galway. The locals love the Basilico Restaurant, which is the best accolade an establishment can have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Oranmore
The Coach Hotel
The Coach House Hotel Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing