We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Ireland!”
Review of Castle View House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle View House
Ranked #3 of 9 Oranmore B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time in Ireland!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at Castleview B&B for two nights. It is a large house facing Galway Bay. The rooms are large and clean, ideal for couples and families with children. It was our second time there: Pat welcomed us in a great manner and prepared Irish breakfast every morning. Her self-made soda bread is the best we have ever eaten. We really recommend this B&B to those who wish to visit Galway, the Cliffs of Moher and the Connemara. Its central position enables you to travel and visit those fantastic places.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    15
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Hi,

This is a nice and comfortable bed and breakfast guest house. Rooms were neat and clean with all the necessary facilities. Me and my colleague stayed in this guest house for a week and we did not face any issues. The owner Patricia Collins is a very nice and helpful lady. She served wonderful breakfast and helped us a lot. We were on an official stay in Ireland. She gave us proper receipt/invoice which helped us in our claims from our company. When we were leaving, she was very kind and dropped us to our apartment in her car. Would highly recommend this guest house.

Thanks,
Mayank,
India

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MayankAg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eketahuna, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Our original booking was cancelled for family reasons but they booked us in with Pat at Castleview. I can say we were not disappointed with the substitution. Pat was most welcoming and provided a great breakfast on all 3 days we were there. Our room was comfortable with a nice view across the water to the Castle. Bathroom area was a bit small typical of rooms modified to include ensuites but functional. Overall a comfortable B&B run efficiently by a very helpful owner.

Very handy to Oranmore village for pubs and meals.

Room Tip: Request the downstairs room if you cannot handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_jambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I 'dropped in' to find a warm welcome by Pat. She only had one small room left and apologized that it wasn't larger. It was perfect. A gorgeous view of the castle, a queen bed and a single bed, plus the shower was wonderful. What more could you want. Then in the morning we had a beautiful full on Irish breakfast.

After talking to Pat on our first evening there I was telling her about the things I wanted to see. I laughingly said I wanted to ride on a jaunting car around the Lakes of Killarney after hearing all those songs from my youth in an Irish pub. Well, the next morning, there she was with her laptop and played the song I had mentioned earlier. She came over, took my hand and we danced around the room to the music! What a wonderful experience.

On our second morning she asked us what we had planned for the day, and when finding out that we missed Connemara, sent us packing up for the day. She told us not to miss out on Kylemore Abbey, the town where they filmed The Quiet Man, and the Castle where Ronald Regan stayed. She couldn't have been a more perfect hostess.

Pat's home is warm and welcoming. She is like your favorite aunt or sister. Her home is a hop, skip and jump to Galway and her Irish charm just made our trip even that more special. And, yes, I did get a ride in a jaunting car.

Thanks, Pat, for the memories I'll cherish forever.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraipsinTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I stayed one night and could not be happier. The lady who runs the b&b was very friendly and most helpful. Great breakfast with fantastic home made bread. Very close to the city centre of Galway with a quant little village just down the road. Only thing missing was tea making facility. Ate at the boathouse restaurant slightly upmarket but great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldies511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My brother and I stayed here for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. With a gem of a village up the road, a beautiful view of the water and a quick drive to Gallway, this the perfect place to stay. Mrs. Collins runs the B&B and is the sweetest woman and we felt more than welcomed here. Every morning she made us a delicious Irish breakfast and sat down and chatted with us and then gave us great recommendations for places to eat and see.

The house was lovely and our room had a great view. It was quaint and we felt very comfortable.

Speaking to the poor review saying she is the wicked witch of the west, I can absolutely promise Mrs. Collins is anything but. She is very kind and caring and was very interested in learning about us and our travels.

All in all we were extremely happy here and would recommend Castle View Inn to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night (14 July 2013) and were greeted and treated very nicely by Mrs. Collins. We both had a good night's sleep and both enjoyed our breakfast. We enjoyed meeting others at the breakfast table and had a happy chat together.

Mrs Collin's homemade bread was delicious and there was no limit to the amount of food offered.

Thank you Pat - we would be very happy to stay again if in your area.

Hilary Millar.

Room Tip: Ground floor room suited limited mobility and had shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,682 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
875 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View House

Property: Castle View House
Address: Galway Coast Road, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Castle View House Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing