We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Galway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and myself stayed in this hotel for 3 nights between Christmas and New year and found it had clean bedrooms. The staff were very friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. We used the pool and other leisure facilities and found them good. We ate at the hotel each evening and found the meals were tasty and good value. The only thing i found wrong was the rooms were too hot at night and we had to open our windows and then because of the storms i was kept awake but the times for breakfast were quite good and so i could lie in a little later than usual. All in all our experience of the hotel was a very pleasant relaxed one and we would definitely return as we got a great deal too

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granny1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Granny1962,
Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us at the Maldron Hotel Galway. I am delighted you had a relaxing break and found the Hotel to be comfortable and offering good value for money.
We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back during the year.
Happy New Year.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

737 - 743 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

Two years ago we stayed in the Maldron Hotel in Cork which was not a particularly pleasant experience and so our expectations were low. However, the 4 night package we booked here was competively priced so we decided to take a chance. Our family room was clean and spacious with a decent flat screen TV, although the camp bed for our youngest child was a bit flimsy. Bathroom was fine with a good shower.
The leisure complex was a highlight with a great swimming pool which was pleasantly warm. we visited each morning around 8.30 to 9.00 and it was virtually empty even though the hotel was full. The hotel was a bit noisy at times as it was mainly full with families with young children but it would be unfair to blame the hotel for the fact that some families let their children run riot. We had two evening meals which were nice but not spectacular.
The main downside was breakfast. We were placed in a small side room on two of the mornings which is far from ideal as you are carrying breakfast items including hot tea & coffee past families with young children who are queueing to enter the restaurant. This is really dangerous as many of the young children block the way into the small room. The staff are rushed off their feet at breakfast and it is all a bit frenetic. As for toast - forget it. One toast machine which makes warm bread rather than toast is a joke for a hotel of this size. I would consider staying here again but probably on a room only basis. It would be much less stressful to go out for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear John M.
Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us, we appreciate the feedback. I am glad to learn that overall you and your family enjoyed the stay at the Hotel. We will certainly take your comments on board and in particular we are examining the layout of the restaurant for Breakfast and how we can enhance the flow of service particularly at peak times.
Thank you for your support and we do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel in the near future.
Happy New Year
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had booked a few days away for New Year, and on arrival at the Maldron it looked ok from outside. As we entered the building the glass in the doors was grubby and not a great first impression. As we made our way to check in, the reception area was crawling with children, who were in no way being restrained or supervised it was like a creche. The noise levels of them squealing and tearing around the place was dreadful.We asked the receptionist if this would be happening over our stay and she assured us it would as they were a 'family friendly' hotel. It was like a zoo!!!!!
My partner and i took down into the village in the evenings to a lovely quaint little pub to escape to something more civilised as the parents nor the hotel staff once tried to control these little 'darlings'.
We arrived back on the first evening at 0.10am thinking we could get a quiet drink in the residents bar. WRONG!!!!!!! The kids were still racing about as if they were on speed.
It was awful.
The rooms were average. The windows neither kept out the noise or the cold, the room was chilly.
Our room was overlooking the roundabout on the main road, and in the early hours, a boy racer thought it would be good fun skid his car round and round the roundabout. We heard every tyre squeal.
Our room was on the 3rd floor beside a vending machine and a seating area were you guessed it the 'unsupervised' children sat while their parents had a great time elsewhere in the hotel.
Any couple looking for a peaceful break forget about it if you go to the Maldron, its not going to happen.
On the plus side the food in the restaurant was good and the staff where very pleasant.
I can safely say i wont be back. It was a horrendous few days. Never witnessed anything like it before and yes i am a parent of 4 children.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breakaway14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Breakaway14,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry to learn you did not enjoy your break with us. Our aim is always to provide excellent customer service in comfortable surroundings, exceeding our guest expectations but unfortunately we did not succeed on this occasion and I do apologise.
We will certainly take not of your feedback and address the issue you have raised in our efforts to continuously improve.
On a positive note I am pleased you recognised the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and the quality of the food.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel during the year.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Second time staying in this hotel. Reasonably priced.Very relaxed and calming atomsphere. Rooms nice and clean. Great breakfast. Staff throughout hotel friendly and helpful. Children loved the pool. Cinema and bowling alley accross the road from hotel. Close proximity to Galway city. Park and Ride facility to and from Galway city for Christmas season nearby at racecourse. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maireadmonaghan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear maireadmonaghan69,
Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us. I really appreciate your kind comments and the staff are delighted to get the acknowledgement for their hard work over the busy Christmas period. Your support as a return guest is much appreciated.
We hope to be welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Happy New Year.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Had a family stay here in December, don't know if it's just the 3rd floor but the whole place felt so grubby. The windows in the lobby were in need of a clean. The staff were pleasant enough but the bar food was awful. The breakfast was just ok. Overall I would not recommend this hotel and I won't waste my money staying here again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Snowflake1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Snowflafe1905,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. I am very disappointed to read your review and learn of your experience and I would like to apologise for the shortcomings you experienced.
We are in the process of renovating all our bedrooms and we have upgraded significantly the majority of the rooms in the Hotel at this stage and hope to complete the programme during 2014. My team and I have discussed your comments in relation to your overe all experience and certainly take your feedback on board,our aim is always to exceed customer expectations. Please let me know if I can be off any further assistance in the future.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I recently had dinner in the restaurant with a friend and would just like to say I was very happy with both the food and service. Was greeted by lovely manager Clare who showed us to our table and called by again to check if we had everything we needed. Also a word of praise to the staff, especially waitress Majella who was chatty and informative about the menu choice. The meal itself was excellent and I will definitely be going back there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Breda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Breda R.,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent meal at the Maldron Hotel Galway. The team at the Hotel really appreciate your support and kind comments particularly Claire and Majella. I am glad to learn you enjoyed your evening and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

just come back from a night in maldron,the hotel was lovely all the staff were very friendly ,and helpful.the room was lovely and clean and as was all areas of the hotel,it catered well for kids with pool, play room and playground,the only faults I would have on that front is the kiddie pool is very small and the play room wasn't open on the Monday morning as they had a crèche running?? also straight across the road from the hotel is a cinema,bowling alley and play area for younger kids,so there was plenty to do in and around the hotel without even having to get into the car.i have 1 fault with this hotel and that was the breakfast,although it was reasonably priced as we got breakfast for 2 adults and 3 kids for e26,the breakfast wasn't great it was just pretty tasteless.......but all in all I would definitely stay in hotel again.(would probly just eat elsewhere)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolahealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear nicolahealy,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. I have passed your comments on to the staff who are delighted to get positive feedback and acknowledgement. We will certainly take all your comments and suggestions on board in our efforts to continuously improve our guest experience. We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
5.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
2,169 reviews
4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
2,032 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Galway

Address: On N6, Beside 2nd Roundabout | Carrowmoneash, Oranmore, Galway H91 K7FA, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: £44 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently located on the N6, just 10 minutes drive from Galway City. Modern Superior 3 Star hotel with Superb Leisure Club... 20 m Pool, Gym, Therapy Suite etc. 113 spacious bedrooms..... crisp white duvets, T/C Facilities, Sat. TV & Hairdryer. 2 Lifts. Restaurant & Bar .. Food served all day. Free secure car parking. Regular entertainment. Family Friendly....Kids Club weekends & all holidays. Cinema & Bowling next door. Business rates. Conference Rooms. 2 Km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Maldron Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Oranmore
Maldron Hotel Galway Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing