We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Galway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Certificate of Excellence
GALWAYEGG
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“sunday lunch not great”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had Sunday lunch in the hotel which was poor. There was three of us there. The food was tasteless. The vegetables were cold and the meat on one of the main courses was cold also. One of us got soup before lunch the there was a hair in it and it looked like soup from a codensed soup can. Hopefully this is not a reflection on the hotel as whole but was the experience we had.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GALWAYEGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Galwayegg,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent visit to the Hotel for Lunch. Please accept my sincere apologies for the poor experience you have described. I can assure you we will give your feedback the priority it deserves. Just for information all food is prepared fresh in our on site kitchen and soups are made fresh each day. I would be delighted also to hear from you directly to discuss in more detail your experience. I do hope you will return to the Hotel soon for Lunch and assure you this experience is well short of our normal high standards.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    395
    152
    52
    30
See reviews for
468
230
35
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed two nights and the rooms were reasonably well decorated, quite large and had a comfortable bed. The hotel is ideally situated on the outskirts of Galway and seems very family friendly.

The main restaurant wasn't open (seasonal?) so we ate in the bar first night and had a `decent enough' meal. Were kept waiting to gain entry to breakfast and the welcome could have been a little more helpful "It's self service!". A good range of cold and hot food.

On the second night we went back to the bar to try and get food, found a table but had not been approached in nearly 15mns (even though it wasn't over busy), so we upped and left.

Reception was efficient and friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cats_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Cats_123,
Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us, we appreciate your feedback. I am disappointed to read the content of your review and I do apologise for the shortcomings in service you experienced. As we head into our busy season we will ensure these issues do not reoccur during the coming months with additional training and Supervision of staff.
I do hope you enjoyed your trip to Ireland and hope we will be welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our family enjoyed nights in this hotel and were looked after brilliantly. The staff were so friendly and kind to us and our kids. Anne & Yuri in the restaurant were especially kind and friendly. Time for chat despite the fact they were busy looking after lots of other customers. The food was spot on every time, even for the veggie amongst us!The Kids club was great too and allowed us to enjoy our evening meals in peace and quiet! We will definitely return to The Maldron and it will be sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: End of the corridor = peace and quiet in our case! Bliss.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul4165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just enjoyed a Bank Holiday weekend break in the Maldron, Galway. Great hotel ideally located for a Galway City/County stay. The hotel and the rooms were very clean and comfortable and provided all the facilities you would expect from a good hotel. The food was good and the breakfasts excellent. A particular mention must go to Anne M and Anne H in the restaurant who made the whole experience even more enjoyable. Already booked a return stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConorMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I just stayed in this hotel for a week and was delighted with the friendly atmosphere and comfortable modern rooms .The staff were friendly and informative (thanks Anne and Ann).i highly recommend the Hotel

Room Tip: nice bright rooms overlooking roundabout
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eoin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just had my daughters communion in the hotel, we were given a small room off the restaurant, from the moment we booked the staff were not but friendly and helped make the day a relaxing one, the menu had lots of options and the kids menu was more than just the usual nuggets and chips and the colour sheets are a great idea, the food was lovely and hot and was presented nicely, would just like to say thanks for making the afternoon so special. I noticed they do kids parties so I will definitely be back....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great location for families although outside Galway city center. Movie theater next door, fitness center with swimming pool and sauna at hotel. Clean, large rooms, hot breakfast, had a good dinner in the restaurant in lobby. About a 5-10 minute drive into Galway to experience this lovely city.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
3.7 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.8 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,906 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,068 reviews
7.6 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
335 reviews
4.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Galway

Property: Maldron Hotel Galway
Address: on N6, beside 2nd Roundabout | Carrowmoneash, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently located on the N6, just 10 minutes drive from Galway City. Modern Superior 3 Star hotel with Superb Leisure Club... 20 m Pool, Gym, Therapy Suite etc. 113 spacious bedrooms..... crisp white duvets, T/C Facilities, Sat. TV & Hairdryer. 2 Lifts. Restaurant & Bar .. Food served all day. Free secure car parking. Regular entertainment. Family Friendly....Kids Club weekends & all holidays. Cinema & Bowling next door. Business rates. Conference Rooms. 2 Km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maldron Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Oranmore
Maldron Hotel Galway Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing