We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Visalia, CA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Service”
Reviewed 6 July 2009

I stayed the night here with a friend while traveling in Ireland. What a nice place! The staff was very accomodating. The food and libations were wonderful. I would definitely return here when I travel back to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    253
    143
    79
    33
See reviews for
326
256
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
castlecomer kilkenny
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This family run Hotel is in Oranmore and is conveniently situated near to Galway City. Their is a Leisure centre with all the usual bits It is clean but it could do with a few colorful Murals or drawings on the walls or ceiling.A few exotic plants would really set it off
We stayed in a family room which was 'roomey' and clean.The bathroom needs a bit modernizing To be honest we did n't eat at the hotel With family we found it a bit expensive
We usually wander around the city to discover new places,pubs and eateries which we did
We had a great fish meal at the famous Mc Donagh's fish restaurant.opposite The Quay's Pub in the city. Fish and chips Fresh from a selection of about 12 types cost about €7.There is definately a Pub or restaurant to suit everyone's taste in the area around the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eamonmealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights during the Connamarathon. The hotel was clean, well equipped and the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and have lovely fresh bedlinen. Although decor is a bit dated the overall standard was great.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

This hotel is an old resident located in a quiet residential area outside of the village of Oranmore and about 15 minutes from Galway. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and were given one of two remaining rooms, located on the lower level. Unfortunately the hotel does not have an elevator so be prepared to lug your suitcase up/down stairs. The room we were given was very adequate, very clean. After driving for a good part of the day, we were grateful for anything. The hotel has a nice pub and restaurant. We ate two of our dinners there, one at the "restaurant" (which is just a room off of the main lobby) and another at the pub. Food was very good, plenty of it and always served hot. They sure love their potatoes in Ireland. My fiance's dinner meal included three different kinds of potatoes. The hotel also includes a leisure center with sauna, jacuzzi, and nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerriTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I spent 2 nights in this hotel recently with my daughter, now aged 4. What a wonderful, relaxing experience it was - I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, whatever the purpose of their trip.

First impressions on arrival; a lovely big building set off the road between the village of Oranmore and Galway city. Reception was bright and comfortably furnished, and there was a very peaceful atmosphere form the moment we walked in. It is often the case when entering a hotel of this quality that travellers with small children can feel very unwelcome and out of place; I have often felt under pressure to keep the little one absolutely silent at all times to avoid ruining the experience for other guests. That was not the case here at all, my daughter was given the same warm welcome as all of the other guests, staff members going out of their way to chatter with her and keep her entertained.

We were given a room on the ground floor and I was delighted with the space and comfort within. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and a good size too, with a powerful shower that blasted plenty of hot water out in the mornings. The beds were super-comfortable, with crisp white duvets and puffy pillows. With the curtains closed, the room was pitch dark and perfectly silent....if you need a good nights sleep, then this is the place for you! I was surprised to find there was a family with small children staying just next door - we hadnt heard a peep all night. The sound insulation must be very good in this hotel!

Breakfast was good, the choice was plentiful and the hot food was cooked to perfection. Nothing was too much trouble for the smiling staff, we felt very well looked after.

We used the swimming pool several times during our stay, my daughter being a bit of a water baby. The pool was smallish in size but mostly empty so not a problem for us. The changing rooms were quite chilly due to the ventilation - but this was necessary to keep the floors and walls dry, and ensured we got changed very quickly after our swim! There was a row of hairdriers for use by patrons, and even a set of hair straighteners for those with the time and the inclination, all kept hanging safely out of the reach of small hands.

All of this was great, of course, but the thing that added most to our stay and the thing that I cannot praise highly enough, was the friendliness of the staff. Not one person was spotted without a smile on their face, and as I said before nothing was too much trouble. The staff either really love what they do, or have been chosen very carefully, but it was so nice to be made to feel so welcome throughout our stay. From the man on the desk at the pool who remembered my daughters name, to the unseen chef in the restaurant who somehow knew on the second morning of our stay that my daughter was the guest with the strange aversion to parsley, and remembered to leave it off her plate, everyone in this hotel did their bit to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

Stay here, its a really fantastic hotel with wonderful staff.

  • Liked — the wonderful staff
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank needspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Myself and my fiancee are getting married in this hotel in september 2009 and we have had lunch in the hotel on a number of occasions but we had not spent a night in the hotel. Recently my parents along with both myself and my fiancee decided to stay there for a night because my mother wanted to see the hotel before anyone else did. We booked in for one night and booked two rooms. Firstly I have to say the rooms really impressed me, the size of the room was definitely a plus, it had 2 double beds, tv, bathroom with bath and shower. The shower was superb, powerful and the temperature was adjustable. The good thing about the hotel is that each of the rooms are of this size, some with 3 beds to accomadate familys. There was a wedding on the night we stayed but we heard no noise from anyone and I have to add the measures that the hotel employ to ensure no one other than guests have access to the rooms after a certain time of night is impressive and gave me reassurance when guests for our wedding stay there.

We decided to have an evening meal in the hotel, there were two menus; an a la carte and a set menu, we ordered from the set menu (starter, main and desert) The waitress was prompt in taking our orders and even though there was a wedding on at the same time our courses were served up promptly and each course was cooked to perfection, the waitress was very attentive, she continued to enquire if we needed anything and that everything was good. When it came to the desert my mother said she didn't want anything but the waitress suggested she just have a scoop of ice cream (the waitress didn't say it but as it was from the set menu we had already paid for the desert and might as well get it) my mother was impressed by this and was glad she did get the ice cream.

We decided to go down to the village of Oranmore and I asked at the reception about the pubs there and which ones they would recommend, we were given the name of one of the pubs that the manager recommended and when we went to this pub 'Keanes' we really enjoyed the night.

On returning to the hotel around half one we decided to have a drink in the residents bar. The barman asked me my room number and name and checked it on the system before serving me, this impressed me as it gave me more confidence that they run a professional hotel and that no one other than guests can be served on the premises after normal pub hours.

The next morning I went to their leisure center for a swim and sauna, the leisure center is complementary for guests and you are supplied with a towel.

It is a family run hotel and this is evident in the service that they supply. The food there is excellent and I eat out a lot (and not just macdonalds) so, I know when I am getting good food.

The bar is small and homely, they don't have a huge selection of spirits but they have all the essentials and anyways the village is only a 10 min walk and Galway city is a 10 min drive from the hotel.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious and the area is quite and secluded.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and I am glad it is where we will be getting married.

It would be ideal for a family or older couple or a romantic weekend.

  • Liked — The friendly service and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — The pool was slightly colder than I would have liked.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Dolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Hotel about five minutes drive from Galway Airport. Hired a car from the airport at Europcar which was the cheapest and toured all round Galway. Did day trips out to Cliffs of Moher, Portumna Forest Park, drove to Wesport, Mayo. Ate at some lovely restaurants like Park House Hotel and McSwiggans. Service in all places were excellent. Food at Oranmore Lodge Hotel was excellent and would definitely recommend the food there. Hotel room was okay which had two double beds in it which was good if you are sharing a room as I did. Loved the guinness and the Irish music. People were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good you could have cooked breakfast and continental if you wish and they served til 10am each day. Enjoyed this trip and would definitely go there again. Very scenic and unspoilt and a beautiful country. Maps were easy to read and find places of interest. There is also a nice italian Bistro restaurant in Oranmore vilage.

  • Liked — Near the airport and near the city of Galway
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,094 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
3.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,124 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
345 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Property: Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing