We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish hospitality at its best”
Review of Birchgrove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oranmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Birchgrove House
Ranked #2 of 9 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Birchgrove has been my B&B of choice in the Galway area for many a year. Pat & Mary go out of their way to make your stay most comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for them. It's not just a place to stay on your journey but like a home from home. The rooms are spick and span and in good order, the breakfast is very filling and varied. Beyond that, Pat & Mary give good advice on places to go and things to see if you're at a bit of a loose end and there are many things of interest available from this location. Thoroughly recommendable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coby568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

I have been lucky enough to stay in some lovely places over the years but I have never felt the need to review them. That all changed after I was fortunate enough to spend a few days at Birchgrove. Whilst it provides an excellent base from which to explore the beautiful west of Ireland, what really sets Birchgrove apart from all the rest are the proprietors Mary and Pat Curran. I was met with the warmest of welcomes and felt at home instantly. My room was lovely and clean, and nothing was a bother to Mary and Pat. Breakfast was excellent and sets you up perfectly for a day exploring the surrounding area. Mary and Pat were able to advise on the best places to go and see. Mary and Pat are great fun and full of stories and really do welcome you into their lovely home like one of the family. I can't praise Birchgrove enough, and I will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

During our 5-week trip through Ireland and Scotland, we have already found a B & B where hosts were helpful beyond measure and a warm feeling bequeathed. A delicious breakfast, a cozy room, in short an excellent stay. If we again make a journey through Ireland we will definitely this B & B ports.
Rene and Jeanine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We loved Birchgrove! Mary and Pat Curran are delightful. They literally welcome you as family into their home. They were incredibly helpful, from booking tours to the Cliffs of Moher and Connemara (which picked us up at the door), to helping us book our next B&B. They are warm, friendly, and remarkably hospitable hosts. Our room was impeccably clean (and cleaned each day, with fresh towels, of our 3-night stay--my friend says to mention washcloths, the only place in Ireland we got them). We loved the whole experience. Breakfast is good and plentiful, too, of course, and the garden is lovely. I would love to return! Thank you, Mary and Pat, for everything, including my friend's Camomile tea (which Mary went out and bought for her).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeggyThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Pour explorer le Connemara, le B&B de Mary est un excellent point de départ, certes vous n’êtes pas à Galway même mais dans sa campagne (Oranmore). Le petit dej est très bien et la chambre était une des plus confortables de notre trip. Le plus important était les discussions avec Mary. Si vous êtes venu pour découvrir les gaéliques et leur histoire vous êtes au bon endroit et surtout ne raté pas "The Loop of Mary" car elle vous indiquera un super itinéraire pour le connémara ainsi que pour la "sky road" et le "ring of kerry". C'est tout simplement notre meilleur souvenir de l'irelande ! Merci Mary !

The Mary's B&B is the best start to discover Connerama area. Ok is not Galaway but its country. The breakfast was very good and the room was very quiet and confortable. The talking with Mary was the most important because she shows you how the gaelic are, nice and with a great sens of humour! You do not must missing "The Loop of Mary". It's the best way to appreciate connemara and other loop as Sky Road and ring of Kerry. This B&B is simply our best souvenir of Irlande ! Thank you Mary !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOunissi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and i are just back from a two night stay with Pat and Mary and we couldn't have asked for more. From the moment we arrived we had a ball. Amazing hosts who will do anything to help. They made us feel so welcome and felt like long lost friends! A great nights sleep and fab breakfast too. Perfect location for visiting the Galway area. We will definitely be back to Pat and Mary's in the near future.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank bethstickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We had the good fortune of spending 2 nights with Pat & Mary at Birchgrove B+B in Orranmor and happened on the place quite by chance - it was recommended to us by a couple who we had met at a B+B in Westport the night before, and we were not disappointed.
First of all, Pat & Mary make you feel welcome right from when you come through the door and are excellent for providing directions and recommendations for local eateries, day-trips (Galway city, Burren or Connemara) & places to visit - their local knowledge is invaluable. The B+B room was of a fine size (including an en-suite), spotlessly clean & had a TV, tea-making facilities and even an electric blanket! They also had WiFi which enabled us to keep connected with the folks back in Scotland all during our stay. The location is ideal - only 10-15 minutes drive from the city of Galway, and about 2 minutes drive to the village of Orranmor which we found to be a really nice place - plenty of eateries with food to suit all tastes (Irish, Italian, Indian, Chinese, Thai) and some nice pubs - some of them with live music in the evenings - we can definitely recommend the Guinness!
The breakfast at Birchgrove has to be one of the highlights - full Irish breakfast (my husband was addicted) or something lighter if requested. Fresh, tasty and always served with a smile - and as many cups of tea as you could possibly consume!! But the REAL highlight are Pat & Mary themselves - Sooo welcoming, helpful and a barrel of laughs. I have to say, this is one of the best stays anywhere I can remember for quite some time. We will DEFINITELY be back.

Room Tip: We had room no. 1, which was perfect - nice & quiet, but I think all the rooms are en-suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ailsa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oranmore
1.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
817 reviews
5.5 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
882 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchgrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchgrove House

Address: Oranbeg, Oranmore, Galway Co. Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchgrove House is a comfortable modern bungalow with a friendly and relaxed atmosphere situated about 1.5 km outside of the picturesque village of Oranmore, and about 8 km outside of Galway city, the cultural capital of the west of Ireland. It is an ideal base, as it is situated on the main national routes, and is especially popular for touring the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Connemara, Lough Mask and Lough Corrib, each of which comes recommended by our guests. When you stay with us, you can be sure of a place of lodging of only the highest standards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Birchgrove House Oranmore, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing