We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Worth a visit!”
Review of The Boathouse - CLOSED

The Boathouse
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Wow! Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stopped by The Boathouse on a whim and it ended up being one of the best meals we had on our trip to Ireland.

The food was pure perfection from the starter to the main course and on to dessert. The staff was very friendly and talkative, and the service was fantastic by Irish standards. They even brought us a few small samplers of different creations their chef was whipping up for us to try. Each one was fantastic. I highly recommend the pigeon for a starter, and my lamb was so tender it just fell apart... my mouth is watering just remembering this meal!

It was a bit pricey, but worth every penny twice over.

Go here if you're nearby, you will not regret it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    37
    14
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Second visit and still didn't disappoint!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I ate here last weekend- it was our second time to have dinner here - the first time was about 2 months ago. We were very impressed the first time and always worry when we return for a second visit it won't live up to the first experience. But it certainly did. The flavours are wonderful and the ingredients are so fresh. I've had the sea bass the first time and fish and chips the second. Both were wonderful. I had a soup of sweet potato and coconut which was amazing. My husband has a thing for seafood chowder and he compares it everywhere he goes - which often leads to disappointment on his part, but he said the chowder is the best he's ever had- which is high praise coming from him! Unfortunately on both occasions we had no room for dessert- someday we'll manage it! Would highly recommend this restaurant- very enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizR7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caen, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top class food and service”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I went to the Boathouse last week. For a family birthday we have been so well looked after, the food and service were to class... Look forward to the next visit already. Special Thanks to Evan.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“What arrived was different to what was described on the menu”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Unforgivable for any restaurant to serve a dish which is not described correctly on the menu. I had seabass and the menu did not mention it was wrapped in cooked ham, which there is no way I would ever order it. The sides were good.
Mussels starter was good.
Other than that, it was fine, didn't excel but all ok and it is too expensive.
WIne list is too short.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

The food is very nice but the service wasn't up to standard. We waited far too long and the dishes didn't all arrive together. Too pricy for a mediocre dining experience. They did apologize and we got something off the bill. But not going back.

Helpful?
Thank Sidonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing