We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Lucan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb hotel!”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I've just checked out and feel I had to write a review on this!! Checked in on Good Friday - had arranged to meet family there.. the hotel wasn't my choice but i am now glad I didn't get my way!! Surprisingly we had the most wonderful weekend .. The room they gave us on check in was up 2 flights of stairs.. it was too far but we asked if we could move down and - no problem - they even helped us move our bags! got a lovely large spacious room with 2 double beds - plenty of room for the 3 of us. Throughout the weekend - the staff could not do enough for us - we all dined on Friday as there was nothing else to do with it being good friday!!! - we had dinner in the restaurant - wow.. I didn't think this hotel would have food of this quality - It was superb! David the manager did everything possible to look after us - amazing service! since food was so good - we decided to eat on the 2nd night... I highly recommend the prawn dish! Yet again - they blew us away with service and food! I stay in hotels alot and have never come across the hospitality afforded to us until we checked in here! So a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel and i will definitely be recommending this to all my friends and colleagues! See you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkinclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianOhiggins, Owner at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

We really appreciate your nice comments and we thrive to keep our standards high here in the hotel.

It makes it all worthwhile when we read a review like this!

Once again, many thanks.

Brian O'Higgins
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    244
    127
    70
    31
See reviews for
295
247
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Travelled for business recently , found hotel easily from Galway Airport, check-in was great very friendly staff. Didnt have time to eat other than breakfast but that was lovely. Shirley the manager was a great help with directions to my companys offices in town. I will be travelling to Galway every month so intend to stay here as the the room was huge, great facilities and the pool/gym was an extra bonus. Will give a report when i stay again next month.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TEGK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

This was my 9th visit to the Oranmore Lodge. Efficiently run with good food and nice rooms and competitive rates.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corribbumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in November. Hotel is about 10 minutes drive from Galway city and is only a few minutes from the nice village of Oranmore.

The hotel itself is somewhat disappointing. Our room was in need of some updating - cracked tiles etc in bathroom, is just starting to look slightly worn. The bar was very quiet, and not much of an atmosphere to be had. breakfast was just ok - was re-heated in microwave, coffee not hot enough (and was instant coffee) although there was a good enough choice.

On the upside however, we got an excellent rate for our stay, the room was spacious and clean, hotel was very quiet and the staff were always pleasant. I would stay again if the price was cheap, but wouldn't pay a lot for it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryjsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

the suite was clean. The mattress on the bed needed to be replaced. The leather suite was done and needed to be replaced. The corridors smelt of stale carpets. But the worst aspect of the stay was the restaurant food. We actually have never tasted worse, I had turkey which was totally flavourless, the gravy tasted of rosemary and vegetables served were cauliflower cheese, carrot and parsnip i think, somthing oniony and three types of potato. I feel to see how this hotel was awarded four stars.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derry69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights on a 2-night B&B, one evening meal package which was good value. First impressions: Loved the style of the building, open fire in reception etc. Decor in bedrooms a little old-fashioned, especially in the bathroom, but spotlessly clean which is more important. Staff very friendly and helpful, emailing back immediately on a Sunday night when I emailed an enquiry about dinner. The whole place is very cosy and inviting, a perfect retreat after a cold blustery October day exploring Galway. The only downfall is the food. We both had steak for dinner- a 7.50 supplement, which seemed a lot. The veggies and chips were frozen and just didnt taste nice, and the meringue for dessert was not very nice- could not have been home made. The food was just very disappointing overall and not up to scratch for a 4 star hotel. Good things: cleanliness, comfort, shower (v. powerful & hot), lovely swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna etc, pleasant helpful staff, lots of parking. Bad things: food, expensive internet

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoegip47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This is my second time to review the Oranmore Lodge in Oranmore Co. Galway.

I and my wife had our wedding reception here in September 2009. We had 157 guests sitting down for the meal and many of those stayed in the hotel. This is my review.

The level of service within the hotel from both the management and the staff is exemplarily. Not once during our time there or the time leading up to the wedding was there ever a request that we had made that wasn't honored.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating - 5 star.

The food in the hotel normally is excellent and reasonably priced. A further endorsement of the food came from an Aunt of mine and an Aunt of my wife’s. Both of whom have worked in the restaurant business for years. My wife’s Aunt owns her own restaurant in Philadelphia and she personally complemented the hotel on their food and service.

The accommodation is very impressive, the standard rooms are some of the most spacious that I have seen in any Hotel of any standard and I have stayed in many 5* hotels across the world.

The suites are magnificent and we were blown away by them.

Personally I would like to commend the two general managers that work in the Oranmore Lodge (Shirley and David). Both of them could not do enough for us and all the guests that stayed in the hotel. My hat goes off to them and to the owner of the hotel Mr. Brian O Higgins.

There is also a very addiquate lesiure facility attached to the hotel containing a 20 metre pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room as well as a gym above the pool. There is ample parking and the village of Oranmore is only a 10 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolanmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianOhiggins, owner at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
We cant thank you enough for posting such wonderful review!

Again - A big big thank you to you both!

Brian O'Higgins
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
0.5 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
7.4 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Property: Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing