We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oranmore
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“WOW....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

..its a great place to stay. Got him indoors to update trip advisor when we got back but no sign of the posting?? Men!!

We had a fab time at this hotel, used it as our base for the Galway Races. Its even better than i remembered from my last trip. The breakfasts - fab, even the breakfast staff are great (they got me a hangover cure which helped keep my breafast down!!...thanks). We ate dinner in the hotel also and i have never seen so much food.....the zipper on my dress was put under pressure before i even got anywhere near finished. Beats your "designer food" anytime. Our room was huge, lovely sofas and plasma screen so it felt like you had a private sitting room. Its a family run business which is obvious from the moment you walk in and its rare to see owners working alongside staff these days. David the DM even brought us back to the airport in his own car...what a service. Shirley, Nicole & Rachel looked after us like friends.

Really enjoyed our trip, we have booked again for St Patricks Day and we are bringing friends with us so please stock up the Whisky shelf Brian or there will be trouble.. :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEGK1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    225
    117
    67
    30
See reviews for
271
232
17
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We have just returned after a weekend break in the Oranmore Lodge Hotel. We had an excellent experience. THe staff were very helpful & friendly. The hotel was very confortable & as it is an old house had lots of character. The food in the restaurant was excellent. Would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We've just returned from Galway where we spent our anniversary. We have stayed previously with the Oranmore Lodge and we were not disappointed again. There are a few upgrades needed but there has also been a few upgrades since we last visited. Given the situation in Ireland with regard to the recession, the team were always extremely cheerful which ensured you relaxed and enoyed your stay. The food is terrific and the staff can not do enough for you. Thank yu again to one and all. Len & Geraldine from the Isle of Man.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Island50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianOhiggins, Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Dear Len & Geraldine,

It was great to welcome you back to us again and of course thank you so much for the review.

We are constantly trying to improve our product and services and its great to get acknowledged for them and know that people appreciate it.

I will ensure your good comments are passed onto the chefs and the staff letting them know their job is well done.

Once again - Thank you - and the next time you decide to visit us please give me a call personally and I will ensure you are upgraded to one of our large executive suites.

Thanks again!

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

We spent a week in August 2010 with friends and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is situated down a long quiet driveway and was very peaceful. The food was excellent and the staff really looked after us. The spa facilities were excellent and the hotel is suitable for all ages. Would certainly go there again. Went to Salthills, a nearby beach area, very good for walks and "kicking the stone"!.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAF93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianOhiggins, Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Dear LAF93,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your time spent with us and hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,



Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I’ve just returned home from a great weekend in Galway. Flew directly from Edinburgh into Galway airport and the hotel is only 8 minutes drive from here… couldn’t be easier!

Old World Manor House Hotel with very traditional décor which is a pleasure to see rather than the new modern hotels which have no character at all! It has a really good restaurant and really attentive staff in all areas which just made our stay!

Rooms were very comfortable, very big and very well presented and leisure centre was excellent too. The hotel food was a step up from other hotels I have stayed in recently with a choice of full dinner menu or a la carte… it offers a really good cooked breakfast also!

Only a 7 minute stroll to the lovely village of Oranmore which has a great little thatched pub full of locals and a ten minute drive to Galway City centre.

Liked the hotel so much I bought my mum and dad a voucher for a weekend away in it… its exactly what they would love… especially the great Irish music in the bar… I think the guy singing was called Dave…

Will definitely be returning...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianOhiggins, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Dear Lenny044

Thank you for your lovely review - I hope you got home safe to Scotland. We are delighted you enjoyed the hotel for its traditional family values.

We hope we get the pleasure of having you stay with us again and of course Dave Dooley - our musician in the bar will also be delighted to see you back and will have all your favourites ready for you!

When your parents are coming over please do not hesitate to give me a call personally and I will ensure they receive an upgrade to our executive rooms.

Again - thank you for your lovely review - we really appreciate it.

Regards

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

we were invited to a wedding here in the oranmore lodge. We never stayed here before but decided to make a weekend out of it so we booked in for 2 nights bed and breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay.. the room was of a very good size.. 2 double beds and very comfy and clean I must say!
We had breakfast each morning which was of very good standard - nice buffet table with plenty of options to help your self to and then the cooked breakfast - again very good... I'm very fond of a cooked breakfast when I go away...

We used the leisure centre each day - the had a lovely pool which was nice and quiet - approx 17 or 18 metres i'd imagine... again this was lovely and clean and what you would expect in a health and fitness centre.

We booked a massage with Aria for the sunday which was superb... only €45 and so worth it!

We didn't dine in the restaurant as we were at the wedding on the saturday but the food for the wedding was absolutely gorgeous... and the layout of the room was beautiful...

We will definitely return for a weekend before christmas as we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are great - very friendly and nothing is too much hassle to them. So a big thumbs up for them!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classycasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianOhiggins, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Dear Classycasey,

I would like to thank you for your kind review - its great to receive such positive feedback.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I hope we get the chance to welcome you and perhaps your extended family back to Oranmore.

Kind Regards,



Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

I have just returned from a lovely weekend in Galway…. Is Galway always this busy??? It seems to be the place to go !

We stayed in the Oranmore Lodge Hotel which is about ten minutes drive from the city centre. We parked our car for the weekend and availed of the local bus service in and out of the city… only €3… very good value! We found this little gem of a hotel on the internet and booked in for a deal of 2 nights B&B and 1 dinner – it was great value! We checked in on Friday and was met by a lovely receptionist – Nicole … she welcomed us and showed us where our room was and offered us an upgrade to a suite for only €20… so of course we availed of it!! When we were showed to our room she explained to us what we could do in the area etc and informed us of the bus route for the city centre which we were unaware of… but found her a great help.

The room was fabulous… leather sofa, huge TV and aircon.. .which we didn’t use of course!!! We even got bath robes – what a treat when your away!

We dined in the hotel on Friday night and had a wonderful meal in the restaurant.. the restaurant is small and intimate but really lovely… its so in keeping with an old hotel.. beautiful big fireplace in it. Our food was delicious – I had the pork belly which is the best I’ve had yet and my partner availed of a steak which was cooked beautifully - however we got so much food we were hardly able to move after it….

Breakfast next morning was busy – but again very good and plenty of choice. The girls serving us for dinner were working the next morning and I have to say they are great.. they nearly know everybody by name and they really make you feel at home!

We checked out on Sunday - the hotel was crazy busy Sunday morning and we ended up chatting with the wedding guests from the night before and they were full of praise for the hotel also.. apparently it had been a very late night .. but luckily we never heard a sound!

So in my opinion – this is a great hotel – well worth a visit to and I will definitely return again. I hope this review helps some of you travelers out there .

Thanks again to all the staff… you all made our weekend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyduffy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianOhiggins, Front Office Manager at Oranmore Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2010
Dear Stacey,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Not many people make this effort but I can assure you it is really appreciated.

Its great to hear feedback and I will ensure the staff get to read your review so they are aware of the great professional job they do!

Once again.. Thank you for your comments.

Shirley Kilduff
Sales Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#10 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
5.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
4.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Property: Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Address: Tudor Vale, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city .... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering FREE WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing