We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B on a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loughrask Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 16 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed in Loughrask Lodge for 2 nights during our trip through Ireland. This bed and breakfast is on a beautiful location in the middle of the Burren. If we return to Ireland, we will return here for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3861194Am_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

This was the first B&B My wife and I had ever been to. That it was on our first trip to Ireland made the B&B even better. Annette is a very friendly and outgoing woman who offered her local knowledge to help in our drives thru the countryside.
A very nice room and breakfast rounded out the fond memories.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophr t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very nice B&B and friendly host. Clean and comfortable rooms and very good breakfast.
Perfect location to visit Cliffs of Moher , Alwee cave and stonecircle up in the mountains.
Many good restaurants in the neighborhood. If i am going back to Ireland, this B & B is one of the certitudes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Joe and Annette were thoroughly enjoyable, gracious hosts for our two nights here. Their B&B/home is beautiful with tremendous views of Galway Bay and gorgeous sunsets to soak in at night. Joe's parents live a stone's throw from them on the farm where he grew up and we got the wonderful opportunity to climb The Burren. We made it 3/4s of the way up and soaked in the spectacular, panoramic view of Galway Bay. We also enjoyed meeting Joe's parents and Joe's and Annette's son, Joseph, and happy-go-lucky lab, Goldie! And Joe makes a spectacular breakfast! We did not miss TV or any kind of Internet hook-ups at all, as this whole trip afforded us time to read, hike, relax and meditate.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This B&B sits at the foot of the Burren with walking paths into the heart of the countryside and a view of Galway Bay. The rooms were large and modern with comfortable beds and linens. The bathroom was largest of the many that we had used on this trip. Delightful hosts who welcomed us and invited us to roam on their family farm. A good Irish breakfast was served in the morning.

Room Tip: Take a ride out to Blackhead point from the town of Balleyvaughan, it is worth the spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed for one night and wished we had had time for more. Loughrask Lodge is at the foothills of the mountains in the rear, with the view of the bay from the front. The rooms are all very large, clean, beautifully decorated and private. Annette told us how to find the 3- day old donkey foal in the yard down the road. We were given permission to walk up the mountain behind the farm and we saw all kinds of wild flowers native to the Burren, and lots of birds for my bird-watching husband. There are lots of restaurants in town close by, and we ate at the Monk's Restaurant at Annette's suggestion - very good seafood.
The breakfast Joe prepared in the morning was great -
Annette gave us good directions to the Lodge on the phone, but be sure to look for the signs and drive farther than you think you need to go.
This is a wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lafemmederobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We picked Loughrask lodge the day before we arrived and could not have been more pleased. Annette is a gracious host and you will feel relaxed and at home. The rooms are beautifully decorated with modern conveniences. The view of the bay and walk down to the water past the old cemetery and church were very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MO2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballyvaughan hotels
0.9 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
268 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cappabhaile House
Cappabhaile House
#1 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ballyvaughan Lodge
Ballyvaughan Lodge
#3 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
The Wild Atlantic Lodge
#6 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
300 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Waters Country House
The Waters Country House
#5 of 16 in Ballyvaughan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loughrask Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loughrask Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: £59 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loughrask Lodge Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loughrask Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loughrask Lodge Bed And Breakfast Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing