We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hylands Burren Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay here very much and what a pretty village. Nice breakfast and very friendly service. Excellent nights sleep after a long walk aroound the area. Surprisingly good restaurants in the area as well, but more about that later.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

While touring around Galway and Clare we stayed for two nights in Hyland's. It was a very pleasant experience. It is a three star unpretentious property with high standards. The room was a good size and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was quite large with shower stall rather than a bath/shower. We had a difficulty with the shower on arrival, which they went to great lengths to repair - the mark of a good business! Breakfast was quite good and the atmosphere in the bar was fun. Dinner is served in the bar and because we had arranged to meet up with friends, we didn't eat there. The menu looked very inviting and the customers seemed more that happy with the fare. The staff were very friendly and helpful and extremely hard-working. The manager was a gentleman from Portugal who had found his way to Ballyvaughan, he was really on top of things, and could not do enough for his guests. We will return without doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Compelled to write a review of this hotel, we rarely resort to doing this due to time restrictions and busy schedules, but in this instance, we feel it would be a complete shame not to. Hylands Burren Hotel is magnificent. From the moment we entered the hotel to check for vacancies right through to the checking out, the staff were superb to deal with. We really felt that as guests, we were appreciated by the staff, and they could not do enough for us. Charming and friendly, welcoming and hospitable, qualities a lot of hotels seem to lack nowadays, are found in abundance here. The traditional Irish welcomes that we fame ourselves with are clearly evident here.The hotel itself is lovely, comfortable and homely. It has a warming and relaxed feel to it and the decor is what you would expect in a country home. We did not have dinner in the hotel due to our late arrival, but although the kitchen was closed, the staff still offered us the option of having a meal prepared. The breakfast was delicious, and, unlike a lot of hotels nowadays, it was cooked to order. We had arrived in Ballyvaughan after a 2 night stay in Galway in a hotel that I will not name for fairness reasons, but the hotel we left although graded as 4 star, could learn a lot from Hylands. Hylands Burren Hotel is a breath of fresh air in comparison with most other hotels that claim to be Ireland's best and elite. The location of the hotel is excellent for people wishing to explore the west coast and the Burren region. Drives to Galway or Doolin & the Cliffs of Moher are short and very scenic. The hotel is great value for money. Commendations to the staff (Lorcan & Blathnaid and team), and to the management for such a fantastic job. We travel a lot, and stay in hotels a lot, and one thing is for sure, we will travel back to Hylands Burren Hotel again in the near future. A credit to the county Clare.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daithi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped on way to next stop in Clifden. Rooms were large with a twin and a double. Place was well kept and clean. Food was fair but staff very nice and helpful. Had own car park also. Breakfast was traditional Irish breakfast that came with room.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Autoxer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We chose to stay in Ballyvaughn on a TA recommendation and we are so glad we did. It was perfect for exploring the Burren on our way from Connemara to the Cliffs of Moher and a great example of an Irish small town after Dublin. The hotel rooms are good for the price- quaint and quirky is how I would describe it. Nothing fancy but the beds are comfortable, water pressure in shower is great, and you don't have to leave the property if you don't want to. The hotel is attached to a pub- we had drinks and heard some great traditional music. Breakfast was good with many choices. We were able to see a beautiful sunset over the bay and everything from restaurants to a great whiskey bar is nearby. We even got to shop at a local crafts fair while we war there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeraldaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed at the Hylands Ballyvaughan in the past, and this recent visit with my tour group was just as rewarding and satisfying. Many called the hotel and rooms "quaint," in a good way. We especially liked all of the various nooks and crannies and small gathering areas. Only glitch was that they were short staffed at the time. A few travelers were very frustrated by the lack of attendance at the front desk. We were told that it was early tourist season and that they would soon be up to speed. Overall though, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I heard thunking music sounds one night until very late. You might want to ask what the nearby music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kvportlandoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here over St. Patrick's weekend. The hotel is charming, and the staff are brilliant. It is very good value to stay here, and the food is good. The only complaint about the food is that the portions are very large, now I know that this suits a lot of people. The breakfast is a little dried up, so I think an improvement here would work wonders. The place itself is clean, and the rooms are quite large, the shower is excellent. It was extremely warm in the corridors and the rooms, had to open window during the nights, not a bad complaint though. The garden upstairs is a lovely touch. Overall well worth the money to stay here, not a four star, but a very good three star. I was thinking of naming a member of staff that stood out, but they were all very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deckie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
3.0 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
479 reviews
9.2 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
10.9 mi away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
270 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel Doolin
Hotel Doolin
#2 of 4 in Doolin
627 reviews
13.6 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hylands Burren Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hylands Burren Hotel

Address: The Square | Co. Clare, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range: £93 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hylands Burren Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque village of Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare which is the mid point of the Wild Atlantic Way, the Hylands Burren Hotel is family owned and managed by the Quinn family. Our team at the Hylands Burren is completely customer focused and a "nothing is too much attitude" prevails throughout the hotel. A warm welcome of an open fire mixed with the tranquility of bygone charm and traditional Irish hospitality will greet you upon arrival at the Hylands Burren Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hylands Burren Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hylands Burren
Hylands Burren Ballyvaughan
Hylands Burren Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing