We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Exquisite Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gregans Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Exquisite Property”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Like many tourists visiting Ireland for the first time, the Cliffs of Maher was at the top of our list for places to visit. We would have never found this property unless recommended highly by some close friends. Gregans (not really a castle) is located less than 30 minutes away. We are so happy we stayed here. The grounds, views and surrounding areas are truly superb. Our room was lovely but not up to the caliber of a modern top resort. The food was outstanding both for dinner and breakfast. We plan to stay here again on our next visit to Ireland. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: You might get a better rate if you check the hotel's website for an Internet Special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreal246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    67
    25
    17
    10
See reviews for
67
284
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuam
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We visited Gregans Castle Hotel for afternoon tea on the 26th of June and we were not disappointed. We got real loose leaf tea which was delightful. All food both savoury and sweet was freshly prepared, home cooked, delicious and very very tasty. It was then we understood why one must advance book afternoon tea. There was a lovely air of peace and calm about this hotel. We recommend a visit to Gregans is a must.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

very relaxing and charming place, we had a lovely suite and facilties were all excellent, place where you can just relax and read in the lounge or bar for the afternoon, its not a modern 5 star resort but its ideal to get away for a couple of days without tvs/noise etc, service was very professional and what you would expect from a 5 star hotel, food was top drawer and one of the best meals we have ever had, it must be close to getting a michelin star - its not cheap but worth it for the relaxing stay and great food

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRL#
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Went to Ballyvaughan for the TourdeBurren. Was not disappointed. Lovely location, food was very nice, service was excellent. Grounds were well kept and the view was beautiful. Enjoyed the large comfortable bed and staff very friendly to us and out 3yr. old daughter, providing information on the area and things to do. Large bath was appreciated after the long cycle.
Only downside was at night the smoke from the fire could be overpowering and tended to leave a smell on your clothes if you passed through it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerIrl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

If you have the chance to stay here - DO IT! The charm of this place is undeniable. My boyfriend and I were driving through the west coast of Ireland, and we saw this hotel. I had read about it in one of my travel books, but I wasn't sure if we would have the time to stop. Well, we made the time, and I am so glad we did.

The service is so nice, and the staff really took care of us. We are vegans, so it is not always easy to find things to eat, especially at smaller boutique properties. The staff at Gregans went out of their way to prepare a special menu for us for both dinner and breakfast. The dinner was so delicious - pureed carrot soup and pea risotto. The chef really outdid himself. Then, they served us dessert - homemade raspberry sorbet with fresh fruit and a variety of fruit dipping sauces. What was so brilliant was that the hostess came out to tell us that that the chef wanted us to know that he had used Agar as the gelling agent in the sauces! Agar is a seaweed-based gelatin, a little esoteric even here in Los Angeles, so I was blown away that the chef had not only gone out of his way to take such good care of us, but that he went the extra mile to use an ingredient that would ensure we had a top notch culinary experience.

I went for a walk through the grounds wearing the provided Wellington boots and had so much fun just strolling through the expansive countryside. I kept thinking to The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings, and I found out that J. R. R. Tolkien spent quite a bit of time at Gregans and had used the surrounding landscape as inspiration for his books. So cool! We visited the Cliffs of Moher and went through the village of Ballyvaughan as well.

Breakfast, included with the room, was delicious and beautiful also.

All in all, a fantastic experience. Wonderful, gorgeous property, beautiful rooms, lovely and caring staff, amazing chef... All I can say is wow.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I've been to Ballyvaughan many times, and visiting Gregans has always been a high point. The food and service is top drawer, and if you want to stay, the rooms are exquisite.

In late May I had lunch in the bar with a group of friends and family who were visiting the village, and it was a delightful experience. Lovely food, good service and everything was quite perfectly organized.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stay was great. The Dining experience and quality was also amazing. WE wished the menu changed nightly.. but the offering was truly gourmet!
Setting was lovely and idealic! Close to Cliffs of Moher and other stops... but you feel totally removed while you are here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJAJKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyvaughan
23.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hylands Burren Hotel
Hylands Burren Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
Sheedy's Country House Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lisdoonvarna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
18.3 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
11.9 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Property: Gregans Castle Hotel
Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke together with their staff manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, an eclectic art collection, open fires, candles, jugs of flowers and Shelley the cat add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The hotel while strictly not a "castle" in the usual sense of the word has been named "Gregans Castle" since it was built in 1750 as a more comfortable residence for the O'Loughlen and Martyn families from the nearby 16th century towerhouse. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way and the Burren Food Trail. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, the Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling, Golf. Members of The Burren Ecotourism Network. Awards include: Georgina Campbell’s Hotel of the Year 2016, RAI Best Hotel Restaurant 2016, Gold Medal Awards Ireland’s Chef of the Year 2015, Supreme Winner & Best Country House 2014; Food & Wine Magazine Best Restaurant & Best Chef Munster 2014; AA 3 Rosettes for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing