We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We ate late”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Keanes

Keanes
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Keanes Bar and Restaurant is a family run business. Entering into a lovely stove fire, giving that extra touch to the cosy and warm atmosphere. Breakfast served Mon-Sat 10-12, Lunch from 12-6 Sun-Sat, A'la Carte 6-9 Sun-Thurs 9.30 Fri-Sat. Cater's for partys and large groups, Live Music every Sat and Trad Session every Sunday.
Silverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“We ate late”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived late in the evening (close to 8:30) and a group was seated just after we arrived. The food was good, but the service (initially was slow). Once our orders were taken (at least 15 minutes after we were seated), things did go more smoothly. I'm sure our service was slower because of the big group--and my understanding is they had a reservation--which we didn't. Therefore, I didn't rate it all that bad. It just seemed like the server could have at least brought our drinks which didn't arrive until AFTER the meal was served. The server was friendly. The place has a cool, old look. I'd definitely give it another try if I were ever back in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank atwell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    96
    25
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good quality food, for a very good price. Ample choice of dishes, excellent service. We had a wonderful evening with traditional Irish music. Frequently visited by local people, which is always a good sign.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pieter_Gouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Brought my family for meal to keanes on saturday night 31st of May. We had the most helpful waitress I have ever met.nothing was a problem an took the time to make sure we had everything we needed. A great meal was had by all.good value for money which is rare these days in ireland

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Dinner. Friendly Atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I were considering several different restaurants along the main street in Oranmore but the specials of the day caught our attention at Keanes. They had lamb shank as one special and pork chop as another. In we went.

We ordered one of each. The lamb shank was served with mashed potatoes and steamed root vegetables. The grilled pork chop (Boneless) came with chips (french fries) and slaw and salad. I asked to substitute the vegetables for the slaw and salad which they did without question.

Both dishes were served hot and well presented. My wife and I shared and we both agreed that the food was excellent. My wife asked for some additional gravy for the lamb shank and this was presented in a beautiful gravy bowl within a minute or two.

The entrees were EURO14.95 for the lamb and EURO11.95 for the pork chop. Very complete meal.

We definitely would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEGATLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We arrived on spec but were warmly greeted. Service was courteous and quick and the food lacked nothing. Three of us all had different choices and they were all well prepared and served. Looks like a pub from the outside but the interior is warmly decorated and has a good ambience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keanes also viewed

 

Been to Keanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing