We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super family day out”

Burren Birds of Prey Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.24*
and up
Cliffs of Moher and Burren Day Trip Including Dunguaire Castle, Aillwee Cave...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DYNAMIC FLYING DISPLAYS where the visitor can interact and get up close and personal to the birds as they fly overhead and through the audience. A HOME to Eagles, Falcons, Hawks, and Owls from all over the world.EDUCATION into the amazing world of Raptors, their biology, conservation and the ancient art of Falconry.HAWK WALKS which are a once in a life time opportunity to interact with some of nature's top predators. Guided and instructed by experienced Falconers, this hour long 'Walk with a Hawk' through hazel woodland and across Burren limestone pavement is tailor made for anybody seeking a totally unique experience.
Tandragee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“super family day out”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and son did the Hawk Walk with Ian, he was super informative about the birds and both of them loved this truly enjoyable experience, it's pricey if you have a large number in your group but it was the highlight of the holiday for both my husband and son and let's face it, you will rarely get the opportunity to do this again and in such a stunningly beautiful part of ireland. The birds are very well looked after and they all seemed happy and healthy in their environment. The young children loved the bird displays and both children and some grown ups are lucky enough to get to handle some of the birds during the displays. If you are in this area during a day out or your on your holidays I can strongly recommend going here for a brilliant day for all the family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    77
    11
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“birds of prey show”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Unless you have children or teens, this is a waste of time. If you want to see an owl or a falcon or a vulture, I'm sure you can see one in the aviary section of your local zoo.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMF24A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James I, Manager at Burren Birds of Prey Centre, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thanks for your comments on your visit to the centre. I’m deeply concerned that you felt your visit was a waste of time. The ethos of the centre is to educate the public on raptors and raptor conservation. Did you see a flying display or read any of the thirteen information boards? Using funds raised at the centre and staff skills, we work with the re-introduction of Red Kites in the east of Ireland and a Vulture conservation program in Asia. By visiting us you contributed to these programs. Please contact me if you have any further concerns about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Hawk Walk”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had an amazing time at the centre going on a Hawk Walk and watching the flying displays (we stayed for a second one). The staff were very nice, well-informed and really into the work they do with the birds. The hawk walk was great as we got to study the birds close up on our own while being able to ask all our questions about them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Z0et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't skip the Hawk Walk”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

though it seems pricey, we took it for our two teenagers, 12 and 17, and it was amazing. Jamie took them through the forest and gave them a lifetime experience. the shows of the birds are also impressive. the trainers and employees are friendly and passionate about their job. by the way, the fudge in the Farm store in there is great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bruriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Notable for the Hawk Walk”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The birds of prey show is excellent, however the hawk walk is the best part of the visit. Being in such close proximity to the hawks is a unique experience, not to be missed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ky_lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Burren Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Doolin, The Burren
 
Liscannor, County Clare
 

Been to Burren Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing