We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The family room was a good size with 2 double beds. The pool was popular with the children and also had a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. (You need to wear swimming caps but they are available to buy.) The only down-side was the food. We avoided breakfast due to the cost but ate in the bar one night - it was pretty average but with an inflated price tag. We'd be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodWillJester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear GoodWill Jester,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Galway.

We appreciate your good comments about the hotels facilities.

Breakfast is priced at €12.50 or €9.50 pp if you prebook it on check in when staying on a Room Only basis - this includes full selection of cereals, Juices, Fruits, breads/pastries, hot cooked breakfast, Tea/ Coffee - its actually very good value for money.

Our bar food menu ranges from €12.75 for steak sandwich with an average meal costing approx €14 to include side orders - again this is not overpriced.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us and welcome all guest feedback.

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Good points were the quality of the food on the evening meal and the overall atmosphere of the bar. Now the bad points. Lack of tv channels, had to stand in the plug hole of the bath to stand under the shower, bathroom door did't fully close and its' door handle didn't work, hot breakfast items not self service like other hotels, one of the 2 available plug sockets didnt work and there was a constant clicking noise from fridge throughout the night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Suzukibandit650,

Many thanks for your recent stay with us.

Thank your for your kind comments about our food and bar atmosphere.

We have a good selection of TV channels in all rooms so Im surprised to hear that.

If you can email me on info@oranmorelodge.ie and let me know what room you were in, I can get the clicking noise from the fridge repaired as it has not been brought to our attention aswell as checking out the sockets - there is actually 3 sets of double sockets in every room.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for one night at €140 B&B for a family room which had two double beds. The room was large, beds were fairly comfy. Bathroom has fine, good shower and all was clean.
Staff were friendly and helpful, I needed an emergency toothbrush which was provided, a proper one too, at no cost.
Breakfast was fine, standard hot and cold fare, hot food is a good as it can be pre-prepared. Coffee was fresh.
The hotel is showing its age a little now, small things have been updated to help but a major refurb is needed soon I would think.

Would stay again for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear ArcfireSG,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel, we appreciate all comments from our guests.

The hotel dates back to 1840 so yes the hotel is showing its age a little... however we maintain and upgrade every year to keep on top of it.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Oranmore Lodge Hotel and look forward to your return visit.

Kindest Regards

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We checked in to find my english bank card would not work there even though it was visa.they wanted cash before we went any further.down steps to room with 2 beds for 5 of us.family room?
Kids wanted to go to pool.sign on wall said shower before entering the pool, it should read shower after using pool.we were in the big pool when my daughter went to use baby pool but there was something floating after outher kids had no proper nappies.ran out of it . following day go back from shopping and asked guy in reception what was on menu for dinner he said there is a menu in room.he could not be bothered with us.he went on phone while I stood there so I walked off.kids were hungry so we decided to go to bar for dinner.ordered starters and main coarse. They brought main coarse first.next starters came.plates every where.what l taught made no difference, they left the lot on table.food was cold by time we got to it.breakfast next morning a disaster. table for 4 with 5 at it.could not wait to get home out of faulty towers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear John R,

In reply to your recent review , we are very disappointed to read this.

1: The card you presented on check in was infact a Visa Debit Card
and a not a credit card. A debit card cannot be pre-authorised - this is a banking policy and
not a hotel policy.
It had nothing to do with the fact that the card eminated from England
or anywhere else. This was clearly explained to you on check in.

2: The room you were allocated was a large room with 2 double beds.
This was confirmed to you by email on 21st March so you were well aware of the number of beds in the room. It was your choice to accommodate 3 children aged 7,6,4 years in one
double bed.

3: It is best practice in leisure clubs to ask guests to shower before using the pool for hygiene reasons.

4: Yes there was an incident in the kiddies pool. The staff attended to this straight away and the proper procedures were adhered to - we have reviewed the cctv in relation to this awell as the paper work and pool monitoring procedures.

5: In relation to the menus the hotel offers 3 different menus and there is a copy in each bedroom for guests to peruse at their leisure.

I apologise for the mistake with your order for bar food, this was due to a misunderstanding - parents sometimes request that the childrens main courses be brought out first - obviously not in your case - again my apologies.

In the restaurant there are ample number of tables that can seat upto 6 and 8 people - if you had waited, one of these would have been allocated to you. Tables are not reserved for breakfast - it is on a first come first served basis.

Things do go wrong in hotels, but we endeavour to try and rectify them immediately where possible.

We welcome guest feedback, however we feel that the experience with your debit card on check in marred your view of hotel services from there on.


Yours sincerely,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was charming. Old worldly. Room was really spacious and so reasonable for Galway. Oranmore is a lovely little village. This is a bit outside the city, however it is only €15 in a taxi if you want to go in for the night. Great value. Wifi was hard to work out. Parking was free. Nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ann-mariek

Many thanks for your recent review.

It was a pleasure to read your review and your comment on how charming the hotel is - it has great character and as you say old worldly charm for an 1840 manor house - its lovely to see people appreciating this as opposed to the newer modern hotels.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Beautiful hotel in a perfect setting. A short bus ride to Galway city for shopping and entertainment Local pubs and eateries nearby. The staff were great especially Patrick who never stops to take a breath. He keeps everything running smoothly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 761Jennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear 761 Jennie,

Many thanks for your recent review.

It is a pleasure to read this and we are delighted you enjoyed your most recent stay.

Kind Regards,


Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We recently availed of a gift voucher that gave us two nights B+B and one dinner in the Oranmore Lodge Hotel in Galway. All we can say is, get online, grab a deal for this place and go. Firstly, staff maketh the hotel. Never more true than the welcome from the friendly and helpful Irish staff. Secondly, value for money is fantastic. Dinner was of a very high standard and we may review this separately. Lets us not forget the pool, steam rooms and spa treatments that my partner availed of. The perfect place for a break, near enough to the city and far enough away from the maddenning crowd in your life....Just go, you won't be dissappointed.

Room Tip: check out living and social for a deal for here, you won't go wrong. For total peace you may wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TASTETHATTHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirleyKilduff, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Tastethatthen,

A huge thank you for writing such a wonderful review about us.

The staff are thrilled to read this and know they are doing a great job!

This review has left all departments beaming!

Next time you visit Galway give me a call personally and we will organise an upgrade for you.

Sincere thanks,

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,172 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
233 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#7 of 46 in Galway
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,804 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,752 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range: £44 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing